We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Polar Museum (Polarmuseet)

The Polar Museum (Polarmuseet)
Sondre Tollbugt. 11 | Postboks 900, Tromso 9259, Norway
77 68 43 73
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 56 things to do in Tromso
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Nightlife
Attraction details
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great little museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Really enjoyed it. You're not likely to be in tromso for more than a day, so should be visited. Get a real insight into how the seal trappers lived, and the history of the area. Worthwhile

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    307
    90
    16
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Enjoyable, well the bits we could understand.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

We popped into the museum when we had some spare time, it was about £5 to get in and that included the loan of an English translation of the guidebook. The exhibit charts the incursion of people into Norway, seal and polar bear hunting and a lot on Admunsen. As previous contributors have said a lot of the captioning is in Norwegian and a little bit in English, but to be fair it is in Norway and I don't see a lot of translations into other languages in the UK. In any case the guide book, which was loaned free, provides ample guidance on what you are looking at. It passed about an hour and was genuinely interesting. I probably wouldn't go back but I could say the same thing about most museums. I would however recommend others popping in if they felt so inclined.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tervuren
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Excellent museum if you want to know more about Roald Amundsen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This is a very interesting museum. I leanred so much about Roald Amundsen. He must have been a brave men, so sad he died trying to rescue other people. A must see when in Tromso.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“non-English friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Everything was in Norwegian: explanations, captions etc....
Not English-speaking friendly. The exhibits looked interesting but we cant make head or tail when 90% is in Norwegian.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Small museum and worth the NOK 50 entrance fee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

A small museum on the harbour at Tromsø. The museum contains exhibits of Norwegian expeditions to the North Pole and examples of Sami life. Small admission fee (equivalent to £5) and worth a visit if you want to pass away a couple of hours.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Polar Museum (Polarmuseet) also viewed

 

Been to The Polar Museum (Polarmuseet)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Polar Museum (Polarmuseet), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.