We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the jewel of the north” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viking Hotell Tromso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Viking Hotell Tromso to your Saves list
Viking Hotell Tromso
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gronnegt. 18 - 20, Tromso 9008, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“the jewel of the north”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a visit to Tromso (split into two visits by a trip round the coast on the MS Nordlys). We booked both before and after stays in the Viking hotel .The hotel was very easy to find only 200 metres from the bus stop from the airport. We were given a room on the fourth floor looking out to the front of the hotel (the best view) To be honest the room was slightly small. but I was told there were bigger rooms available. There my negatives end because everything else about the hotel was fine. The thing that made this hotel was the staff from Ronja (the receptionist during the evening) to the girls that clean the rooms and all the other staff that made this hotel work. every thing was done with a smile and nothing was too difficult. The breakfast was advertised as continental, which it was, but with added things such as several types of bread and bread rolls with various fish dishes eggs meats, cheeses and salad together with pastries and jams this meant that would be plenty for anybody.
All day (24 hours) there was free tea and coffee in the reception and between 5 and 9 in the evening there was free self cook waffles with cream and jams to put on them.
In the reception area was a tv with about 20 channels many of which were in English with Norwegian sub titles (Odd but true)
The whole hotel has had some form of refurbishment over the last 12 months which meant that the rooms were of modern décor. So don't be put off by the outside appearance because once inside we were met with warmth and friendliness throughout our stay
Well done to all the staff.

Bob and Diane Manning

Room Tip: This hotel has apartments as well as rooms. the apartments are not in the same building so it could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    76
    37
    16
    10
See reviews for
53
72
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I was a little apprehensive when I read mixed reviews about this hotel, however I cannot fault the apartment we stayed in for four nights. It was modern, clean, and very importantly, warm and cosy. Being conveniently located near to all of Tromso's attractions, cafés, restaurants, bars and shops, it was perfect for us. The fully equipped kitchen meant that we had the option of preparing our own meals and thereby saving money on eating out every night. I definitely recommend this apartment at Viking Hotel. The staff were fantastic too!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I spent a long weekend in Tromso with a group of friends and the Viking was the perfect base from which to explore. We had a three bedroom apartment which was well appointed with everything we needed for the weekend. It also had a kitchen which is useful for midnight snacks if you want to avoid paying £18 for a kebab at the local takeaway (I kid you not). It's not the Ritz but it is a nice place and the staff are great. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mountains
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Not a 5 star hotel but the value at the Viking was the best we found in Norway so have rated it as such and here's why. 1) free guest laundry. Other hotels wanted $150 NOK just to clean a shirt. We like to travel light, and having a washing machine sure beats doing laundry in the sink every night. 2). Friendly, helpful staff who had a positive, caring attitude towards guests. One evening there was a large group of young people who were a little loud. Although we didn't have any trouble, the hotel staff went out of their way to ask if the noise was bothering us. And they worked with us on rates when we stayed there multiple times. 3) free waffles with berries and sour cream in the evenings. Food in Norway is very expensive so a free tasty dessert was very welcome. 4) the airport bus stops right in front, which allowed us to get a rental car at a good rate and just take the bus to get it at the airport. 5) Breakfast had a reasonable selection of items and the yogurt with berries was wonderful!. 6) Nice focused reading lights over the bed, with dimmers.

On the down side some comments from other reviewers also held true for us. The rooms are small, but we stayed several times at the Radisson where they weren't much bigger. Same can be said for the fold-in shower, which was not any smaller than others we experienced. Our room also got warm but we did not have the smoke issue when we opened the window to cool it off. The beds and comforters are more cushy at the more expensive hotels but we slept extremely well at the Viking as it is away from the main thoroughfares and quiet.

This is a small hotel and you and the staff will get to know each other quickly! It is not directly on the water but only a 5 minute walk to ferries, busses, shopping and the information center.

