We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, centrally located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama to your Saves list
Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Radhusgaten 7b, Oslo 0151 , Norway (Sentrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 85 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Heilbronn, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“nice hotel, centrally located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is a nice hotel, centrally located, just a few minutes walk from main station, close to the pedestrian area. Most of the points of interest are in walking distance.
The rooms on the top floor have a great view.

- Friendly and helpful staff
- Free coffeebar (24h)
- Great breakfast

Hotel is also great for travelling with children: they get special breakfast buffet, table tennis, special animation program by staff

Room Tip: We were 3 adults and selected a business room which offered great spce incl. kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas E, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Anja_S_DE,

Thank you for taking yourself time to post a review of your stay with us! I am greatly pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that our staff were perceived as friendly and helpful. I will make sure to spread your kind words to them. We hope to see you here at Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama on another occasion.

Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    210
    57
    12
    9
See reviews for
93
152
34
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband lived in this hotel for 5 months (Dec. 2012-3 May, 2013) and I came to visit him the last nine days of his stay. He was at this hotel because of an arrangement with his employer. The breakfasts were above average and the reception was always cheerful and pleasant. The top floors (6 and above) are for long-term guests. There is plenty of overall space, but the lack of useful accessories is appalling. There is a sink, refrigerator and freezer (practically non-functioning because it was so full of frost), oven and 4-burner glasstop cooktop (which was difficult for me to operate). There was a dishwasher that did a pitiful job of washing dishes, so doing them by hand (with a sponge and dish soap we purchased) was the best option. There was NO microwave and NOT A SINGLE DRAWER IN WHICH TO PUT CLOTHES. The bedroom had a shelf on either side of the bed, but was so small there is a door on each side of the bed for entry and exit. The living area has a couch, chair and coffee table. There is also a high table against the wall with two bar stools, too high to put your knees under, so basically there was no comfortable place to sit and eat or to work on a computer. The wi-fi degraded substantially as the number of guests in the hotel increased. I wish the person who designed this room could be forced to live there for a week to see what it's like to live with no clothing drawer space, a microwave and adequate computer work space.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas E, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Helen711,

First if all I want to express my gratitude for the detailed review you wrote of your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not find the room adequate to suit your needs. However, we do have rooms that is equipped with the mentioned things you were lacking, and would be pleased to switch you to a more suitable room if asked. I hope you are willing to give us another chance to make up for your impression if you are visiting Oslo another time.

Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Hotel is situated in centre of Oslo, but not the best section of the city. It is a fairly good hotel for Norwegian standard. The rooms are modern and large. They also got nice balconies. If you get a room on the top floors, you will have a nice view of the city. However, bathroom is tiny, and the shower stupidly small.

Service is as good as you can expect. There is nothing fancy with this hotel but it is good value for money and better than many other hotels in Oslo.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms on the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas E, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear MacBergen,

Thank you for chosing Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama during your visit to Oslo. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again the next time you are in town.

Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

because the hotel is very central. We spended two nights in Oslo and we very pleased to find a hotel with a very modern and big room (in our case #302). We also loved the possibility of free WLan to prepare the daily trips to town and the free coffeebar was the best.

Only one point was not so nice - the shower was too small for me ... I am 195cm tall and it was hard to move inside the shower without smashing against the shower door ... and when this opens only 1cm, you will flood the whole bath.

Ad one things was intereesting ... we are for sure not the fist couple the is visiting Oslo by using the ferry from Kiel. Why is there no standard information available at the front desk i.e. with Bus xy you can easily come from station xy to the gate from Color line and for the vessel at 14:00, you should take the bus at xx:xx and it will cost xx NOK. But this information was not available ... so we will ask for a Taxi ...will make life easier.

I hope my comment will be read by someone from the hotel because I have a question ... can you tell me the dealer from the two lamps on both sides from the bed ... we think they are very nice and we have never seen any similar in Germany .. so please help.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas E, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear JensBehrens,

Thank you for your kind word of your stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay here at Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama.

Concerning the shower space; The shower size varies from room to room. I would advise you to ask for a 06-room the next time you are visiting us, as it has a larger shower.

We appreciate your feedback regarding the lack of information for the Color Line ferry and we will take this into account to see if there are any measures to be applied regarding this. However, I am positive that our Front Desk Employees would be happy to help you on this matter if asked.

