We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good mix” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ABC Hotell Nord

Save Saved
You added ABC Hotell Nord to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ABC Hotell Nord
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parkgata 4, Tromso 9008, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 17 hotels in Tromso
Gibraltar
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A good mix”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

As with other reviews below this place is a mix of Hostel and Hotel but as a budget traveller my wife and I really enjoyed it.

The rooms were clean and nice and we had no issues with the shared bathroom off the corridor, it was very modern and clean and we never had to wait for other guests using it.

In order to save some money we used the kitchen both nights of our stay and were even able to use the washing machines. It was a little odd that there was a freezer but no fridge in the kitchen. The common dining and lounge rooms were also nice and wifi worked well.

There is breakfast offered for a fee but it looked very uninviting so we just bought some cereal and milk from the store and kept it in the kitchen.

Considering the costly hotel alternatives in Tromso we thought it was good value and would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with city view if possible. Very beautiful covered in snow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    32
    14
    3
    6
See reviews for
6
26
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tromsø, Norway
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Good:
Receptionist friendly

Bad:
Toilet dirty and full of hair - seriously .. it was not cleaned
Wifi in room not working
TV in room not working
Vending machine outside not working
Fridge so loud I had to pull out the cable
Freezing temperature. Had to heat the room up for an hour before being able to stand it. The window was open wide when I came in - in January
Room so small you can only turn around
Same price as in Skansen Hotel (much better)
Constant knocking on the door at 11:45 ("Just checking if you are cheking out at 12")

Never again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I booked one night in ABC hotel on my way up to Longyearbyen. It was very easy to book, friendly staff, and clean comfy rooms. Tromso is an expensive place so good to find a decent value place. You can use the kitchen so there are ways of saving money by eating in etc.
The room was nice, with a great shower and bathroom overall. the bed was quite small and the wifi didn't work in my room. It is also slightly further from the bus stop that indicated on the website, approx 10 mins walk with a heavy bag. I was in the bottom floor front room (12) which was nice but very loud when the staff put out the bins at night and the rubbish collection came in the morning.

Room Tip: Avoid the bottom floor as it was cold and loud next to the bins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We booked a double room for late January in this little gem of a hotel thats like a cross between a hostel and a hotel. It was a very good deal considering it was Norway. The room was small, but had a TV and a fridge which was VERY useful when saving money by buying supermarket food! It also had a really cool kitchen which had everything we needed to make our own dinner and save some kroner.

Its located 5 minutes from the central street which was convenient, and close to the supermarkets and attractions too. Its easy to get in late at night too. The boys at reception were very chatty and friendly, lots of advice and conversation.

The shower was really strong and hot, great for warming up after traipsing around in the snow. The bathroom had underfloor heating too, which I thought was fancy. Also free WIFI in most of the hotel too was an added bonus.

The only thing I was disappointed about was the fact that we booked a double room and ended up in a room with two single beds. Would have preferred a double. The beds were a bit weird too, a skinny little mattress over a big one, which kept sliding all over the place, annoying!

Although it didn't bother us, there is no lift in the hotel and a few stairs, in case you're not able for stairs (in which case you won't be able for the hill up to the hotel either!)

If you're horrified at the prices of Norway and would still like to visit lovely Tromso, I would definitely recommend this place as it helps you save money!

Room Tip: Make sure you check to see if its a double bed or not, if that's what you're looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed here late February and it was a good base for my planned winter activities. First of all however, my booking experience. I made a reservation in October by telephone and gave credit card details. I asked for a confirmation email. By January I had not received confirmation and called the hotel. I was told there was no record of my booking. So I had to book again! On this occasion when i DID get the confirmation email, the dates were slightly wrong!! So I had the hassle again of having to contact the hotel to correct the dates of my stay!!!!

The website also needs updating. It states that a single room (shared facilities) is 600 NOK in the period of my stay when in fact I was charged 690 NOK! The stated price of the breakfast buffet 40 NOK is also incorrect. I paid 50 NOK! Neither is it available 24/7. It is available every morning but not all day long!

The hotel itself is really nice however. It is clean, newly refurbished and is situated in a convenient location. The reception staff are really nice and very helpful. The dining room is a great place to meet and chat to people over the free coffee (which is available 24/7). There is quite a good selection of food available at the buffet breakfast (beware of the bread toaster- sometimes it trips the lights in the dining room (quite funny really!)) You get a clean change of towels everyday (no charge!) and there is a computer in the dining room where you can use the internet, print boarding passes etc (again, no charge!). I think price-wise it could be one of the best options in Tromso and there is just a nice vibe to the hotel. I guess everyone is excited to be hunting for the northern lights! Also, in contrast to an earlier reviewer who complained that the hotel was noisy, I did not hear any excessive noise and slept very well at night. And the hotel was full with people coming and going at all hours.

So overall great stay and would definitely stay here again! Just a few final things: There is only 1 TV channel in the rooms, the (free) WIFI available in the dining room/living room area was only intermittent in my room and perhaps most importantly, be mindful that the loo paper in the shared toilet runs out very quickly! Check that there are spare loo rolls before you use the toilet!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Nice staff. Everything is recently renovated. Rooms are new. Clean but small. Has community kitchen where you can cook your own meal. Only 3 min walk from center.
Would definitely stay again. Prices are outrageous if you are from the rest of europe but quite ok for Tromsö.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Very good location for night city views. Hotel staff are very friendly. Decent and good value buffet breakfast. Hotel has clean rooms, very good for budget travellers. Attractions like Porlar museum, Polaria and Tromso Cathedral

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ABC Hotell Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABC Hotell Nord

Address: Parkgata 4, Tromso 9008, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ABC Hotell Nord 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers' hotel with with private or shared bathrooms, singles, doubles and family rooms. Central location in quiet side street. Ideal for travellers seeking budget accommodation. Cooking facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your ABC Hotell Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abc Hotell Nord As Tromsø

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ABC Hotell Nord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.