We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience, highly recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arctic Adventure Tours - Day Tours

Arctic Adventure Tours - Day Tours
Kvaloya, Tromso 9105, Norway
+47 45 63 52 88
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 55 Activities in Tromso
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our 90 Alaskan Huskies are delighted to meet you and take you for an unforgettable experience. Learn to drive your own dog-team and live life in the great outdoors. (All equipment provided, no experience necessary)
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic experience, highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I did the 4 hour daytime dog sledding tour and absolutely loved it! It was a once in a lifetime, beautiful experience.
Arctic adventures were a really great company. They were very easy to book with and very accomodating. They provided warm clothes, boots and gloves. Afterward we had warm drinks and cake in a traditional tent around the fire.
They were clearly very knowledgable and the dogs were absolutely beautiful and obviously well looked after.
Driving the sled was an absolute highlight and the scenery were sledded through was stunning. Overall I was very happy with this experience and would highly recommend it and Arctic Adventures Tours. Thank you for the fantastic time!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    4
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Going that extra mile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This was our last chance to see the lights. And with no snow in Tromso yet we were nt even sure we could go dog sledging . We were picked up kitted out and before we knew it were flying along.We turned our head torches off and looked up. Wow ! Was that snow or a tear in my eye. The sky was ablaze with colour. We just could not believe it , beautiful.We got back to the camp and sat at the ice bar for a schnapps.We sat around the fire to warm a little. We then all crashed onto our backs and just looked up, breathing it in & soaking it all up. We just did not want to leave. Our guide stopped on the way back home for us to watch for a little longer and Wow ! The lights danced and danced. I know we were lucky tonight with the skies but the backstage logistics of this activity must be horrendous yet the people involved in this business all do their backstage bit with such professionalism that the ease at which everything just appears is brilliant. Do it , you"ll love it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Day Time Dog Sledding? Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had a ball on this trip. We were picked up in Tromso, taken to be kitted up and shown the basics of dog sledding, then we were off. I'm not sure how long we were out sledding for but it was long enough that we had a ball but not so long that we were tired. Then back to the sami tent for hot coffee and cake. The staff were helpful and friendly and were happy to answer all the questions we fired at them. 10/10, A+, recommended :-)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dog sledding great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We booked before we came, we are in our 60s, but we had nothing to worry about, they were really helpful and very friendly, we had such a great time and would love to do it again, enjoyed the hot drinks & chocolate cake which we had by a roaring fire in the Sami tent afterwards, thanks to Per Thore and his wife for a memorable experience.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Dog sledding absolutely fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Per Thore, the guide, first explained the basics of controlling the sled and the dogs and then we were off riding behind him. It was great fun with the feel of wind and speed. The terrain that Per Thore chose for the dog sledding has turns and bumps which added challenge and fun to the drive. After the ride, we were treated to a warm fire in a Sami tent with delicious chocolate cakes and drinks. I would do it again with the same company!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arctic Adventure Tours - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Arctic Adventure Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arctic Adventure Tours - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.