We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay a bit extra and stay somewhere else” 2 of 5 stars
Review of ABC Hotell

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added ABC Hotell to your Saves list
ABC Hotell
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parkgata 4, Tromso 9008, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pay a bit extra and stay somewhere else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Other reviews have questioned whether this is an hotel or hostel and that is a big part of the problem right there. Which is it? Neither is my answer. It doesn't really have the facilities of a hotel and it lacks the stuff that makes hostels work. The lobby is really shabby and doesn't make for a good impression. In my room, a single, I had to put up with a really noisy mini fridge that woke me up whenever it changed tune. There was mould in the shower, that's enough said about cleanliness I think. The whole place felt dreary and as though everything had been done on the cheap. The curtains didn't even cover the window properly and this time of year it's quite light outside in the north. The door to the room wasn't properly fitted so the light from the hallway beamed in. Even the sheet didn't fit, there wasn't enough of it to be tucked in, so after a nights sleep it was tugged up enough that I could see some stains on the mattress, ugh. Whoever is behind it is counting pennies I think. Don't rely on the wifi, it rarely worked in my room on the third floor, but usually worked in the communal room. The positive to this place is the staff, they were excellent, really helpful and friendly. Given my time again, I would pay a bit more to stay somewhere else. Oh, apparently it's 100 NOK to use the washing machine, so I didn't.

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    41
    22
    5
    7
See reviews for
7
38
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

I had a fab 10 days in The ABC hotel at the start of March. For the money it was everything I wanted and more. The staff were amazingly helpful and friendly, I had fresh towels everyday and a great free wifi connection from my room. My bed was comfy although quite narrow and I saved lots of money from being able to cook meals in the kitchen.

The free waffles and jam were a lovely bonus that I wasn't expecting as well!

10/10

Room Tip: The best wifi connection is on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

My wife and I had an excellent stay at this property. Upon check-in, Simon at the front desk informed us we'd been upgraded to an apartment (we'd only booked a double room with shared bathroom). This alone was music to our ears, and the apartment had two bedrooms, a kitchen, bathroom, front hall, and living room with view out towards the Arctic Cathedral and flat screen TV.

The location was perfect - a 5-minute walk to almost anywhere in downtown Tromsø, and a grocery store right around the corner (much cheaper, in Norway, to buy groceries than to eat out). We stocked our fridge and made ourselves at home. The heat worked great - almost drove us out! And the bedding was warm even if the mattresses were a little stiff. Water was hot and pressure was strong - one strange thing we noticed is that the tiny window in the bathroom had no shade or curtain, but whatever - we improvised. One other caveat: walls were thin and we could hear our upstairs neighbors, who were a little rowdy.

The free waffles in the evening were delicious and helped us save on food costs, and were also good for socializing with other travelers. The breakfast spread has some mainland staples like cereals and jam and bread, but also some "caviar" and a very strong cheese, as well as sliced bell peppers. I highly recommend including the breakfast in your room rate as it's a much better price than anything you could get elsewhere, and at such an early hour.

Front desk staff were competent, friendly, and helped us out with directions and excursion bookings, and basically saw to it that our every need was met and that we had a great time. Would recommend wholeheartedly and would 100% return.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the apartment, but be aware the walls were thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

Stayed for 3 nights in this very clean and friendly hotel.

Reception staff were very helpful in pointing out places to visit and things do to. They even gave me a lift down to a sister hotel in the centre of town when needed.

The room was clean and spacious considering the price. Shared shower room was also impeccably clean and delightfully toasty after a long evening aurora watching. Free waffles were a welcome boost before starting such an evening.

Would highly recommend this hotel for the price.

From a very happy costumer

Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

This small hotel is in a great location in Tromso, very close to the centre and all the shops. Its warm and pleasant and the staff were very friendly while we were there. We had a double room with an ensuite and it was clean, warm and had everything you would need; the shower was good, the bed was very comfortable and it had a desk and a mini-fridge which guests can use.
We didn't buy the breakfast but the hotel allows you to use the kitchen through the day and it was well equipped. They also do free waffles every evening and have coffee and tea available. The wifi in most of the rooms is quite weak but in the guest dining room/lounge area it's fine. Its up on a hill so you have reasonable views out over the water and we found it very easy to spot the Northern Lights from a lake just above where the hotel is (about 15mins walk). Definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simen S, Front Desk at ABC Hotell, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Catherine H,

thank you so much for your review. Warms our hearts when we get such nice feedback. We have improved the wifi now, so if you ever consider coming back (Tromsø is a totally different city during summer by the way) we have improved just a bit more then last time :-)

Best regards

Simen
ABC Hotell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

I am writing this review from my room at ABC during the first night of a 4 night stay. I booked a hotel room with 3 single beds, but upon arrival we were placed in a small studio that reeks of cigarette smoke--not as though someone smoked in there last night, but as though someone had been chain-smoking in there for the past 20 years. It is like trying to sleep in a casino. It is beyond disgusting. What is more, we ourselves (all non-smokers) were asked to sign a document stating that we would not smoke when we signed in.The hotel has promised to move us to a different room tomorrow night, but this is quite simply unacceptable. My eyes are burning and I can hardly breathe. The smoke smell is in the sheets, in the mattress, in the pillows, in the walls. I am more than satisfied with basic accomodations without extras, and we could deal with the room if it did not smell of smoke. As it is, however, the management should be ashamed of itself.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simen S, Front Desk at ABC Hotell, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Babs M,

thank you for your feedback. This is something that shouldnt happen of course. Clearly the guest before you had broken this rule. We apologize for the bad experience, and will use this feedback to improve.

Have a good day!

Simen
ABC Hotell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

We spent quite some time locating this hotel by car and finally managed to drive along a narrow path up on the hill to the hotel. Walkable distance to convenient stores and supermarkets. After all, the city centre is small. We stayed in a small room, with really nice view overlooking the whole of Tromso. However, wifi connection in the room was not good. Breakfast was just okay but it's no doubt a nice place to stay. Our car was just parked next to the front door of the hotel. I think there are a total of 6 parking lots for hotel guests so no worries about nowhere to park your car.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simen S, Front Desk at ABC Hotell, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Tangbili!

Thank you for your nice review. Glad you found the hotel in the end, the roads of Tromsø are not very orderly. Thanks to your feedback we have managed to stabilize the network now. It is correct that we have 6 parking spots, and are propably listed as one of the cheapest in the city per night.
If you come back we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Have a nice day!

Simen
ABC Hotell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to ABC Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABC Hotell

Address: Parkgata 4, Tromso 9008, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ABC Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABC Hotel is a travelers' hotel with rooms with private or shared bathrooms, single, double and triple rooms. As well as studio and three bedroom apartments. Central location in a quiet side street. Ideal for travelers seeking budget accommodation. Free cooking and washing facilities. Wifi is included, and all rooms have a TV and fridge. Breakfast - 75NOK Parking - 95NOK ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your ABC Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abc Hotell Nord As Tromsø

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ABC Hotell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.