We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Little Gem in the Heart of Tromso” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amalie Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Amalie Hotel to your Saves list
Amalie Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sjogata 5B | Postboks 14, Tromso 9251, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Little Gem in the Heart of Tromso”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

When we decided to book to go Tromso we were aware of the price for tourists out there so wanted to try and save as much as we could so we could do as much activities as we could. We would have usually splashed out on a much more highly regarded hotel which would have put an extra £250 on what we spent for the Amalie .... How lucky we didn’t as the Amalie did what it said on the tin and then some.

We'd had a delay of a few hours at Gatwick so were late by a good 3/4 hours when we arrived. The staff could not be more warm and greeting when we stepped through the door. They immediately checked us in whilst asking if we wanted a coffee or something to eat (I’ll touch on that in a bit) after what seemed like seconds, I was being handed my key a nice hot cup of coffee and shown to my room. Even when I asked if there was anything I needed to sign or to sort out payment it was replied with 'it’s fine we can deal with that later, you've had a delayed trip, let’s get you settled first' that was so appreciated when you've been delayed and just want to jump in the shower and get out there and see Tromso.

The rooms were more than adequate. You read on here that the rooms are a little small. Yes maybe but not to the extent that it’s a problem. 2 comfortable beds, desk, ample space for storage, a TV, tea and coffee facilities, everything you need. The shower room is just that, a decent sized shower, basin and toilet. Clean, hot water and even the luxury of heated flooring. Top that off with decent Wifi (I could stream Lovefilm and NetFlix no problem) I was extremely pleased with the room. I have booked hotels all over the place with the same 'star' rating and believe me this one certainly adds an extra 'invisible star' so please don’t be put off like some.

If you are not a soft bed' type person then you may be weary. The beds are ultra-soft and I’m someone who like a firm bed but It still was comfortable sleeping in the bed. Yes it swallows you up a little and the pillows personally were a little too soft for my liking but after walking out in the temperatures of Tromso, its actually quite nice being cuddled by the bed when you collapse into it.

For cleanliness the Hotel went above and beyond. Spotless throughout. Inside the room and in the communal areas. There was always a maid walking around I noticed, at all times.

Location wise its perfect. It’s practically on the harbour Close to everything needed, a supermarket round the corner, a lovely Italian next door and 2 mins walk from the flybus stop. Perfect.

The restaurant again was above expectations. A decent spread for breakfast with warm and cold choices. Eggs, Bacon, Cheeses, Hams, Pastries - The lot. Feed yourself up at breakfast as the prices to eat out are a little scary. Another HUGE bonus is after breakfast is packed away, complimentary coffee comes out and make your own waffles. Definitely a bonus when you consider how much it is to eat out.

We found the Amalie to be one of the cheaper options of hotels in the area so you're in for a bargain when you book. Overall I can’t fault the Amalie. Excellent staff who are there to help whatever you need. Excursions, Hire Car, Restaurant Recommendations nothing is too much for the staff there. I even got talking to one of the kitchen staff who pointed me in the direction to see the Northern Lights in the evening and her advice was spot on.

Enjoy the hotel, the staff and most of all enjoy the awesome city of Tromso. I’m so going back.

Room Tip: Feed yourself silly at breakfast so you can skip lunch as the prices to eat out are a little scary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    49
    17
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
57
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

This is a small hotel, centrally-located to everything you need in Tromso and I would recommend it highly to anyone looking for a warm, clean, comfortable, friendly place to stay. Staff are outstanding, breakfasts are absolutely fantastic and the rooms have everything you need. It is honestly one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in, but without the fanfare of many others.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at Amalie Hotel in early February. We found it well located, and within easy walk of everywhere.
The bedroom was on the small side, but clean and cosy. The beds were very comfortable. The wooden bedroom floor was most welcome, as given the wet and snow, bedroom carpets could quickly become grubby and unpleasant.
The hotel staff were polite, and very helpful.
Frode at reception, was especially helpful with our queries concerning car hire and local parking.
The buffet breakfast, was simple, but an adequate selection.
If travelling to Tromso again, would we stay in Amalie? I see no reason not to!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

A mention goes out for the amazing friendly staff they have at this hotel. They really make this place memorable. This is a clean, cozy, good value and simple hotel

We arrived easily on the Airport Express Coach (200 NOK p/p return) from the Tromso airport. The stop is at the tourist information office (2nd stop).

The only downside if I was forced to name one is that there isnt much of a view out of the room, most likely be blocked by a building 50% of the time. The Rica Ishavshotel Tromso, should have the best view of all hotels in Tromso if thats what you are really going for. We had a room on the 3rd Floor facing the harbour/ cablecar side, office buildings and also the Huntingdon Ferry if it was docked.

