We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a great little town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amalie Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Amalie Hotel to your Saves list
Amalie Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sjogata 5B | Postboks 14, Tromso 9251, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Tromso
Bath
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a great little town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

I stayed with a group of friends in November. Rooms were small but comfortable and staff vety helpful. Highlight was free do it yourself waffles in late afternoon which was a unique experience. Location is excellent just between high st and the harbour.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Tromso's weather was not so kind but our accommodation was fabulous, location fabulous right by the tourist information office and bus station. Our room was cosy and warm and very welcome after travelling from Svalbard inot a very cold afternoon. The hotel was very comfortable and the included breakfast was amazing, everything you think of

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yanya14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We were on the Hurtigruten Ship that docked very late at night into Tromso. Was delighted to find the Amalie hotel that was so close by and convenient for us to check-into after midnight.
We literally fell off of the boat and into the room! The breakfast had a good selection and everyone in the hotel was helpful and pleasant. We were then also able to get the bus back to Tromso airport the following morning from beside the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zumayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

It's true - the hotel is slightly dated, but the location is fantastic. Walking distance to anything in the city centre, and right across the street from the departure point for various tours. The rooms were clean and served our needs, and the staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet offered a good variety and we really appreciated the coffee and waffles in the afternoon! The only drawback is the lack of hotel parking. There are some short-term street parking spots right outside, but otherwise you'll need to drop off your stuff and be prepared to walk a bit. Minor quibble - overall we were extremely pleased with the Amalie!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolinaGrl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
109 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed here in room 307 (twin room) in February 2014. We had a wonderful visit in Tromso and enjoyed this hotel very much. There was a lift to get you to your room if you had much luggage. Our room had two twin beds that were each quite comfortable. There was a tea kettle, TV, minifridge, iron and desk. The room was not large, but did not feel small to us. We had plenty of room for two large suitcases. The bathroom was small but had a spacious shower. There was not much counter space in the bathroom which was a minor flaw to us (as female friends in their 20s traveling together). They did provide shampoo, towels, etc. The rooms had plenty of outlets to charge cameras, phones, etc. The heaters worked very well and there was plenty of hot water. They provide a wifi password on check in. The wifi was our biggest complaint as it was often not working (and it was not over the amount of time the password was good for).

The location was very good. We walked to the tourist office (2-3 blocks away) one day to get information on taking the cable car. Amalie Hotel is also close to where many tours depart. It was a 5 minute walk to the bus 26 stop to go to the cable car. It was 70 NOK from the airport on flybussen bus. We had to take a cab to the airport as the bus was not running that early and it was 220 NOK from the hotel to the airport around 5am.

Overall we enjoyed the hotel. Staff were polite though not overly friendly. I would stay again in the future.

Breakfast was included and was very good. We enjoyed the food and also enjoyed saving money on one of our daily meals. They also provide tea/water all day, and waffles in the afternoon (1300-1730). The waffles were a nice afternoon snack.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MeliQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed with my husband for 3 nights and it was a pleasant stay. The hotel is perfectly located in Tromso's city centre and most of the tours (northern lights, dog sledding, etc) depart from the information centre just across the road or from one of the hotels around the corner.
The hotel is simple but everything is clean. Our room was really small and we had a hard time trying to accommodate 2 big bags - eventually we had to move some furniture but even then it was difficult to walk in the room. But we barely stayed in the hotel, so it was fine.
Breakfast was simple but not bad. And they offer coffee/tea and waffles in the afternoon, which is really nice.
Staff was always helpful and friendly.
We would certainly stay here again if we ever return to Tromso.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertaWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I´ve stayed here several times (working travels). Staff is very friendly and location is great. But it is an old fashion hotel, cosy but not very stylish. Breakfast is not particularly extravagant. There´s no gym. It´s also not that cheap. A typical 3 star hotel. Walls are also not very sound proof.

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre nor restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DameCa35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Clarion Hotel The Edge
#4 of 19 in Tromso
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#6 of 19 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#11 of 19 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalie Hotel

Address: Sjogata 5B | Postboks 14, Tromso 9251, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Amalie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing