We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Home Sleep

Save Saved
You added Home Sleep to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Home Sleep
Nansenveien 32, Tromso 9007, Norway   |  
Ranked #2 of 3 Tromso B&B and Inns
Venlo, The Netherlands
1 review
“Very nice and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Hi Samuel!!

Our stay at your "Home Sleep" was the highlight to our trip.
We had a great time, and your place is very nice. Really enjoyed ourselves.
And we felt at home, straight away, you are such a nice and heartwarming person!
See you soon!!

Arjan and Suzan from NL!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
2
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a house Guri and Samuel purchased some years back which is let out to tourists. Rooms are nice and furnished. The house is maintained well. They have a map on the wall where Sam attaches the pins to mark people from various countries visiting his place, which was quite full and understandably so. Our room was little small for two people. It has a big kitchen and dining area where one can make their own food. Bathrooms have heated floors and has washing machine.

Free Wi-Fi, maps, DVD's books are readily available.

Samuel is very humble and friendly person with lots of information about Tromso to share.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a twin bed, try to get the bigger room which has an outlet to the balcony. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Do you want to feel like you are staying with family or friends when you visit Tromso, Norway?

If so, I would highly recommend Home Sleep operated by Guri & Samuel Estdahl.

With most regular hotel starting at a rate of K$750 per night for single occupancy, I quickly booked Home Sleep online when I saw it was offering the same type accommodations for K$495 per night.

About a week prior to my booked date I received an email from Home Sleep concerning my flight arrival information as they do not have a traditional hotel front desk.

As it turns out, I decided to head to Tromso a day earlier and gave Home Sleep a call on the afternoon of my new arrival date. No problem for Samuel as my room is already prepared and he is picking up another guest that happens to be on my flight.

I am not sure how many locations Home Sleep has but the apartment I am staying at is located in a safe and quiet neighbor with a bus stop just a few feet away. This provides easy access into the city centre or it is about a twenty minute walk downhill into town.

Bedrooms are simply furnished and the apartment has a common kitchen, living room and bathroom that has a washing machine and heated floor.

Free Wi-Fi, maps and local happenings publications are readily available.

Samuel is the most gracious of host. I think Home Sleep is deserving of your business if this is the type of accommodation that might suit you.

I can promise you that it will be a great part of your experience while visiting wonderful Tromso.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is not typically a hotel. This is more of a home stay (though the owners don't stay at the place) where you would have to share the place with others. Nice comfy rooms, all amenities provided. Guri and Samuel have maintained this place quite nicely. What I liked the most about this place is the hospitality from the owners. I reached at 11pm on a snowing day and was received very warmly by Samuel, who then spent a good half an hour with me guiding me on how best to view the lights. A 20 min walk to the city centre. No breakfast included, but you can make your own. Thumbs up.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Home Sleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Sleep

Address: Nansenveien 32, Tromso 9007, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Home Sleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home Sleep, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.