We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only think about going if it is raining and you have children...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Polaria

Polaria
Hjalmar Johansens gate 12, Tromso 9007, Norway
+47 77 75 01 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 24 Attractions in Tromso
Type: Science Museums, Zoos & Aquariums
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Nightlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An Arctic-themed experience centre with the films In the Land of the Northern Lights and  Spitsbergen - Arctic Wildeness on five screens, an arctic walkway, arctic themed exhibitions and aquariums of fish and bearded seals from Spitsbergen. Open 365 days a year.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Only think about going if it is raining and you have children...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Otherwise spend your time and money at the Polar museum - Polaris is very poor overall - film ok, displays v poor quality and limited and housing for the seals small and depressing.

The seals are beautiful - but much more beautiful living in the sea.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    234
    166
    47
    18
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Seal for sale”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The Polaria in Tromso is quite a fun place to visit. The star draw, indeed only real draw for me, were the seals. They were very entertaining to watch. The odd thing about the Polaria was that it seemed to promote protecting the marine environment, its creatures and plants, even speaking against deepsea oil exploration,  yet its gift shop sold clothes made from seal fur/skin which was disturbing and seemed hypocritical. It's like going to a zoo whose star attraction were pandas and and having them sell panda fur rugs! That's the main reason for the overall terrible rating.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

What a wonderful attraction. We were expecting to visit for little over an hour or so, since that is the time that you have allotted to you should you go on an organised trip, with the cruise company. But we decided to go on our own and stayed for well over two hours and enjoyed every minute of it. We particularly enjoyed the film of Spitsbergen, as we had just visited there.
The entrance fee was very reasonable and we had a discount for seniors.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great film shown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Our visit there was part of a trip organised by Thomson Cruises. I have to say I enjoyed the panoramic film shown the most. It really makes you feel you are flying over the country. Walked around and were given a brief about the fish and were able to get some pictures of the seals. We were there early in the morning, so only our tour was there. The gift shop seemed to stock better quality gifts, but as our tour had to head elsewhere I did not get any time to browse .

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Really great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Enjoyed it, especially with the kids. They have a giant screen movie about the Northern Lights that I would recommend as also the show with the seals. A bit pricey but then so is everything in Norway

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polaria also viewed

 

Been to Polaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.