We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AMI Hotel Tromso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added AMI Hotel Tromso to your Saves list
AMI Hotel Tromso
Skolegata 24, Tromso 9008, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Practic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I spent 8 night (from 25. February) in AMI Hotel, Tromsö There is no luxus here, but it is just great and very practic for tourist. This little hotel is the best what a simple tourist can find in Tromsö. The hotel is clean and comfortable, and has a nice view to the city. The stuff is friendly and helpful.
What you can need in Tromsö, everything is available in walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    74
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
56
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at the Ami Hotel in Tromso where we hoped to see the Northern Lights. The Ami is clean and comfortable. We stayed in the attic whose window provided a fantastic view over the town and the cathedral over the water. The main advantage of the Ami Hotel to us was that we were able to cook our own food, which in an expensive country like Norway and on a limited budget was very useful indeed. The facilities are great, the bedrooms have a fridge and the kitchen is well equipped and next to the dining room where we ate the meals we produced. A great breakfast was provided by the hotel every morning which was plentiful, boiled eggs, cheese, cold meats, bread, fruit and orange juice etc.
Free coffee and chocolate, or tea, were also available all day. The dining room also had a TV and Internet access, where each evening guests could check electro-magnetic activity to gauge the possibility of seeing the Northern Lights and share their expereinces / photographs with other guests.
The hotel was very well run and always kept clean and tidy.
Bedrooms were available with their own bathroom, or with shared facilities.
The hotel is on top of a hill over looking the town, only a short walk, but quite steep for anyone who has difficulty with hills, especially on icy pavements.
Unfortunately the Northern lights didn't make much of an appearance while we were there due to cloud cover, but we had a lovely holiday just the same, in this very beautiful country and in this warm and hospitable hotel. We will definitely stay there again, on our next quest to see the Northern Lights!

Room Tip: We loved the room on the left in the attic, but there is no lift so you need to be fit. Great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailey, Colorado
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We found this place using Trip Advisor, and we couldn't be happier. We're in room 42 which offers a great view of the city, mountains, and fjords. Plus it's on the top floor so no one trampling on top of you. The place is clean, our room is great (complete with sink, fridge, couple nice black chairs, single bed, queen bed, t.v. and a great view). So if you don't mind the hostel atmosphere, this is a great, clean place to spend a couple of nights (a bit outdated if anything, but clean which is always a good thig!). Plus you can't beat the price!!

Room Tip: Top floor was a hit with us. Great views!! #42
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Situated in the centre of Tromsø, 5 minutes walking from the pedestrian street and most of the restaurants. It's next to a little park in a quiet street.
It's a budget guesthouse, so don't expect any luxury. Rooms are kind of basic, but clean and having everything one needs.
Downstairs in the common area you find a kitchen guests can use. Breakfast buffet is pretty good.
Good value (for Norway)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

In Tromsø you Can stay in many different nice hotels. Some of them are international chain hotel and very often it's more about fancy facilities and design than about people.
In AMI hotel it's all about people. It's the nicest place to meet people from all over the world. In this place people actually talk to each other and pay interest to what we all are doing and what we plan to do.
This is not the most fancy place - rooms and public area are basic, but everything is nice and stimulate the nice atmosphere.
My husband and I truly recommend thus place - here you will meet people in all ages and from all over the world.
The fact that you can cook your own dinner is nice. It's also nice that there's always coffee and thee and always somebody ready for a quick talk in the living room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanwrda, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

A group of four of us travelled to Norway in February to see the aurora. Having flown from Gatwick via Oslo, we arrived quite late at the Hotel Ami, and it took us a while to gain access. Once inside this wood panelled hotel, we had to help ourselves to room keys from a security box only to find that one of the rooms was not what we had booked! A quick phone call from the telephone at the unmanned reception sorted that out, and we retired for the night. The rooms were well proportioned, and suitably equipped, and we slept well having been on the go since 4 o'clock that morning!!
Breakfast was a real adventure - you could choose from any hot drink you fancied, including a very good coffee; boiled eggs done for 4, 6 or 10 minutes; cereals and fruit; ham, all sorts of cheese; different types of bread etc - and you could eat as much as you liked. Afterwards, you rinsed your cutlery and crockery under the tap, and placed them in a tray ready for, what seemed, the only member of staff to load them into a dishwasher!!
We stayed for three nights, and really enjoyed the quirkiness of the setup - food was available at any time of the day, but, other than breakfast (which was included in the price), you had to pay up to NK40 (about £5) for any additional meals.
The setting of the hotel was great, looking down over a park to the city centre - mind you, climbing the steps across the park could be fun, especially with the best part of a foot of snow lying!!
It is wise to book well in advance, we did 4 months ahead, to make sure you get rooms of your choice.
If we return to Tromso, we will definitely stay in the Hotel Ami again.

Room Tip: An en suite bedroom is advisable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

No one in their right mind would describe Norway as being a good place to travel for the budget conscious. Prices in this northern nation are what are technically known as "snooker loopy". After using up my last gold bars for a pizza in Bodo, I decided the budget (relatively speaking) AMI hotel would be a good option for me, lest my accountant suffer another an aneurism.

One of the things that impressed me right of the bat was the location. Overlooking the beautiful downtown area, the hotel is a few blocks from the city center. It's an easy walk to town. Getting back to the hotel is a different matter as the hill is rather steep. Be sure to bring your crampons.

Getting into the hotel was also a bit of an interesting experience. I arrived very early in the morning and there is no 24 hour reception being a lower cost hotel. So to get in in this case, my understanding is you have to type in a key code that is supposed to be sent to you via email. However, for one reason or another, I never received this code so I was forced to wake the reception to get in. I won't take off any points for this as my apology for having to wake someone up at 5 am.

Once inside, the hotel is quite cozy with several nice public sitting areas and a small dining corner where a small but quite pleasant breakfast is served. The receptionist was very pleasant despite being woken up at 5am. I would have beaten me with a cricket bat so this was quite nice. Even better, I was able to get to my room as there was an empty one available so I could get some rest after a long train ride.

The rooms themselves are basic. All the essentials are present and everything was clean. You won't find anything fancy here but for the price, this was expected. You may need to watch your head in a few. In my room, the ceiling was slanted over the bed and was low enough for me to hit my head on if I wasn't careful. There is a sink in the rooms. Bathroom facilities are shared for most rooms. There are several bathrooms throughout the hotel so finding an open one when that burrito came back for revenge wasn't an issue.

Final thoughts: If you are looking for a cheap, no frills yet high quality hotel in Tromso, this is probably your only choice, and it's a good one.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floors so you can be away from the street noise. Also, try for a sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to AMI Hotel Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AMI Hotel Tromso

Address: Skolegata 24, Tromso 9008, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel with reasonable prices and views. Quiet neighborhood in the city center. Single, double and family rooms with shared and privat bathrooms, breakfast included. Ideal for travelers that want affordable accommodation. Cooking facilities in common kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your AMI Hotel Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ami Hotel Tromsø

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AMI Hotel Tromso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.