Rooms are basic, comfortable and well heated throughout our stay with temperature controlled washroom (it was no warmer than -5 during our stay). The size was also above average. Shower was very good. The beds are soft, so take note for those with bad backs.

Location is next to the Radisson Blu (3 mins) and next to the Tourist Info office and the supermarket and restaurants is within 10 mins walking distance.

Try the Aurora restaurant (right of the hotel across the road) for dinner (before 7pm for the daily dinner menu as it is a good deal).

We used the free waffle and coffee/tea facilities in 2 of the 4 nights of our stay, playing card games and reading books, so the environment is bright comfy and quiet.

When you consider eating out in Norway being so expensive, the free breakfast is amazing, offering a nice, tasty quality selection of food. When we checked out early at 5am, they even packed us breakfast to go !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Our party of 3 stayed for 3 nights in February 2014 and booked two rooms. The hotel is very clean and in a great location, the rooms are comfortable with great beds, good showers, tea/coffee facilities, fridges, and an excellent good breakfast buffet. We stayed in rooms 203 & 204 which are just above the restaurant. We heard every chair being scraped across the floor and tables being laid (not great soundproofing clearly!). Our TV did not work throughout our stay and when we called the front desk we got an apathetic response of "Sorry the TV system is not working", no further information was given and it seemed they weren't bothered about fixing it. We arrived on Saturday afternoon and did not get our room serviced until Monday afternoon ! When we asked for this to be done the front desk clerk seemed surprised and asked us if we'd left a "privacy" sign on our door, yes we had when we returned at 5pm ! but we would have expected it to have been cleaned by then ! It seems their focus is to sell you more stuff, like lunchpacks, or soups, or snacks via a hideous display cabinet on the front desk. The ubiquitious posters and leaflets selling all sorts of Tours/Attractions make the lobby look messy and downmarket. There is no enthusiasm or customer care from the front deak staff, they process you and when you mention something that is wrong there is a deadpan expression and lack of response. An ok hotel that is value for money but lacking is hospitality.

Room Tip: Avoid the 2nd floor, you hear everything from the lobby !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Norway is expensive, but staying at Amalie was the best value we found in over 3 weeks travelling around the country!

To begin with it's well located. You can hop on a local bus from the airport and the stop is less than 50 metres from Amalie, which was great as the streets were covered in snow and ice. Catching the local bus is also a very cost effective way to travel. If you arrive or leave on the Hurtigruten, the wharf is just around the corner.

The rooms are cosy, the beds were comfortable and everything was spotlessly clean. This isn't a flash place to stay but if you're looking for value, comfort, warmth and a good location, then Amalie is for you.

The breakfast has good variety and the afternoon waffles were fantastic each day! Great to come home, warm up and enjoy waffles with a hot drink.

The local bus is a great way to get around, you can buy tickets just around the corner from Amalie. We bought a multiple day pass and spent some time just doing loops on the bus to see some of the outer areas of Tromso.

If we ever return to Tromso, we wouldn't stay anywhere else! Remember to book early!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights from 5Dec 2013. Lovely little hotel with very friendly staff and a cozy feel.

Good selection for breakfast. Waffles at 1:30pm - 5pm and free coffee/tea all day, Remember to put only a small amount of the batter in the waffle machine so it doesnt spill out when you cover it. Soup and bread/eggs for NOK35 from Mon-Thur.

The prices at the restaurants are horribly expensive so we were relieved to find that the Aurora restaurant (just across the street on Amalie's right) which I think is part of Radisson Blu served mains at NOK195 including coffee provided you have dinner before 7pm. They change the mains everyday - we had their tasty300gm pepper steak which was served on friday - very flavorful and substantial with vegs and potatoes.

The rooms are very cozy and was comfortable for us. However, those with 2 large suitcases & more may find it a tad tiny.

Take a look at their notice board - we were thrilled to know there was a concert at the Domkirke cathedral which we could attend. They were having Bach's oratorio and we bought the tickets at the city hall building (where there is a cinema). Thoroughly enjoyed the chorale and music esp with the wintry weather to put us in a christmassy mood,

Very glad we picked this hotel because we liked the ambience and the friendly staff. The location is excellent and convenient.

We asked the reception to book us a taxi the day before our departure to Tromso airport,, The cab came promptly on sunday for 7.45am and it cost us NOK290 (3 px + one last minute guest who took a ride with us). We arrived at the airport 1hr 15mins before our norwegian domestic flight to Oslo. Its a Self check in and bag drop so do give yourself ample time to also go through customs. As it was one of the first morning flights on a sunday, the place was rather quiet.

We will stay here again should we ever return to tromso,

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amalie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalie Hotel

Address: Sjogata 5B | Postboks 14, Tromso 9251, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amalie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amalie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.