We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best value in Oslo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget to your Saves list
Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mollergata 26, Oslo 0179, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 85 Hotels in Oslo
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Probably the best value in Oslo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

It would be hard to find better value accommodation in central Oslo, particularly if you book ahead. We booked about 10 weeks in advance and got a rate of 420Kr per night – cheaper than 2 beds in a hostel dorm!

The Comfort Xpress is a pleasant, modern hotel with good facilities overall, but a few quirks that might annoy those who aren’t used to low-budget travel.

The décor is fresh and contemporary, if maybe a little bit ‘corporate-trying-to-be-cool’: there are different murals and funny signs everywhere, a muddle of retro furniture in the basement, and pinball machines in reception. There’s a nice roof terrace on the 9th floor (which isn’t advertised downstairs but is worth seeking out if it’s sunny!).

The room itself was more conservatively decorated but still modern; it was bigger than I expected with a large TV, hanging space (no wardrobes or drawers), and a good bathroom with hairdryer, shaver point, magnifying mirror, etc. The air con wasn’t working but the windows opened fully – phew! Everything was spotless, but bear in mind that rooms are cleaned and towels are changed every 4 days, not daily (unless you pay extra).

Tea and coffee are free 24 hours, there is free wifi (weak in our room, strong in the lobby), and you can buy alcohol and a wide range of snacks (including breakfast-appropriate ones) at reception.

There is a basic ‘kitchen’ which would disappoint seasoned hostel-users, being essentially just a cold water fountain, kettle, microwave and fridge (come on guys, give us a sink and a toaster at least!). It does make it easier to eat on a budget though.

Oh and one great extra – as we left on a Sunday, we got 6pm checkout, free. A must if you plan on getting involved in the Saturday nightlife – Oslo parties LATE.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    506
    177
    50
    26
See reviews for
75
523
100
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were assigned to a basement floor that had no opening windows or ventilation at all in the room. This made for a warm night even on a rainy night in June. Everything from check-in to calling a cab is automated with one attendant on duty to assist. The location is good in the central city and close to several restaurant choices. Our room was clean and adequate in size for the two of us. They could at least add ceiling fans for some air movement in those lower level rooms.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a floor on an upper level when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notodden, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Excellent rom, but warm. AC sound work better. Fantastic location - come to everything. Good service and cool interieur. Loungearea is very nice, so is the kitchen. I har that there is a roof terasse - the should informasjon about that. I missed the opportunity to ordner breakdance. Recommendable hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
196 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

graet location, graet price, nice interior and lovely staff. So all you need for your stay in Oslo.
Before you unpeck your bag - try the aircon as in some rooms you cant open the window and when it is broken - you're in trouble. I had to change a room in the middle of the night.
Even though I like this place - modern but cosy interior, free internet and computers, free tee and cofee.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Perfect when you need a place to sleep for the night or a week. Very good prices(you get what you pay for,want new towels every day... you pay extra.). Serviceminded staff, easy to order and easy to check in. A good location to start to explore Oslo.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Norway now my fav place out of all the places I have been to. Oslo is a great city and the hotel is good for what you pay. Its got all that you need and there is free tea and coffee downstairs which is good. I spent a night there but if I had to stay more than 3 days I think I would opt for a hotel near the station etc. Generally good value for money and most of all, clean.

Room Tip: It wasn't noisy except for ambulances etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donostia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I just have good words for this hotel. Overall, we stayed for 3 nights in two separated periods. Location is great, next to central bus and train station, especially if you're arriving late from Rygge, as we were!
On our 2nd stay, we arrived on a night train at 7:30 am and unluckily one of us was sick. The staff was extremelly helpful, put the person sick in a fresh clean bed in a recently checked out room and organized our room in less than an hour. I really have nothing but great words for the reception staff!
Rooms are good, specially if they face the Opera and well-equiped.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#18 of 85 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
Sentrum
Smarthotel Oslo
Smarthotel Oslo
#34 of 85 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 stars 374 reviews
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thon Hotel Munch
#9 of 85 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 stars 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget

Address: Mollergata 26, Oslo 0179, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 85 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfor Hotel Xpress Youngstorget. Opened 2011. Youngstorget, Oslo. Budget hotel. Small rooms. Plenty of attitide, low rates & love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.