Room Tip: Rooms with good views are in the front, no view but very quiet in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just ok. Single bed was tiny and uncomfortable. Room temp was hard to adjust (warm). Opened window and enjoyed the cigarette smoke from those waiting outside the hotel entry. Then a lengthy conversation at 1am to 2am from someone outside. Breakfast was in traditional Norwegian Hotel culture "basic" and almost tragic. Mass produced seafood salad etc... uff. Will I stay again... NO. Those looking for youth hostel type quality... then enjoy. Room was no more than 2m x 3,5m.

Room Tip: Avoid main street facing unless you wish to enjoy cigarette smoke all nite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were misled by the web site of apartments vikinghotell.no that says:

"All apartments have a separate and well equipped kitchen with stove, ceramic top, refrigerator/freezer, microwave, dishwasher, etc....All beds are 150 cm or 180 cm wide and there is a lot of space in our bedrooms."

We thought it is ok to take studio apartment since we were only one tiny couple and no need in huge apartments.

When we entered the dusty apartment we understood that it is far from the description: no freezer, no microwave, no dishwasher, no coffeemaker, the bed is 110 cm wide that is obviously not for two adults, and the apartment is not really an apartment, it is may be good to hold cleaner stuff or some sort of storage.
Somehow we felt cheated.

We stayed for 4 nights and paid 990 NOK per night plus 115 NOK per day for the nano parking place, overall 600 eur for 4 days.
(Later we found twice cheaper parking places but need to walk a bit.)
Now we understand why the roads are full of driving homes, by this one can save a lot of money.

There is no ventilation in the room so need to open the window that leads to the noisy street right under pedestrian pavement. The window is close to the garbage cans that are emptied in the morning by garbage collector car, plus noise comes from passing cars, walking and talking pedestrians.

There were several surprised in this apartment, Norway and Tromso as well.
On the day we arrived the neighbor apartment was taken by a group of drinking youngsters who just opened all the doors and put their music on full loudness while going outside for a smoke. After been driving for ten hours from Finland to Tromso it was too much for us. Thanks to the staff they helped to calm them down a bit after our complaint.
But the story continued at night when been completely drunk two guys put their bodies into our window (it is in basement) and started to talk with us when we were asleep and naked on the bed. Luckily they were no aggressive as one of the vikings mottoes suggests.

It seems Norway is full of surprises, one of them was when we were driving to Tromso through mountain wavy road and were overtaken by the guy who was speeding at least 150 km/h where the speed limit was 60 km/h or something.
May be it comes from viking times principles.

Tromso old city itself is very small and can be walked around in few minutes. There are a few restaurants, mainly pizzas and hamburgers. There is Thai restaurant nearby, we did not try it was closed (Monday).
The adventure trips in mountains offered by tourist office are really expensive and that is why we did not bother to buy anything from them but instead climbed on our own in some beautiful fjords, thanks we had a car.
The nature is really stunning and worse seeing, Arctic cathedral is also must visit place,
any other attraction there is overmarketed and expensive, except free botanic garden, open air and some art museums.

The seafood in the supermarkets is really fresh and much cheaper and more natural than in Finland. The meat is more expensive and mostly frozen. The pack of cigarettes cost 12 eur that means you must get healthy and green soon.

We were in July and the weather was really cold, windy and rainy, 10 C.
Next time need to take more warm clothes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Tignet, France
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Nothing is too much trouble for the terrific staff at this hotel only five minutes walk from the centre of town. However, the rooms, although adequate were also very small and the breakfast (included in the room price) pretty basic. However, there is free tea and coffee available from early morning and throughout the day and in the late afternoon there are free servings of good waffles. I'd stay here again but mainly because of the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff who can't be faulted.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viking Hotell Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotell Tromso

Address: Gronnegt. 18 - 20, Tromso 9008, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viking Hotell Tromso 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viking Hotel and Apartments offers accomodation for any guests in any situations. Single and double hotelrooms in traditional ways that includes a nice breakfast, though in a rather small breakfastarea. New and very popular apartments with 1-4 bedrooms, fully furnished and with kitchens ready to use as you wish (breakfast not included). Free internet access from both hotelrooms and apartments. Our serviceminded staff is always present in the lobby, offering our guests free coffee and tea :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Viking Hotell Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotell Tromso Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viking Hotell Tromso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.