We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to town centre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Skansen Hotell

Save Saved
You added Skansen Hotell to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Skansen Hotell
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Storgata 105, Tromso 9008, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 17 hotels in Tromso
Brisbane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Close to town centre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Pros
Staff was friendly and welcoming.
The location is a nice downhill walk to the town centre and a short walk to Tromso Polar Museum, Perspektivet Museum and The Art Museum of Northern Norway. Also within walking distance to Polaria and Macks Brewery.
Breakfast was quite adequate tho rather basic. The view from our room across the water and of the Tromso Bridge and Arctic Cathedral was a lovely surprise - especially beautiful at night. The heated bathroom floor was most welcome.
The room, tho' small, was clean and comfortable for our two night stay.

Cons
We stayed in January 2013 and the icy footpath on the uphill climb (not steep) to the hotel from the town centre was at times quite slippery. (Not a fault of the hotel tho.)
Would be nice to have tea/coffee facilities in room.
Altho' the hotel was clean the interior appeared worn and tired.
I thought the tariff was a bit dear for this hotel... even for Norway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    21
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
2
21
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, a nice hotel. Warm tidy rooms, and the bathroom has a heated floor- a nice touch on those cold days. It probably isnt the best hotel out there, but it was clean and tidy, and with Norwegian prices in mind- very good value! Also all rooms come with breakfast in the morning- its a little basic, museli, breads, some of the continental things, and jams and fish things, but it does the job. The staff are very helpful too. On the night we arrived the young guy behind the desk was helpful with a city map, especially with telling us where was good to go for food etc.

I would recommend this hotel, and would use it again myself

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Went to Tromso for two nights in early February in the hope of catching the Northern Lights and this was the only hotel I could find at a price I was willing to pay. It is quite basic but provided you don't want fruit they do a great breakfast, the room was clean and comfortable and the staff were really helpful.

One word of warning - the bedroom curtains were rather thin and if you need to be in the dark in order to sleep this could be a real problem during Tromso's two months of midnight sun.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor at the back of the hotel have a good view across the Tromso Strait of the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed at the Skansen from30th November to 4th December 2012 and found it excellent. It isn't the poshest place in the world, but as I've said on here many times, you get what you pay for, and by Norwegian standards the cost is very reasonable. It was spotlessly clean, the bed was very comfy and the en-suite shower was a of a high standard. My favourite thing of all was the underfloor heating in the bathroom! I have never experienced underfloor heating before and it was such a novelty I took to standing on the lovely warm tiles in my bare feet with a big daft grin on my face! (Yes - OK - I know I need to get out more). The breakfast was good - you don't get an English breakfast, but why would you? You're in Northern Scandinavia. There was plenty of choice of spreads, juice, coffee, tea, bread, cold meats, and freshly boiled eggs etc. etc.
Super friendly and helpful young man on Reception when we checked in - Jonathon.
In my opinion there were two things missing which would have helped enormously. 1. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room - the coffee machine in Reception cost £1.50ish for half a cardboard cup of lukewarm very bad coffee. 2. A toaster in the dining room to toast the very nice bread they provide.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

http://www.skansenhotell.no/en/index.html
we contacted the hotel directly through their Mail form
got a timely reply ...
Our period of stay was during Midnight Sun Marathon , a very busy time in Tromso
last week of June - beginning of July
we could get an apartment ( different building ) but close ( 5mn walk ) to the main reception
we had the bed size we desired at decent rate ( long term discount )
We booked for 10 days.
They sent us confirmation by Email , with Bank details however never required a transfer
On arrival , we were asked if we wanted to pay upfront or at Check out ... I choose Check Out ...
the Apartment number 3 just up the stairs was as we have seen on Pictures online
Clean , spacious enough for 2, heater , TV with English Channels ( Could watch Euro 2012 Games )
underfloor heating in the shower room, quiet
Fry pan , cooking pot , plates , cups glasses and utensils for 2 , Water Boiler for Coffee .
We happened to see cleaning ladies making other rooms , we asked for cleaning and fresh towels ... all done properly !

We asked reception to take care of our laundry , they did .
We drop bag in morning; got clean fresh clothes back same day !

Will absolutely go back !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We got put into an apartment 'for 3 people', the third bed was just a old and shabby sofa not even sofa bed. The apartment was generally dark and tired looking. I can't review the rooms in the actual hotel but do not stay in the apartments attached to the hotel. We ended up staying at City Living, which was much better.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Offers a good price for a very reasonable hotel. Rooms are small but clean. Nice and newly renovated bathrooms. But they need to do something about the shower flooding up the whole bathroom floor. Appreciate that the staff went out of their way to get us early breakfast after we told them that we have to leave by 6.15am. Location is 10 mins walk from town centre. Can be difficult to walk in snowy conditions if you have lots of luggage going to/from cruise port or bus terminal. They should highlight the restricted access after 11pm. We were not directly affected but did have to make sure that we get back before 11pm ( after dog sled activity) to pickup our stored luggage. But I will definitely not rate this shabby.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for contacts if you plan to arrive after 11pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
Charming, City...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Quiet, Independ...
Show More
0.4 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
Free internet...
Show More
0.4 mi away
ABC Hotell Nord
ABC Hotell Nord
#15 of 17 in Tromso
3.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Free...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#12 of 17 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
City Center, Fr...
Show More
0.3 mi away
AMI Hotel Tromso
AMI Hotel Tromso
#4 of 17 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Amalie Hotel
Amalie Hotel
#3 of 17 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skansen Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skansen Hotell

Address: Storgata 105, Tromso 9008, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Skansen Hotell 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skansen Hotell Tromso is located very centrally in the city centre of Tromso. From the hotel you will have everything within a few minutes walking distance. It is a 10 minute walk to the Express Boat/Hurtigruten quay and Tromso Airport is a 15-minute journey by taxi. We also have guest car parking facilities available for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Skansen Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skansen Hotell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.