We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coffee by Elli - CLOSED

Coffee by Elli
Storgata 106, Tromso 9008, Norway
+(47)481 90 764
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Norwegian, Bagels, Café
Description: Good coffee and homemade cakes. Nice atmosphere. We accept orders on cakes and bakery.
Restaurant details
Description: Good coffee and homemade cakes. Nice atmosphere. We accept orders on cakes and bakery.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Service was slow, and selection is too small for my taste. On the positive side, the coffe was good, but still I left a little disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    8
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Charming little cafe with a personal touch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Popped in for a coffee and cake and was richly rewarded with the warm friendly service and atmosphere that complimented the exquisite coffee (Elli even tamped the coffee by hand - no machines in sight) and delightful homemade chocolate cake. My better half sampled a smoothie and was all smiles after.
Norwegian's have a knack with small personal cafes enthused with loving passion - this is one of their best examples - GO!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful cake and coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

i love going to elli's

The cakes are to die for and the staff could not be better. Last time we had home made cakes and muffins with hot chocolate. Was a great little pit stop whilst shopping :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Apple cake to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

What a lovely little cafe. The coffee was the nicest we had in Tromsø and the apple cake was superb. Very cosy and welcoming and lovely friendly service too!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Charming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

It was a cold and rainy day. I stepped into the warmth of this tiny little cafe and enjoyed the excellent coffee with a slice of apple cake, ensconced in the warmth and light while looking out the window into the gray skies, feeling cosy and content.
What's not to love!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coffee by Elli also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coffee by Elli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.