We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful apartment stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viking Hotell Tromso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Viking Hotell Tromso to your Saves list
Viking Hotell Tromso
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gronnegt. 18 - 20, Tromso 9008, Norway   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% DISCOUNT BOOK DIRECT
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Tromso
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful apartment stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We rented an apartment here for two adults and two teenagers. Having a kitchen makes a world of difference given the high price of dining out. The apartment (a new one this season) was wonderful - very spacious and well-equipped. There was a strong smell of fresh paint, which was a bit troublesome, but that should be gone by next month. Apartments have access to the laundry facilities at the hotel (across the street) and they had waffle-makings in the lobby every evening from 4 to 9pm. The staff was helpful and responsive, and called a taxi to take us to the airport -- cheaper than the bus if you have 3 or more people.

Room Tip: The apartment we stayed in had a double bed in one room, a single in another, and a second floor wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auntbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Staying in this hotel was a real pleasure. I arrived in Tromso without a room on the busiest evening of the summer season and all the hotels were booked. I finally had the second last room in this hotel, where I found the staff welcoming, friendly and extremely helpful. They went out of their way to give me information, organised an early breakfast etc.

The room was excellent, clean and comfortable, everythng you require for a nights stay. The homemade yoghurt for breakfast was excellent

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel during our three day stay in Tromso. Four of us shared a family room and whilst small it was comfortable and all we needed. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was basic but adequate. Hotel was well situated for exploring the area. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the foyer as well as comfortable chairs. Every afternoon you can make yourself free waffles. All in all a great little hotel and we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TassieRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
165 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were a group of friends who visited Tromsø in february. The apartment was on the 3rd floor about 75 metres from the hotel. A good place to stay. There was some confusion between Twin beds and double beds and with 5 guys, we had a challenge with that. That apart, the accomodation and all the facilities were excellent. There was a jacuzzi which good but sat on an elevation in the bathroom. The apartment is not the best choice for families with babies or older people. May be they have other accomodation at ground level and then it should be ok. The services were OK. Even though check in was supposed to be at 1200, we did not get the accomodation till after 1300. Plan for it. its not easy to get big apartments ready if people are checking out the same day. Ideal is to take an afternoon flight into Tromsø.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with children and seniors, check for apartments at lower levels. If the apartm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kurtdigital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constanta, Romania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The apartment I've stayed in is located 100 meters from the hotel itself, looks nice and has all the amenities needed. Heating worked very good and you should consider that when you are above Arctic Circle :). Unfortunately the Wi-Fi broken down for 2 days, the staff could not provide a spare router to solve the issue and there was a little bit of hustle about it. The hotel and apartments don't have a laundry service! If you want you can use the washing machine and dryer (for free) but there is no liquid detergent for gentle wash cycles (30 degrees) and takes 3-4 hours to get you clothes back. Also there is no option for ironing.
Overall is a good apartment to stay in if wi-fi works and you can get along with lack of proper laundry service, even if you want to pay for it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduard_N1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at a 3 bedrooms apartment in March for couple nights. The apartment itself is located at another location rather than the hotel location. Since the road was full of ice, it was kind of difficult for us to walk up and down from the apartment. The apartment is small but with what people needed to stay. Wifi worked perfectly. The only concern was that there was only 1 bathroom for 4 of us to share. But I don't think I should complain about it. It is not too far to all the attraction, tourist information and bus stops. At the hotel, we can use the laundry for free. There is only 1 washer and 1 dryer and it will take you over 3 hours for washing and drying. It opens 24 hours. If you have over 3 people heading to Viking, you should consider taking a taxi instead of the airport bus because it is cheaper and stop in front of Viking. Overall, we had a pleasant stay. Thank you Viking!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorkHardPlayHard2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Like all my reviews for our Norwegian trip, this review has to acknowledge the cost of Norway.

The hotel is quite basic in terms of its furnishings and decor. Our bathroom had fold-back shower doors to create space. The shower was very good. Breakfast is well catered for and the staff regularly refresh the cold buffet and are polite.

The hotel is well situated in Tromso with all major attractions within easy walking distance. Judging by other reviews the apartments may be the better bet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glennjones14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Clarion Hotel The Edge
#4 of 19 in Tromso
4.5 of 5 stars 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
0.3 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#7 of 19 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 stars 354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotell Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotell Tromso

Address: Gronnegt. 18 - 20, Tromso 9008, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tromso
#6 Family Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Viking Hotell Tromso 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viking Hotel and Apartments offers accomodation for any guests in any situations. Single and double hotelrooms in traditional ways that includes a nice breakfast, though in a rather small breakfastarea. New and very popular apartments with 1-4 bedrooms, fully furnished and with kitchens ready to use as you wish (breakfast not included). Free internet access from both hotelrooms and apartments. Our serviceminded staff is always present in the lobby, offering our guests free coffee and tea :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Viking Hotell Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotell Tromso Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing