We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A snack at Annie's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aunegarden

Aunegarden
Sjogata 29, Tromso 9258, Norway
+47 77 65 12 34
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 83 Restaurants in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Tea Room, Scandinavian, Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the venerable Aunegården. We have the pleasure to serve you good food and drink in one of the best preserved historic buildings in Tromso.Cafe serving delicious lunches and especially Aunegården's famous cakes. In the evening you can enjoy light meals, cakes combined with good drinks.Restaurant During the day you can enjoy your lunch in peaceful surroundings. In the evening we offer a dining experience based upon North Norwegian ingredients from our a la carte cuisine.
Snodland, Kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“A snack at Annie's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

It is one of the oldest buildings in Tromso, full of character and atmosphere. We had a smoked salmon sandwich (open) lovely grain bread with brie & guacamole, quite large but like evrything in Norway it comes at a price with a cup of tea and a glass of beer we could have had a three course meal in England. A great experience though.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    121
    22
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and cake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had 4 coffees, 2 cakes and a hot chocolate after snowshoeing. All were fantastic- hot chocolate tasted like it had been made with cream and chocolate sauce. All 280 NOK. We then decided to go back for dinner. Amazing food. We all had fish, including the half-dried cod. Service was good even though only one waitress - was a Monday eve. 3 beers, alcohol free aperitif, 4 starters, 4 mains and 3 desserts worked out to 2090 NOK. Not too bad for such good food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic cakes and good lunch in Tromsø”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We ended up at this place after looking for a lunch restaurant in Tromsø, and absolutely a good choice.

The cakes was fantastic, and we just had to share one more after we finished.

The lunch was very good as well, and we will definitely be back next time we are in the city

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Bailey's cake ... yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had hoped to have lunch but they don't serve lunch on Sunday. There didn't appear to be a lot of choice of cakes when we arrived however more were brought out shortly after we sat down - it would have been good to have known this. We had coffee and cake. My husband had a passion fruit cheesecake and I had a kind of a Bailey's mousse cake with a chocolate sponge base - both were really delicious so what about the limited choice!! Coffee was not hot (as we prefer) but good nevertheless. Very busy and lots of families enjoying the tea shop atmosphere. Staff are friendly and don't rush you out. Not cheap but what is in Norway?!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Grta place to have lunch or coffee. Nice wooden house with friendly atmosphere. One of the best in Tromso

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aunegarden also viewed

 

Been to Aunegarden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aunegarden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.