We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, nice, clean and very helpful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viking Hotell Tromso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Viking Hotell Tromso to your Saves list
Viking Hotell Tromso
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gronnegt. 18 - 20, Tromso 9008, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Bergen, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Central, nice, clean and very helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

When we got in we were met by very friendly staff that did their best to make us feel good and have a good time. They upgraded us to an apartment rather than a room which meant we got to spend time in a newly upgraded (it looked brand new) place with lots of space and all the amenities you could want.

Please note, this hotel is a multi-building property with a "standard" hotel part and some apartments (studio and one-bedroom at least) in adjacent buildings. We only experienced the apartments, and can therefore not comment on rooms.

The apartments seem brand new. They contain fridge, stove top, oven etc, so you can make full meals there if you wish to. All appliances were steel-front and appeared brand new. There was a hardwood floor and the place was very nice and clean. Shower was also nice and clean.

The location is excellent, but there is building going on in the vicinity of the hotel, which means side-streets have been torn up etc, giving the area a kind of run-down look. It isn't though, and all the delights of Tromsø are in walking distance of this hotel. Shopping just around the corner, Polaria a short walk away etc.

Please note that the closeness to all things good also means that there is some foot traffic in the area. Fridays and Saturdays that probably means you'll hear the kids moving between pubs and bars, and they talk to each other. If the the sounds of the city (no traffic noise, just people) are a problem for you, you should probably stay somewhere else. I love the sound of the city and it never was loud, just present.

Oh, and I should probably mention, the breakfast area is tiny and the breakfast is unassuming. If you get an apartment, you might be better off making your own.

Room Tip: Get the apartments, they are excellent. Don't know about the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simen S, Public Relations Manager at Viking Hotell Tromso, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Hello ColdViking!

How convenient it was for a Viking to stay with us!
Glad to hear that you enjoyed our apartment, we have everything from as you said studio apartments, to four bedroom apartments. As well as in standard apartments and delux.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Viking Hotell the next time you're in Tromso.

Best regards

Simen
Viking Hotell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    79
    37
    17
    10
See reviews for
55
77
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

After spending three nights in one of the Viking Hotel apartments I cannot praise it enough. The wooden stairs leading to the apartment give no idea of what awaits - an attractive two-floor newly renovated apartment which sleeps six (we were four), pleasantly furnished with an open plan kitchen, diner and living room. Comfortable beds - spotless white bed linen and towels and an excellent situation. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. We self-catered so cannot comment on the breakfast. I loved the over-bed lamps with a dimmer switch. The cost was equivalent to two hotel rooms and offered so much more.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simen S, Public Relations Manager at Viking Hotell Tromso, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear VavaHelsinki,

thank you so much for a wonderful review!
It always warms our hearts to hear such good words.
Have a great day!

Regards

Simen
Viking Hotell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights. Upgraded from a hotel room to an apartment in the building next door. Good sized room, comfy bed, kichenette & powerful shower. Some noise from traffic outside & late night revellers. Breakfast was a reasonable buffet & the staff were good at keeping it topped up. Staff themselves were friendly enough. Location was central & Tromso is small enough that most places are just a few minutes walk away.

The apartment was not cleaned once during my 4 night stay & the hotel was expensive, which seemed to be a recurrent theme in Northern Norway at least (I did not venture south).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simen S, Public Relations Manager at Viking Hotell Tromso, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear PerminderUK,

thank you so much for your review!
We have noticed that we have to sharpen up our housekeeping in the apartments, much thanks to your review. Other then that Im glad that you had a good stay

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Viking Hotell the next time you're in Tromso.

Best regards

Simen
Viking Hotell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

It's close to the City "centre" and the room was simple and ok. The little waffle stand in the reception was a nice touch. Friendly reception too. For a weekend trip we did not need anything else. We did not try the breakfast, so cant say anything about that.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Friendly staff, nice room with comfy bed. Very good location! Only minus was that there were no shampoo/conditioner and no hairdryer. The breakfast was horrible! (Hard bread, not a lot to choose from, and some food even seemed like it wasn't fresh)

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Nicely furnished clean apartment with bedroom, living room & kitchenette (grocery store nearby). Central location, some uphill walking and stair climbing is involved. No central heating. Electric bedroom heater had a noisy fan. Upon request it was changed to a new heating blower that was noisier.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Centrally located hotel, room was very clean and well decorated. Our room was located next to a lift, however we didn't hear the lift at all or any of the guests outside. The staff are very friendly, helpful and cheerful, even at 5 am in the morning! The waffles in the reception area at 5pm were delicious. The hotel also has free wifi and the breakfast buffet was good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viking Hotell Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotell Tromso

Address: Gronnegt. 18 - 20, Tromso 9008, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viking Hotell Tromso 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viking Hotel and Apartments offers accomodation for any guests in any situations. Single and double hotelrooms in traditional ways that includes a nice breakfast, though in a rather small breakfastarea. New and very popular apartments with 1-4 bedrooms, fully furnished and with kitchens ready to use as you wish (breakfast not included). Free internet access from both hotelrooms and apartments. Our serviceminded staff is always present in the lobby, offering our guests free coffee and tea :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Viking Hotell Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotell Tromso Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viking Hotell Tromso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.