We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Home Sleep

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tromso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Home Sleep
Save
You added Home Sleep to your Saves list
Nansenveien 32, Tromso 9007, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Tromso B&B and Inns
Venlo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1 review
“Very nice and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Hi Samuel!!

Our stay at your "Home Sleep" was the highlight to our trip.
We had a great time, and your place is very nice. Really enjoyed ourselves.
And we felt at home, straight away, you are such a nice and heartwarming person!
See you soon!!

Arjan and Suzan from NL!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arjan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
191 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a house Guri and Samuel purchased some years back which is let out to tourists. Rooms are nice and furnished. The house is maintained well. They have a map on the wall where Sam attaches the pins to mark people from various countries visiting his place, which was quite full and understandably so. Our room was little small for two people. It has a big kitchen and dining area where one can make their own food. Bathrooms have heated floors and has washing machine.

Free Wi-Fi, maps, DVD's books are readily available.

Samuel is very humble and friendly person with lots of information about Tromso to share.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a twin bed, try to get the bigger room which has an outlet to the balcony. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wizganesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
488 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Do you want to feel like you are staying with family or friends when you visit Tromso, Norway?

If so, I would highly recommend Home Sleep operated by Guri & Samuel Estdahl.

With most regular hotel starting at a rate of K$750 per night for single occupancy, I quickly booked Home Sleep online when I saw it was offering the same type accommodations for K$495 per night.

About a week prior to my booked date I received an email from Home Sleep concerning my flight arrival information as they do not have a traditional hotel front desk.

As it turns out, I decided to head to Tromso a day earlier and gave Home Sleep a call on the afternoon of my new arrival date. No problem for Samuel as my room is already prepared and he is picking up another guest that happens to be on my flight.

I am not sure how many locations Home Sleep has but the apartment I am staying at is located in a safe and quiet neighbor with a bus stop just a few feet away. This provides easy access into the city centre or it is about a twenty minute walk downhill into town.

Bedrooms are simply furnished and the apartment has a common kitchen, living room and bathroom that has a washing machine and heated floor.

Free Wi-Fi, maps and local happenings publications are readily available.

Samuel is the most gracious of host. I think Home Sleep is deserving of your business if this is the type of accommodation that might suit you.

I can promise you that it will be a great part of your experience while visiting wonderful Tromso.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is not typically a hotel. This is more of a home stay (though the owners don't stay at the place) where you would have to share the place with others. Nice comfy rooms, all amenities provided. Guri and Samuel have maintained this place quite nicely. What I liked the most about this place is the hospitality from the owners. I reached at 11pm on a snowing day and was received very warmly by Samuel, who then spent a good half an hour with me guiding me on how best to view the lights. A 20 min walk to the city centre. No breakfast included, but you can make your own. Thumbs up.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LifeLongTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
1.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.9 mi away
ABC Hotell
ABC Hotell
#16 of 19 in Tromso
3.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
AMI Hotel Tromso
AMI Hotel Tromso
#10 of 19 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
0.9 mi away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#9 of 19 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
1.2 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#7 of 19 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Sleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Sleep

Address: Nansenveien 32, Tromso 9007, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tromso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing