We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget to your Saves list
Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mollergata 26, Oslo 0179, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 86 Hotels in Oslo
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on our first visit to Oslo. Very clean and affordable room; with an exceptionally comfortable bed. Great for meeting new people on your travels. Great for younger travelers. The staff is extremely reliable and accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    387
    138
    36
    17
See reviews for
56
396
73
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

we spent only one night before cruising.. it is almost in the city centre not far at all... everything about walking in Oslo.. but not for cruise..
rooms are very good and very clean.. BUT the AC was not working which annoyed us a lot.. and the receptionist didnt handle...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

oslo is known to be of high living standard so i am lucky to find this cheap hotel. yet, in the expense of this cheap price, there is no breakfast, hotel location is a bit far (but still walkable). check in looks automated, but actually, it's not working for hk ppl where the credit card has no pin code. everything in the room cost a penny - to ask sb to tidy up, to change the towels etc. but for a short stay like two nights, think this is ok. and looking for low price yet clean environment, it's the choice!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I'm not sure why some people give this place iffy reviews... maybe in comparison to the other types of hotels they stay at, it doesn't compare well? I usually stay in bed and breakfasts or budget hotels, and this felt quite swank in comparison to some of the places I stay in! For the same price in New York City, where I live, you'd be stuck in a hideous dirty hotel. I don't care about cleaning services or fresh towels... if you're a clean person to begin with, this stuff is just unnecessary anyway. Hang up the towel and let it dry, sheesh!

Our room was in the basement but we still had a large window facing the courtyard that provided plenty of light. The room was clean, the bed huge and comfy. There was no closet, but I'm a tidy person and my bags don't usually explode all over the place. There was plenty of room for our suitcase and two hiking backpacks and additional small bags. No sounds disturbed us from inside or out. The shower was a fine size with heated floor. After reading reviews I thought it would be like the similarly priced hotel in London where my shower was practically on top of the toilet... but the bathroom was quite big. And breakfast wasn't included in the majority of places I stayed at in Norway, so I didn't mind that. There was some kind of bagged breakfast deal for 85 kr, but the receptionist told me to skip it and just go to the tasty bakery down the street, which I appreciated. Anyway, overall I really enjoyed my stay at Comfort Hotel Xpress and thought it was a great price for Oslo. Great location too, 10 minute walk to the train station. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Challans, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We used this hotel for a weekend stay. Its location is on the edge of the main streets of Oslo (not the prettiest area) but if its budget hotel you looking for and views aren't important then i thoroughly recommend it. Its got a young feel to it. Friendly staff and free tea in coffee in lobby which helps when you see the price of coffee lol
Rooms are fairly basic but very clean. There is an area downstairs where you can eat your own food and leave it if you buy anything from a supermarket or takeaway.
Free wifi too.
We appreciated this hotel on our stay as left us more money to spend on seeing the sights of Oslo.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Good if you know what you're getting. Tries a bit hard to be a trendy youth hostel but is a bit too nice for that. No breakfast or food worth mentioning (there's an option to have a bag with a sandwich hung on your room handle in the morning). Communal microwaves though..... Location is okay, but a 10min walk from the metro or most points of interest in the city centre. Small but modern rooms and, most importantly, relatively cheap for Oslo.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Before making a reservation at this hotel, I made a point to research it after reading some reviews.

1. No housekeeping unless you pay for it-- this means you have limited 'fresh' towels, toilet paper, and trash pick-up. I brought a small towel, and there are 2 rolls of toilet papers so unless there's an emergency, no problem. Each morning I took my trash in a paper bag downstairs to the lobby to put it in the large trash cans located there.

2. Rooms can be small. This is normal for me since I travel in Europe regularly. There is no closet/cupboard. However, if you're a neat packer you can keep your possessions fairly organized. My room had a large bed suitable for 2 people, and a small but comfy leather chair next to it. There was also a small table tucked into a corner. That's it for furniture.

3. Wi-fi is free, you just need to pick up the daily access code in the lobby daily (the code changes every day around noon). There are also 2 Mac computers in the lobby available for use, along with 3 pinball machines in case you need to wait for a computer.

4. No free breakfast, but there are plenty of 7-11s/Deli de Lucas on nearly every street corner in central Oslo with decent food under 100 kroner.

5. The bathroom is one shower open to the room-- no curtain or door. The floor is heated, so any water on the floor tends to dry fairly quickly. There is soap provided in dispensers next to the shower head and next to the sink. The bathroom door is frosted glass with no lock.

If you understand that this is a VERY no-frills hotel, then you will have a fine stay. My room faced the street, but it was quiet at nighttime on a weekend. As a solo female traveler, I had no uncomfortable or dangerous incidents with people in the area walking back to the hotel after midnight. The bed was comfortable, and the staff in the lobby were very pleasant and helpful (I didn't have my reservation number with me, so I had to be manually checked in).

My only complaint would be the bathroom. The toilet is literally square, so it's not the most natural feeling to an American used to an oval bowl. Also, you want to move any clothes or dry towels out of the way, as water from the shower gets everywhere (including the toilet). The glass door also isn't the most 'private' feeling for what should be the most private room! However, if you're an adaptable traveler, then even this isn't such a big deal. The price is very good for Oslo, and the location is in walking distance to everything a traveler needs-- Karl Johans gate is maybe 2-3 blocks away, and Oslo-S is maybe a 10-15 minute leisurely walk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget

Address: Mollergata 26, Oslo 0179, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 86 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfor Hotel Xpress Youngstorget. Opened 2011. Youngstorget, Oslo. Budget hotel. Small rooms. Plenty of attitide, low rates & love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.