We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but more attention to detail needed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Skansen Hotell

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Skansen Hotell to your Saves list
Skansen Hotell
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Storgata 105, Tromso 9008, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Vaud, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location, but more attention to detail needed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel is ideally located very close to the center of Tromso. The apartment is very spacious with all the bare necessities, but could do with a few improvements.

The hotel reception is only open until 23:00. Our flights were delayed and we arrived after midnight to closed doors. If we didn't call to advise them we'll be late, we would not have known how to get it via the night entrance and key lock box. We were also able to assist other guests that arrived a few minutes after us how to get it. If it weren't for us still being around, they would not have had accommodation for the night.

The most challenging part was getting our 2 x 20kg suitcases and additional hand luggage to the third floor without an elevator. It's fine if you're on the ground of 1st floor, but 3 flights of stairs up with bags is challenging and rather noisy!

Heating in the apartment was fantastic and very welcoming when arriving back from Northern Lights chasing. The beds are a little narrow and could do with an extra pillow, there weren't any, not even in a cupboard. Some of the linen on the bed were not clean and had brown fingerprints on them. Other than that, the apartment was neat and clean.

The bathroom had no railings to hang towels on. We suspect a guest had put a screw in the door frame as that was the only place to hang anything.

The bedroom did not have heating, but that did not bother us as the duvets were sufficient. However, the room was not sound proof and early morning snow scrapers woke us every day.

Good value for money, provided these small things are attended to. We hardly had any dealings with the staff as this was in the apartment hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    19
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
3
22
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Pros
Staff was friendly and welcoming.
The location is a nice downhill walk to the town centre and a short walk to Tromso Polar Museum, Perspektivet Museum and The Art Museum of Northern Norway. Also within walking distance to Polaria and Macks Brewery.
Breakfast was quite adequate tho rather basic. The view from our room across the water and of the Tromso Bridge and Arctic Cathedral was a lovely surprise - especially beautiful at night. The heated bathroom floor was most welcome.
The room, tho' small, was clean and comfortable for our two night stay.

Cons
We stayed in January 2013 and the icy footpath on the uphill climb (not steep) to the hotel from the town centre was at times quite slippery. (Not a fault of the hotel tho.)
Would be nice to have tea/coffee facilities in room.
Altho' the hotel was clean the interior appeared worn and tired.
I thought the tariff was a bit dear for this hotel... even for Norway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, a nice hotel. Warm tidy rooms, and the bathroom has a heated floor- a nice touch on those cold days. It probably isnt the best hotel out there, but it was clean and tidy, and with Norwegian prices in mind- very good value! Also all rooms come with breakfast in the morning- its a little basic, museli, breads, some of the continental things, and jams and fish things, but it does the job. The staff are very helpful too. On the night we arrived the young guy behind the desk was helpful with a city map, especially with telling us where was good to go for food etc.

I would recommend this hotel, and would use it again myself

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Went to Tromso for two nights in early February in the hope of catching the Northern Lights and this was the only hotel I could find at a price I was willing to pay. It is quite basic but provided you don't want fruit they do a great breakfast, the room was clean and comfortable and the staff were really helpful.

One word of warning - the bedroom curtains were rather thin and if you need to be in the dark in order to sleep this could be a real problem during Tromso's two months of midnight sun.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor at the back of the hotel have a good view across the Tromso Strait of the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed at the Skansen from30th November to 4th December 2012 and found it excellent. It isn't the poshest place in the world, but as I've said on here many times, you get what you pay for, and by Norwegian standards the cost is very reasonable. It was spotlessly clean, the bed was very comfy and the en-suite shower was a of a high standard. My favourite thing of all was the underfloor heating in the bathroom! I have never experienced underfloor heating before and it was such a novelty I took to standing on the lovely warm tiles in my bare feet with a big daft grin on my face! (Yes - OK - I know I need to get out more). The breakfast was good - you don't get an English breakfast, but why would you? You're in Northern Scandinavia. There was plenty of choice of spreads, juice, coffee, tea, bread, cold meats, and freshly boiled eggs etc. etc.
Super friendly and helpful young man on Reception when we checked in - Jonathon.
In my opinion there were two things missing which would have helped enormously. 1. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room - the coffee machine in Reception cost £1.50ish for half a cardboard cup of lukewarm very bad coffee. 2. A toaster in the dining room to toast the very nice bread they provide.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

http://www.skansenhotell.no/en/index.html
we contacted the hotel directly through their Mail form
got a timely reply ...
Our period of stay was during Midnight Sun Marathon , a very busy time in Tromso
last week of June - beginning of July
we could get an apartment ( different building ) but close ( 5mn walk ) to the main reception
we had the bed size we desired at decent rate ( long term discount )
We booked for 10 days.
They sent us confirmation by Email , with Bank details however never required a transfer
On arrival , we were asked if we wanted to pay upfront or at Check out ... I choose Check Out ...
the Apartment number 3 just up the stairs was as we have seen on Pictures online
Clean , spacious enough for 2, heater , TV with English Channels ( Could watch Euro 2012 Games )
underfloor heating in the shower room, quiet
Fry pan , cooking pot , plates , cups glasses and utensils for 2 , Water Boiler for Coffee .
We happened to see cleaning ladies making other rooms , we asked for cleaning and fresh towels ... all done properly !

We asked reception to take care of our laundry , they did .
We drop bag in morning; got clean fresh clothes back same day !

Will absolutely go back !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We got put into an apartment 'for 3 people', the third bed was just a old and shabby sofa not even sofa bed. The apartment was generally dark and tired looking. I can't review the rooms in the actual hotel but do not stay in the apartments attached to the hotel. We ended up staying at City Living, which was much better.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Skansen Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skansen Hotell

Address: Storgata 105, Tromso 9008, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Skansen Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skansen Hotell Tromso is located very centrally in the city centre of Tromso. From the hotel you will have everything within a few minutes walking distance. It is a 10 minute walk to the Express Boat/Hurtigruten quay and Tromso Airport is a 15-minute journey by taxi. We also have guest car parking facilities available for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Skansen Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skansen Hotell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.