We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel for the Midnight Sun Marathon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rica Grand Hotel Tromso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rica Grand Hotel Tromso to your Saves list
Rica Grand Hotel Tromso
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Storgaten 44 | Postboks 8, Tromso 9008, Norway (Formerly Grand Nordic Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel for the Midnight Sun Marathon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I stayed here for two nights during the 2014 Midnight Sun Marathon. Overall, this was a good value hotel to stay in during a relatively big event in a relatively small city where hotel availability was tight and prices were expensive. I would stay here again and would recommend the hotel to other value travelers.

Fantastic location; friendly, helpful staff who spoke great English; full Norwegian-style breakfast (complimentary); coffee and tea in the lobby all day long; free, fast wireless with a strong signal.

As others have noted, the rooms are not the most up-to-date nor the cleanest; however, I had no specific concerns. The noise from the night club seemed well contained. On the third floor, I heard bass only a couple of times times, and could sleep just fine without earplugs. I had no issue with the curtains and did not need to use the sleeping mask I brought, with the caveat that we (sadly) did not get much midnight sun!

All in all, the hotel exceeded the expectations I had from reading other reviews. The pros outweighed the cons, and the overall cost was a good value compared to available alternatives.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Manager at Rica Grand Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for reviewing our hotel!
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay, and wish you a warm welcome next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    63
    39
    7
    0
See reviews for
15
41
19
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Spent 3 nights here for the Midnight Sun Marathon

Pros:
Free Coffee in Lobby
Very Central location
Pretty good breakfast

Cons:
The rooms are not nice
The bathrooms are really not nice

Neutral:
EXPENSIVE but I guess everything is right?

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Manager at Rica Grand Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for reviewing our hotel.

We are happy that you found some pro's abour staying here. We try our best to be good hosts to our guests. About the con's; we have only a few rooms that are not refurbished. I am sorry that you had to stay in one of these. Regarding the rates; you stayed one of the busiest weekends in the year, and the rates are higher than "normal " rate. So, please come back another time and we will give you a better room and a better price. Welcome :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

we stayed in the RIca from the 1st to the 4th January we booked directly with the hotel check in was easy and our room was ready, parking was in the tunnels about a 2 minute walk away and very easy, the room was excellent a double bed and two singles lots of extra space the all of the staff were freindly and helpful, our stay included break fast very large choice including from cake to eggs and bacon, tea and coffee was available 24 hours our stay was excellent.

the hotel is centrally placed across teh road from teh indoor shopping centre and 7 -11 our room overlooked the harbour and if you are as lucky as us we saw the northern lights from our hotel window ..... fantastic start to 2104

Room Tip: upper floors look over the harbour book directly with the hotel for the best choice of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Manager at Rica Grand Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for reviewing out hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you had a great stay. We wish you a warm welcome back another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

A great location feet from everything in Tromsø. Friendly front desk people. Breakfast buffet was cookie cutter mass produced of everything. Like eating at a Bennigans... My room was an ok size but smelled musty and of "old man sweat". I opened the windows to air it out and that helped but I could not shake the "sweat smell". Price was good for Tromsø. I would look at other hotels unless you really do not care about where you stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Manager at Rica Grand Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are sorry that we failed to live up to the expectations you had. We have renovated havily the last years, both reception, corridors, rooms and lift. We have only a few rooms left that will be renovated during the next year. We hope that you will come back some other time, so that your impression of us can be changed. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for booking. Kind regards Maria Kristiansen, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Our travel agent originally booked us into a waterfront hotel but since that hotel was under renovation with scaffoldings, we were given the choice of Rica Grand which we accepted because we hate to live inside scaffoldings and the real possibility of construction noises. Rica Grand was an average hotel but close to everything in the small town. It's reception area was very small and would have difficulty handling too many people at one time. Our room was not terrific but OK, with not much view other than the building across the street. I love the idea however of their counter across their reception which offered free tea and coffee all day long with take away cups and covers so you can enjoy them in the quietness of your own room. You will be surprised that their ground floor restaurant also offered great food if you do not want to venture outside. The staff were mostly friendly and welcoming. Breakfast in the morning was good with plenty of choices to keep you filled and warm before you venture into the cold. Not a bad choice for a hotel in a small town.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Manager at Rica Grand Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank yo ufor reviewing our hotel. We are happy that you, despite your first impression of a dated hotel, found it nice here, and that you enjoyed your stay. We wish you warm welcome back some other time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Ay caramamba. I'm writing this review at 3.15 in the morning from the Rica Grand Hotel in Tromsø, exhausted and gritting my teeth. Originally placed in a 4th floor room, I had to move at 1am, because of the pounding bass from the grotesque nightclub in the cellar. The night receptionist kindly moved my room immediately, as I couldn't sleep because of the noise. I'm now on the 6th floor, with no abatement of the bass. Until now.
I'm in Tromsø on business, and the hotel was booked for me, but I would have to tell my colleagues not to use this hotel again for business because of the dreadful sleep quality afforded.
The hotel itself is shabby, but ok. Basic, compared to other Rica hotels, and depressingly outdated, up to and including offering pay per view porn on the TV (when a lot of hotels in Norway are making the choice NOT to offer this dubious and anachronistic form of in house entertainment).
The staff are pleasant, and doing their best, but to sum up: avoid at all costs if sleep is any part of your game plan at night. (Ah, the night club seems to be winding up now, as it's past three in the morning, but the elevators are humming and whirring and depostiing drunk guests onto every floor. Sigh. Oh, well, at least the in house wifi is working.
Ps. I notice that in Feb 2013, the manager of this hotel replies to another guest on Trip Advisor, who had the same issuse as me: "This bar is now closed/discontinued. "
Clearly not. Unless we are in phantom nightclub/ The Shining territory?
I need sleep :O

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Manager at Rica Grand Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We are really sorry that we did not live up to the expectations here. We agree that it is not acceptable to have disco music half the night, and it should not be like that. Sometimes when we have new Djs, they tend to turn up the bass too much, and maybe this is what happende this time. Anyway, we are extremely sorry! If there is anything we can do for you, and to higher your impressions of us, please let me know. To compensate this terrible night we would like to invite you and a friend to a complimentory weekend, anytime. Please let me know if this is accepted. You can send me an email: maria.kristiansen@nordic.no
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

The hotel was ok, the staff were really helpful. Breakfast was amazing; a lot to choose from, definitely fitted for all tastes. But the only thing I was really disappointed in, that the curtains were not big enough to block all window. For somebody not used to sleep in the daytime it was quite hard to fall asleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Manager at Rica Grand Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for reviewing us. We are happy that you hade a good stay, and wish you a warm welcome back. We are checking our the curtains, because they should cover the whole window.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rica Grand Hotel Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rica Grand Hotel Tromso

Address: Storgaten 44 | Postboks 8, Tromso 9008, Norway (Formerly Grand Nordic Hotel)
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rica Grand Hotel Tromso 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rica Grand Hotel enjoys a central location right on Tromso’s main street, closest to the best shopping, the most tasty restaurants, the most overpopulated cafes and the wettest waterholes. The Rica Grand Hotel is your best starting point for visiting Tromso and its colourful inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Rica Grand Hotel Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rica Grand Hotel Tromso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.