We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Skansen Hotell

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Skansen Hotell to your Saves list
Skansen Hotell
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Storgata 105, Tromso 9008, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good for the price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

As many others, we went to tromsø for the aurora borealis.. Browsed a lot of hotels, some cheaper and some more expensive. This hotel is about a 10 min walk from where the airport bus stops, but still very close to everything.. Just around the corner, we found a super cool bar named Perez. The main walking street is 3 min away, and a walk to the famous ishavskatedralen over the bridge takes 15 min.. Our double room was nice, quite modern and clean. The staff was quite nice too and very helpful. We could not jump in the roof for the breakfast, and the "breakfast" lady was a little grumpy, so we tried to make her smile, but without much luck. Anyway, lots of nice places to eat breakfast very near too.. but Tromsø is a very expensive city!! For a ok lunch, with a glass of wine or two, don't be shocked if the bill is €100 or more... it's a good reason for a shock, but you are now warned. Anyway, I would be happy to stay at this hotel again for that price! :-)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    19
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
3
22
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed here on a trip to see the aurora. I booked with a little trepidation as some of the reviews of this hotel are quite scathing, but in reality, it is what it is advertised to be, a 3 star hotel. Having stayed in other 3 star Norwegian hotels, this was no different. A basic hotel, not glitzy, not ritzy, but providing a warm room, comfy bed, not a huge choice of food at breakfast but all good enough to eat. The staff were all very friendly, helping us with bookings, making us coffee and so on. Although on a map this hotel looks a little bit out of the centre of Tromso, it is such a small city that it doesn't take long to get anywhere, 10 minutes walk to the harbour front and where the aurora trips leave from. the rooms at the back of the hotel have good views of the water front, the higher you go, the better the view. Sadly we were given a room at the front which we found a bit noisy, I am sure they would have moved us had we asked, but simply could not be bothered!

Room Tip: Go for the third floor back rooms for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We recently stayed here and were quite pleased. The staff is fairly detached but is helpful when you ask. The floors and rooms have a cruise ship feel to them. The rooms are big enough but a little small. The beds are quite small but extremely comfortable!! Slept like a log. The bathrooms have heated floors, which is nice to thaw out after walking around in the cold. They provide liquid soak dispensers by the bathroom sink and in the standing shower, but no other amenities are included (except a hair dryer). The bathroom is quite small but just fine for a weekend there. You can hear others in the next room if they are loud but people didn't seem to be making a lot of noise.

The hotel is right on the main street and sits at the beginning of the main "strip" of town. With the heavily iced streets, it makes it much easier to walk around when you dont have to worry about slipping up and down the hilly streets!

The reception closes at 10PM so you have to enter the building with your room key on the side door after that. We weren't told that and had to figure it out for ourselves, but didn't worry us much.

The breakfast is good but fairly light- soft boiled eggs, bread, jams, cheese, orange juice, veggies, cold cuts, and some cole slaw potato salad. Its a good start to the day but not enough to fill you past lunch.

Overall an enjoyable experience! Very simple and small place, but very clean and adequate for a few days stay.

Room Tip: Request one with a view of the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Sussex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a really good budget hotel just 2-3 minutes from the town centre. We had a view over the water to the Ice Cathedra and Kristina and the other staff could not have been more welcoming or helpful.

We were in Tromso to see the Northern Lights and this hotel (and the great fares from Gatwick with Norwegian) made it possible for a realistic price.

Room Tip: Rooms looking across to the mainland have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Small hotel located at the ascent of one of Tromso's main and nicest streets. The building integrates well with the other buildings in the area, and this is a plus in my opinion. Public areas of the hotel are cozy, and even the room was O.K. at first glance, but then came the second....

The room where I stayed, on the second floor, is in an urgent need of renovation: Stickers which were tried unsuccessfully to be removed, peeling paint, front door that allows the corridor light to enter the room easily around it, dirty curtain that enables street lights coming in as if it doesn't exist, unclean and graceless chest of drawers, and when you look through the big window at the main street, you can also notice the unattractive dirt roof beneath with empty beer bottles, lots of cigarettes butts and other stuff....

The unventilated bathroom condition was not better, even worst, to say the least....and I will skip the details....

The room was well lit and not only by the corridor and street lights.... Internet was free in public areas and room, and the breakfast was very (very) modest - not something worth to talk about.

This hotel was not my first choice in Tromso, in fact it was almost the last, since I arrived in the city during a week in which every hotel was fully booked due to a local event. Eventually I understood the reason why this hotel had vacancy...

According to the hotel web page gallery, rooms look very good. That is why I assume some rooms were already been renovated, whereas others still looks as dumps. Make sure you are in the right one because, regarding this hotel, It turns out that the information online was incomplete and inaccurate.

Since payment was done for two nights in advance while checking-in, I stayed there. However, for my last night in town, I left this place, found another hotel and moved there.

In my humble opinion, this hotel has great potential to be among the boutique hotels, but before that will happen, attention, work and not less important, accuracy when providing online information, are all needed to be done. I have to say that I was expecting a little more in return for 850 NOK per night.

I stayed in 9 hotels during my two and a half weeks trip to Norway - this has the lowest grade.

Room Tip: Stay only after you confirm it is a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed one night there in Skansen Hotell. I'd say I was really happy about the place where it is situated. Its almost like in the center of Tromso city and its much easier to go any place from the hotel. Also I feel the price also comparatively cheap with good facility. They have very friendly staff too. It'd be better if the front desk is open even after 11pm.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I went to this hotel on Tuesday 27 August 13 of this week on the off chance that they might just have a room. They did, and it was such good value for money I booked a second night for Thursday.29 August. The rooms were very clean and at around 850k per night including a good quality breakfast I felt it represented value for money. Especially in Norway. On both occasions the reception staff were extremely helpful and were able to point me in the correct direction when requesting travel advice. I stayed in room 208 on my first night and 308 on the second night. The hotel offers limited car parking and free coffee at the front lobby. The location is good for most thing as well. The breakfast selection was adequate and items were replenished when finished. The bathroom was lovely and warm and the towels were adequate for my purposes. Lots of hot water a very good shower and very clean. What else can one want for this price. I have had far worse in supposedly three and four star hotels.

I can only imagine that this is a two star property and a jolly god one too. Keep up the good work. I will stay with you should I return to Tromso. Thank You!!!

Room Tip: The rooms to the rear have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Skansen Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skansen Hotell

Address: Storgata 105, Tromso 9008, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Skansen Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skansen Hotell Tromso is located very centrally in the city centre of Tromso. From the hotel you will have everything within a few minutes walking distance. It is a 10 minute walk to the Express Boat/Hurtigruten quay and Tromso Airport is a 15-minute journey by taxi. We also have guest car parking facilities available for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Skansen Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skansen Hotell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.