We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hot chocolate ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Engebret Cafe

Engebret Cafe
Bankplassen 1, Oslo 0151, Norway
+47 22 82 25 25
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 961 Restaurants in Oslo
Price range: $12 - $43
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Seafood, Norwegian, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The restaurant Guests enter the low corner building originating from the 1700's, Oslo's oldest restaurant, where staff and guests could celebrate Engebret Cafe's 150th anniversary in 2007. When it opened, the restaurant was located right opposite the old Christiania Theater and was often visited by actors and audience. Engebret also provides banquet services, designed to accommodate both small and large gatherings.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“The best hot chocolate ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

We had a hot chocolate.It was made with dark chocolate and really thick. They give you a seperate bowl of cream from which you can ad to your cup. The taste was magnificant. Tip: go on an empty stomach

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    73
    24
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Cute and homey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We had a very pleasant dinner Engebret. The decor is very old school and charming. Our appetizer, the mushroom soup was delicious, our entrees (reindeer and pork chop) were good but the dessert was disappointing. The service was very nice and overall I would recommend dining here if you don't mind splurging a bit for a old fashion (in a good way) feeling meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“OK, but well below expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had saved eating at the Engebret Cafe until the end of our stay in Oslo, simply because we had heard so many nice things about it. The restaurant's strongest feature was its decor and old world charm. Quite expensive for food that is traditional Norwegian fare; that I frankly thought tasted better in other venues and at a lower price. Service was attentive, but sloppy. It did not live up to our expectations.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“We only had a coffee there but we really enjoyed it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

It was our first day in Oslo and we decided to visit the main art museums in the city. We stopped at Engebret Cafe to catch our breath and enjoyed pretty much our esspresso.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“High quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

A long established restaurant that is comfortable, elegant and is all you would expect of this kind of establishment. The service was accomplished, and the menu a really well balanced selection of very high quality Norwegian dishes. The ambience, food and service combined to produce a most enjoyable experience. As always in Norway, don't expect a bargain, but we left feeling that we had good value for money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Engebret Cafe also viewed

 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Engebret Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Engebret Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.