We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a night to remember” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marianne's Heaven on Earth Aurora Chaser Tours

Marianne's Heaven on Earth Aurora Chaser Tours
Dueveien 55, Tromso 9015, Norway
+47 97173074
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you want to see and photograph the Aurora Borealis then you have come to the right place,we have 20 years experience of aurora hunting we are now in the solar maxium 2013 ,and the sun is very active as i speak ,therefore we are looking forward to the best displays of northern lights since the last solar max in 2001,2002 but experts are predicting a solar sunami like the one in 1859 and that means aurora ,aurora ,aurora, so dont delay book us today.We are a small company with a big heart. We will do all we can and a little bit more to make your aurora hunt satisfactory.What makes us different from the rest is that it’s not just a job: it’s a passion.We can help you to set your camera for maxium quality if this is not possible by your self and show you various shooting angles, basicly we will help in every way we can for an unforgetable experience of the aurora ,(weather permitting.)even if we cannot find clear skies for viewing we will have a memorable time but remember first and formost we try to find the AURORA and we have no limits to were we travel,Finland Sweden so bring your passport,We have traveled these routes so many times we have a 91% rate out of a hundred /100 trips of finding the aurora this says it all, group size 14 max.What we supply.We supply, Warm Snow Suits ,Triopds some Remote control shutter relase cables ,Head Torch and spare batteries,some Camera batteries,Heat pads if needed for feet and hands some Gloves, Hot food cooked on an Open Fire various Hot and Cold drinks ( a wee dram )we will take an image of you under the aurora ,please ask, all the help you need with your camera ,if we can and a warm friendly atmosphere with a warm heart, come and try you'll see ,we chase the light every night.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“what a night to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

we fortunately had clear skies and having been collected at 17.30 had time to do some photography of the beautiful fjord views in the snow as the sun was setting before waiting for the Aurora which we were able to see off and on for 4 hours or so . it was less green than we'd seen on pictures - apparently the colour shows through the camera more than with the naked eye but it was amazing for all that . George and Marianne worked really hard to help us with pictures and even sent us a few of their pictures from that night after the event . A roadside BBQ and ' wee dram ' were unexpected extras . The warm clothing provided made a big difference as you're not moving a lot so really do need good insulation . They kept stopping for further sightings on the way back to Tromso so we actually got to the hotel at 3 a m .. they could not have made more effort for their customers

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    16
    4
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“OK - So we saw the lights”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Firstly let me say that we saw the lights which was, after all, the whole aim of the trip - and they were utterly amazing!! So big thanks to Marianne & George for that.

The moans:
They collected us from our hotel an hour earlier than their email said - lucky we were there. Others on the trip had been contacted and told they'd be early but we weren't.

We were all squashed (really squashed) into a small 16 seat minibus which was uncomfortable.

Marianne barely spoke, except to George, which seemed a bit odd and rather rude. We had paid good money for this trip and felt as though we were a bit of an inconvenience.

We made a few stops to see the lights during the course of the night. At the 2nd stop, after some time has passed (maybe 30-45 minutes or so) Marianne moved the minibus a bit. We all assumed we were off, so piled in. Marianne then got out leaving us a bit puzzled. A few minutes later George stuck his head in, saying he'd never had a group before who'd got bored so quickly and did we want to go back to the hotel. He was obviously angry and almost shouting. I said we'd all assumed we were heading off to the next place so had got in. He replied that Marianne was just moving the bus to provide a bit of a windbreak for us as it was so cold. So, the intention was good but the communication was appauling. None of us appreciated being spoken to like that.

Snowsuits were provided which was wonderful but we only found out, after a few hours and a lot of struggling with my husbands mobile phone which has a torch, that each snowsuit has a head torch in - it's very dark and this is predominantly a photography tour so you need light to change camera settings/batteries etc. Another lack of communication.

Food & drink was provided at around midnight - we were starving. I'd not expected much so wasn't disappointed. There were cheese sandwiches and for those who eat meat (I don't), some sausages done on an impromptu BBQ. A jaffa cake/biscuit was also given with half a cup of lukewarm hot chocolate. As I said, I hadn't expected much so wasn't disappointed but just be warned (you don't go on these trips for the food though)! The setting for the end of the evening/BBQ was amazing!! We were on a frozen pebble beach by a frozen fjord with the northern lights above - it couldn't have been better and that's what we went for!

