We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the view,central location can't be beat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AMI Hotel Tromso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added AMI Hotel Tromso to your Saves list
AMI Hotel Tromso
Skolegata 24, Tromso 9008, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Sydney
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“the view,central location can't be beat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

1. above a park,overlooking city,harbour,bridge of tromso,
2, In March, it was covered in snow,
3. good guest kitchen,fridge in ensuite guest rooms,
4. quality breakfast,
5. easy clothes washing,driviing,
6. helpful,English speaking staff.-7amto 3pm daily,
7. we stayed 4 nights, march & April 2012. .
8. easy car parking

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor rooms-great city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    83
    21
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
59
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Very friendly service, sitting room with tv, free internet in all rooms, a kitchen, great norwegian breakfast with herring. I'll stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Ok, the AMI is no 5* hotel, however for the average traveller on a moderate budget, I thought the standard was perfect. I travelled in March with my father on what was, I hoped, going to be a fantastic Northern Lights expedition for his 70th birthday (luckily we did see them!). We both had a single room with private bathroom, and the rooms were clean and functional. They were small but in Tromso, you are hopefully going to be out for most of the day so they were more than adequate - and the view was great! There is a fridge in each room which is the most important thing as Norwegian prices are extortionate for anyone coming from the UK. You can buy food in the supermarkets or bring it with you and also use the kitchen to cook your own meals. Thus saving about £40 per night each on dinner! Most people seemed to cook their own food and it is an appealing option considering the alternative. The kitchen is always kept clean by the staff and the guests. If you didn't want to cook in the hotel, and don't want to spend too much, there are several 7-11 type stores which do hot, snacky food.

A continental breakfast is included in the room rate and is fine, and there are hot drinks available 24 hours.

In winter the hotel is a bit more difficult to get to than I imagine it is in summer, as it is uphill through a park (or uphill around the roads). However, even with deep snow around we both climbed up and down through the park - hanging on to the railings - every day to get to and from the hotel. As long as you have snow boots and a good grip you'll be fine. If my 70 year old father can do it - anyone can, and it all added to the fun! The more you do it the easier it gets and I found it easier than going around the park as the pavements were more icy and there were no railings.

We were lucky and saw the lights, but the most amazing thing I did was the dog sledding in the mountains. Again, very expensive for a 2 hour trip but, it's definitely worth it for the experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I am a wholly deaf solo traveller. During March 2012, I stayed at the AMI Hotel, Tromso for 4 nights. The 2nd floor’s clean single room size was reasonable for a single person like myself with private en-suite. It has a good view of Tromso and the snowy mountains (see 10 pics). It has a reliable free Wi-Fi for my laptop, also good TV reception and a fridge! The guests’ kitchen and the dining room/lounge were useful for us to use for breakfast, lunch and evening meals to save our money. We can even get free coffee, tea, etc. as often as we like at anytime! Unfortunately, the problem was we had only ONE cooker with 4 hobs, grill and oven – it was impossible for many of us to cook our own meals at the same time! I had to walk down on the snow to the Egon Pub Restaurant every evening instead! Breakfast times (price included) at AMI Hotel - no problems! You can use AMI Hotel’s public computer with a printer in the guests’ lounge for free! The members of AMI Hotel staff were very helpful indeed! They gave us a friendly atmosphere!

AMI Hotel is in a good location, but it is in the upper area – you have to walk up to there from Tromso centre with care of the snow! There are buses especially Flybussen that run from/to the airport to/from the city centre. Flybussen can drop you off outside the Grand Nordic Hotel, Tromso where you can walk up to AMI Hotel. Cheaper than taxis!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Considering Norwegian prices, this place provides everything you need in an expensive country- wifi, computer in the lounge, included continental breakfast, and of course the tea/coffee machine for 24hr use was a big plus, as was the communal kitchen for making dinner.

As far as our room, I had booked a double/shared bath. When we arrived, we were given a small narrow room with 2 singles, and a note saying they would move us the next day. When I went to inquire, they said our room could be a double if you push the beds together, and did show us an alternative double room on the top floor facing uphill (away from Tromsø). At that point, we were settled in and didn't feel like lugging up our stuff an extra 2 flights of stairs, so we kept the small room and pushed the beds together. As for the shared bathroom and separate shower room, it was very convenient and rarely had to wait (shared by about 8 others on the same floor).

The only thing I'd criticize was the room cleaning. They made up the bed after the first night, but didn't the next 2 days, nor swept- just emptied the trash and replaced towels left on the floor. So the bed was never made and the floor just got dirtier and dirtier, especially coming in and out with winter boots.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor face the street, so there's little privacy and you need to keep the sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai,india
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

This hotel / motel / B&B whatever you label, is a great place. it has a great view. The owners are friendly. You could take a Taxi from Airport ( 110 NOK) or a bus ride (55 Nok per person).
DO NOT prebook a TAXI, at tromso.... We were charged the same on return trip to Airport 240 NOK instead of 110 NOK by the same person)

The rooms are small and no elevator. Be prepared to haul your luggage 2 floors......but the price you pay for this place more than justifies.

Breakfast is simple but VERY nice and economical. We had to leave early morning ( 6.30am) and they stocked the Food previous night. Free Coffee / Tea machine saves alot of money as well. You could cook your own food. All these are of great use for Veg. and people looking to save in Norway ( which is more expensive than any country we have visited).
Supermarket is just 10 minutes walk.
Polaria Museum is just about Ok... can be missed.

MUST visit is a ride in cable car / funnicular (Bus 26 from town center in direction Hungeren.)...... where the views are breathtaking. Don't forget to take wollens, as there is SNOW there even when it is the time of the MIDNIGHT Sun.

Room Tip: Pl Book a room with private bathroom....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I was upgraded to ami after having been doublebooked into abc hotell.
The price is the best in Tromsø, for what you get.
But it is a bit of a fire trap!!!
And in winter the hill up is very glått.
They try very hard...I'll come back

Room Tip: room 25 has a window that is too close to the street passing by....try a different room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AMI Hotel Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AMI Hotel Tromso

Address: Skolegata 24, Tromso 9008, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel with reasonable prices and views. Quiet neighborhood in the city center. Single, double and family rooms with shared and privat bathrooms, breakfast included. Ideal for travelers that want affordable accommodation. Cooking facilities in common kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your AMI Hotel Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ami Hotel Tromsø

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AMI Hotel Tromso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.