We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good located, very clean, budget hotel in Tromsø” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ABC Hotell

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added ABC Hotell to your Saves list
ABC Hotell
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parkgata 4, Tromso 9008, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Burfjord, Troms, Norway
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good located, very clean, budget hotel in Tromsø”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Affordable ABC Hotel Nord has very friendly and helpful staff, but no staff at night. Parking available for a small fee, common kitchen, fridge in your room, 2 min walk to city center. I'll be back. PS.: Not too happy about the mattress.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simen S, Public Relations Manager at ABC Hotell, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Hello Berit!

Thank you for your kind review, I have noted the room you stayed in and we have changed the overmatress, if this is what you meant.

Have a great day!

Best regards

Simen
ABC Hotell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    38
    18
    4
    6
See reviews for
7
29
14
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Fantastic views from hotel room and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room had everything I needed. Located within walking distance from the town and attractions such as the Polar Museum, Arctic Cathedral and the cable cars. Would highly recommend the ABC Hotell for anyone planning on visiting Tromso.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simen S, Public Relations Manager at ABC Hotell, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Hello Benjamin!

Thank you so much for your review, it warmed our hearts.

Have a great day!

Best regards

Simen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This place is something between a hostel and a hotel. It has common kitchen, shared bathroom, hostel breakfast and private rooms with a sink. It is very clean and comfy. Good option for someone tired and can afford a hundred dollar budget.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simen S, Public Relations Manager at ABC Hotell, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Hello seawide,

thank you so much for your review. Yes we strive to be the best option in Tromsø for budget travelers, so if you ever come back and find someone with a offer better then ours, let us know and we will match it!

Have a nice day!

Best regards

Simen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I would have given this place 5 stars if it were not for the discovery of bed bugs in our room.

We walked to the hotel from the airport, which took about an hour and was quite hilly. It would have been very easy to take a bus, but we chose to walk because check-in was not available until 3pm, but also because it was nice and sunny with an incredible view.

The staff were incredibly friendly, chatty, and helpful from the minute we walked in the door. The cheerful woman who checked us in happily gave us a local map and pointed out the nearest grocery stores, where to get bus passes, and other useful things. She also gave us little slips with a code to get in the building after hours and info about the wifi, which worked smoothly with no problems in both our room and the lobby.

Our room was nice - plain and simple with a sink, fridge, TV, chair, and two twin beds (although we were hoping for a double). We opted for a cheaper room without a private bathroom, which was definitely worth the savings. The shower and toilet are separate, so there were no problems with waiting. I think we only had to wait once for the toilet (never the shower), but if it was ever an issue we could have run down to the restroom one floor below.

The main reasons we chose this hotel were the wifi (worked great) and the kitchen. The kitchen was spacious and well-stocked, and while it allowed us to make our own meals, note that you may have to wait for a pot or pan on occasion. It was open for use 11am-11pm. There is free coffee and tea as well during the daytime.

On our last night there, we were up quite late, lounging on the beds and checking emails, etc., when we horrifyingly discovered a few bugs crawling across the sheets. A quick google search confirmed that they were bed bugs -- a traveler's worst nightmare. Not only did we have bugs in our room, but we found out that it was impossible to contact anyone because the front desk is not staffed at night, and there was not even a single phone number or email address left in case of problems or emergencies. So, we were forced to sleep in the infested beds and wait it out until the morning. Thankfully, neither of us were bitten, but uh, it's really hard to sleep when you know there are tiny bugs near you that want to suck your blood.

We were truly disappointed, not just for the obvious reasons with the bugs, but we really really wanted to love this place. In all other regards, it was the perfect cross between a hotel and hostel -- clean, friendly, utilitarian, and cheap. However, there is never ever an excuse for pests or bugs, and the awful anxiety coming home and trying not to bring them with you.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simsam93, Public Relations Manager at ABC Hotell, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Katie,
I remember very vell this incident, I was the one checking you out. Never do we want guest to have to experience such a thing. Bed bugs is a hotels worst nightmare, having guests that travel all around the world staying here, they sometimes bring with them this.
We have a standard procedure when these situation occurs. Luckily we don’t have to go through them so much. As far as the telephone we have one located outside the main door where you can call the staff. We understood from this situation that this was not well enough informed so we have now set up posters informing about this when we leave for the day.
Other then that it is good to see that you enjoyed our hotel, and it is a real shame that this happened and ruined your stay. But good to hear that you wasn't bitten!
Best regards
Simen
ABC Hotell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

One of the cheapest hotels in the expansive Tromso. Position is great, staff friendly and helpful and wifi always working fast.
Rooms are very basic but spacious, bathrooms look new and are functional.
There is also a kitchen available from 11am to 11pm, very useful to cook a meal and save some money.
Downside; sheets didnt appear very clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We arrived at 11PM after flying from Spain. We had booked for a double room and the guy in the reception gave us a single room, pretending it was double. He kept on saying it was double, but there were only one single bed: it was big but clearly SINGLE, with only ONE set of blankets. Finally, the boy gave to us a triple room. I guess they had run out of double room and he tried to fool us. Next morning, no hot water. Unbelievable. Another employee told me to go to the second floor, but it was a loss of time. I checked other days and at 12 AM they had already run out of hot water. Also, very important, to get to the hotel, the streets do a slope, very hard to walk if the snow becomes ice. I would’ve spent more money in booking for a hotel closer to the main street or buying special complements for the boots. It is only 4 streets up, but the last one is a nightmare. Another thing: don’t expect to go inside the hotel and feel the warm air. It’s quite cold in the common places and in the rooms. And we didn’t have wifi in the room, the signal was very low. Good things? Cleanliness, confortable. But I have to say that it is not a hotel, it is a hostel or B&B.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This was a brilliant hotel to stay in for a few weeks. The staff are amazing, very friendly and helpful. They allowed us to use the washing machine and dryer free for doing our clothes. They had a fully stocked kitchen that was kept clean and unlimited free coffee. The rooms had a fridge and was very warm and clean. Not sure I would critisise anything, we really enjoyed it here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to ABC Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABC Hotell

Address: Parkgata 4, Tromso 9008, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ABC Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABC Hotel is a travelers' hotel with rooms with private or shared bathrooms, single, double and triple rooms. As well as studio and three bedroom apartments. Central location in a quiet side street. Ideal for travelers seeking budget accommodation. Free cooking and washing facilities. Wifi is included, and all rooms have a TV and fridge. Breakfast - 75NOK Parking - 95NOK ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your ABC Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abc Hotell Nord As Tromsø

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ABC Hotell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.