If you go on this tour and want to take photos George will gladly help you with your camera. Make sure you have a proper SLR and not a bridge camera though. I have a new bridge camera and it wasn't man enough for the job (shutter wouldn't stay open for the 15-17 seconds required!) I didn't think it would really matter though as both George & Marianne took a photo of me & my husband. Hooray I thought, we can at least prove we were there and have a long lasting memory. George had promised to email the photos. Despite 2 reminders/requests I haven't even had a reply, let alone a photo - which is really disappointing.

To summarise: If the lights are around to be seen, they will make sure you see them (which is the whole point of the trip). Don't expect chattiness or communication as you won't get it. Be prepared to be hungry until midnight (trip started at 5.30 so we'd not had dinner & it's a long time to wait!) and be prepared to be up very late. We got back to the hotel at 04.30.

Would I go on a trip with these guys again - yes. But I'll be forewarned and know what to expect!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Marianne delivered on the promise to see the aurora if it was out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Marianne clearly had experience of where to look. We were picked up at our hotel earlier than other tours (17.45) and drove for a couple of hours as it was cloudy. We stopped off when we saws first glimpse of the aurora and experienced a 90min show with different shapes and colours and dancing. It was -16 but Marianne supplied snow suits so we were fine. Others that night did not have as good a viewing. I would strongly recommend Marianne as the whole purpose of going is to see the lights and she came up trumps for us on our first night chasing. A great experience and we have the proof with a photo that Marianne took of us with the Aurora as a background and emailed to us.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic memorable Northern lights chase!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We came to Tromso last year and, not knowing what to do, we booked various trips out to see the Northern lights with a couple of tours on a coach - these were very disappointing as when the aurora started one evening, we were not allowed to photograph it as we had to get back in the coach and go back to the hotel! So this year I did a little reasearch and found the Heaven on Earth Aurora Chaser tours! We booked with Marianne on three dates early March 2013 and on the first night it was snowing a blizzard! We drove for two and a half hours and Marianne kept reassuring us that we would get to see the Aurora - and boy! did she show us!
On the second evening, knowing what to expect, we again, were not disappointed! We were taken to a very nice place at the side of a Fjord and we set up our cameras. We finally left that spot at 2am as the display was spectacular with a large corona display overhead that lasted nearly an hour!
Marianne is an absolutely amazing lady as her passion is so real and strong for these lights, she is driven to give her passengers an incredible experience every time she goes out in her minibus!
I would thoroughly recommend this tour way and above any other in Tromso!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We went out with Marianne and George for two nights in January and on both days the sky was really cloudy and it was snowing heavily - I thought we had zero chance of seeing aurora.
But Marianne and George drove for hours to find a gap in the clouds, liaising with weather stations all the time, and on both nights they managed to find a place with clear skies, allowing us to see the lights. They were determined not to give up until everyone had seen them.
Other trips going out of Tromso were cheaper, but from talking to people who had taken them and not seen the lights it was obvious they hadn't shown the same determination, and didn't have the experience and knowledge of Marianne and George.
Anyone booking this trip should realise there are no guarantees for a natural phenomenon like this, but my experience was that you have the best chance with people who know what they're doing, and really want you to see them. Plus Marianne and George were so friendly and funny that it was great fun driving around with them.
Be prepared for a long trip - we were out for about 8 hours - and few toilet opportunities. They stop at petrol stations where possible, but the rest of the time you're out in the wild. They supplied us with cold weather suits to go over our clothes, which kept us really warm, plus hot drinks and a lovely campfire and hot food (and George's magic potion).
Overall, a really amazing experience which I will always remember. Thank you Marianne and George!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marianne's Heaven on Earth Aurora Chaser Tours also viewed

 

Been to Marianne's Heaven on Earth Aurora Chaser Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marianne's Heaven on Earth Aurora Chaser Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.