Regarding your last question; The company who provided our lamps is named Inside Interior. (I would recommend you to search this online, as we can not hand you any commercial links here).

We hope to see you again the next time you are visiting Oslo,

Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Hotel is a 5-10 minute walk from the central train station and easy to find. Our room was on the 4th floor (3rd really - they use the American style of the ground floor being floor 1) and had a panoramic view of almost nothing at all - just an enclosed courtyard. Pretty, but not a panorama. Other than that disappointment, everything else was very good indeed; excellent 'wet-room' style shower, very comfortable bed and nice little sitting area all furnished in a modern, Scandinavian style. It was absolutely silent at all times.

Reception staff were all very friendly and happy to provide local advice. The included buffet breakfast was pretty good, with a good range of hot & cold, breads, fruits, cereal and pastry.

Apart from the lack of view, the only other thing could have been improved was the provision of milk for the tea/coffee. They only supplied powder 'creamer' which is pretty disgusting in tea.

Very intrigued to find out why there are power outlets on the ceiling ... ?

Room Tip: Higher up than floor 4!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas E, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear JasonLaw_UK,

Thank you very much for your kind and positive review of your stay with us. I find it quite pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as our staff was perceived as "very friendly".

I do have one recommandation for you if you wish to experience our panoramic view over Oslo, which is to book a Superior or Business room. These rooms are located from the 4th - 12th floor. Please specify that you would like to reserve in the top three floors and we will do our best to meet your demand in the future.

Regarding the lack of milk by the coffee machine: There should at all times be located small capsules of milk by the coffee machine in the reception area. Please accept my apology if these were not present during your stay.

Last but not least: The reason why there are power outlets in the ceiling is due to the fact that this building was originally ment to become an appartment complex, but turned into a hotel in the very last minute. So the outlets are there for the sole purpose to fulfill any desires the possible buyers would have to install a lamp in the ceiling.

We hope to see you again the next time you are in town.

Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I have spent one night at this hotel close to the Railway station, the Opear House and the financial district.

The reception is welcoming you with a nice design and a confortable coffee corner.

Receptionists prompt and cordial.

The room I had on the 4th floor had a kitchenette and was fitted esentially in a modern style. Bed confortable and no noise around.

Breakfast was not exceptional but ok.

A bit overpriced (175 Eur) but the position can be the trade off for it. At least the wirleless was included in the price with no limitation and working fine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas E, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Dado_63xx,

Thank you very much for taking yourself time to write a review of your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that our staff was perceived as "promt" and "cordinal".
We do hope to see you again the next time you are visiting the Norwegian capital.

Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a modern, appartment hotel, located about 5 minutes from the operhouse. My room, on the 12th floor, was spacious with a separate living area and well appointed kitchenette. The bedroom was small but with a very comfotable bed and a flat screen tv, which really could only be viewed from one side of the bed.

A clean and well finished bathroom gives the impression that this is a well designed room.

At $300 per night this is not cheap, and the first impressions are a little deceptive.

Flat screen tv's in both the bedroom and living area, both is a fixed position, give limited viewing. The bathroom, whilst cleanish, has a lot of wasted space and no storage for personal items, the only storage space being a very small ridge at the rear of the sink.

There is free wifi and a work area, a wall fitted desk arrangement with two high stools, which makes it impossible for business use.

The dirty blinds in the bedroom, two wall mounted lamps, which were covered in dust and hairs stuck to the walls in the bathroom it seems that the cleaning leaves room for improvement.

Smoking is not allowed on the balcony and this leaves you with a trek to the ground floor every time you need a break.

The breakfast is a buffet, with cold plates, that quickly renders the hot offering a cold collection of fat.

All in all an average accommodation at an expensive price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas E, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear CISSPUK,

Thank you for taking yourself time to give us feedback here on Tripadvisor.
It is with regret that your stay did not meet up to your expecations, I can however assure you that we will take your comments into account when we revise our areas of improvement. Thank you once again, and we hope that you will give us another chance to accommodate you the next time you are in town.

Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama

Address: Radhusgaten 7b, Oslo 0151 , Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Oslo
#19 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#26 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama opened in October 2008, and is a professional business hotel that is also well suited for holiday travellers. The hotel has 118 spacious and modern rooms, including two penthouse suites. The interior consists of Scandinavian design with bright colours and wooden flooring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Oslo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.