We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and helpful staff , junior suites very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rica Grand Hotel Tromso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rica Grand Hotel Tromso to your Saves list
Rica Grand Hotel Tromso
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Storgaten 44 | Postboks 8, Tromso 9008, Norway (Formerly Grand Nordic Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
New Delhi,India
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Very friendly and helpful staff , junior suites very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The breakfast was very good and had plenty of variety , the staff particularly at the reception is very friendly and helpful. The junior suites are creatively designed and very comfortable. Even though there were three of us staying in them, it felt spacious enough. Our room had a balcony too. its in the centre of town and close to excellent on all counts

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Hotellsjef at Rica Grand Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Google Translation
Takk for din anmeldelse av vårt hotell., vii setter stor pris på at du tar deg tid til dette. Ønsker deg hjertelig velkommen tilbake til oss ved ditt neste Troms-opphold.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    63
    39
    7
    0
See reviews for
15
41
19
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed here two nights while my husband had some business in Tromso. The hotel was centrally located and although the room was small the beds were very comfortable. We stayed on a Saturday and Sunday night and there was a bit of noise on the Saturday night. We were on the 5th floor. The breakfast was a buffet breakfast and very nice. There was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room which was a real deficit. I asked if I could organise for an iron in the room, and was advised that this couldn't be done, but that I could go to an ironing room and use the iron there. I was given vague directions and couldn't find it. I asked a house maid who pointed me in the right direction - there was no signage saying it was an ironing room. My key wouldn't open the door so I had to find the maid to let me in. If you are looking for luxury I wouldn't stay here, however the location was so convenient and it served us well. While the rooms weren't cheap they were good value for being in the arctic circle and the location.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Hotellsjef at Rica Grand Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Google Translation
Takk for din anmeldelse. Beklager at vi ikke fikk vist oss fra vår beste side når dere var hos oss. Kaffe og te fasiliteter har vi kun på våre oppgraderte rom, som koster kun 250 NOK ekstra per natt. Strykerommet skal nå få skilt på døren, slik at det er lettere å finne frem. Takk igjen, og håper at du ønsker å komme tilbake til oss ved en senere anledning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed here one night. I booked a standard room directly online with the hotel website. Room was compact but the bed was very comfortable. Reception staff were helpful. Breakfast is only offered from 7am so if you're leaving earlier, tough luck. Whilst waiting for my bus I did ask for an orange juice and the receptionist was happy to oblige. Parts of the breakfast buffet were already out so I feel they could've offered a pastry and piece of fruit to go if you are leaving earlier. Something to consider. Location is very central and the airport bus stops just outside. I would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Hotellsjef at Rica Grand Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Google Translation
Hei og takk for din anmeldelse! Så fint at du hadde et fint opphold hos oss. Beklager at du ikke fikk tilbudet om noe mat i hånda da du dro tidlig, men fint at du iallefall fikk noe å drikke. Våre resepsjonister ønsker gjerne å hjelpe, så neste gang er det bare å spørre om litt frokost tidlig, så skal det nok ordne seg. Alt for gjestene! Velkommen tilbake!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

a very well located hotel with great service in the centre of town. The rooms are a bit small but nothing as small as some of the stories I have heard about other hotels.

I liked the fact that the hotel is used more by locals than tourists which gave a more of a local feel.

The breakfast was absolutely brilliant. I would pay extra for it (but we wont tell them that). Tea, coffee and cakes available throughout the day at no extra cost

Room Tip: go for a room with a shower. I had a roll top bath which is great if you like baths. I had a wet bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Hotellsjef at Rica Grand Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Google Translation
Tusen takk for din anmeldelse, jeg skal ta det videre til de ansatte. Velkommen tilbake til oss ved en senere anledning!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The location was great, right in the centre close to all amenities. Then again Tromsö is a small town so everything is close by. The breakfast is really nothing special, two choices of bread, two choices of cheese, some cheap cornflakes, stale coffee and orange juice from the machine.
Most of the receptionist were very hospitable, which is not very common in Norway, but one of them, an elderly lady should really be tought some manners! It took her 12 minutes to check us out and couldn't even figure out how to enter a reference number that we requested on our receipt. Not only that, but she kept telling us that she never heard of anyone else asking for reference numbers on receipts (for business accounting purposes). A message to that lady: your job is not to give us your opinion on business matters, you job is to do or at least try to do what your guests ask you for!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Hotellsjef at Rica Grand Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Google Translation
Takk for din anmeldelse. Din opplevelse har blitt tatt opp med vår resepsjonssjef. Vi setter pris på din tilbakemelding og ønsker deg velkommen til en hyggeligere opplevelse ved en senere anledning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This hotel ticks all the boxes and then some. Perfect location in the city centre (actually the airport fly bus stops right next to it). The room was big and comfortable, enough space for three people with an extra bed. The windows were large, with a nice view over the city. Tea facilities in the room. Big bathroom with a very comfortable shower, good ventilation and heated floor. Very clean everywhere.
The breakfast was among the best I've had. Plenty of dishes to choose from, from warm food to many cold fish specialities, good cheeses, fine pastries, fruits, mueslis, yoghurts and many more. A good feast to keep you going all day.
The receptionist was very helpful, we were three friends sharing the room and we could pay our shares individually. Totally recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Hotellsjef at Rica Grand Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Google Translation
Takk for din anmeldelse! Dine varme ord skal jeg ta videre til de ansatte, tusen takk! Velkommen tilbake ved en senere anledning!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

No hesitation of recommending this hotel - its comfortable, in an excellent location and the breakfast is good- we booked a double & a single. The double was large, the bathroom/wet room was a bit slippery when we showered but we had a mat to soak it up! The floor was heated so it wasnt a problem. we had tea/coffee making facilities in the large room but not in the single although there was free tea/coffee in reception. Breakfast had something for everyone. We only had a couple of hangers in the room so if you want to hang your clothes take a couple with you!! We were very near to restaurants, cafes, main street and 10 mins from the airport which had originally worried me but we were not disturbed by any noise. It is a very good location. We stayed over the New Year period 2013/2014 & Tromso was a magical place to see the Northern Lights and experience whale watching - fab trip. Hope this helps

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Hotellsjef at Rica Grand Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Google Translation
Tusen takk for din anmeldelse!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rica Grand Hotel Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rica Grand Hotel Tromso

Address: Storgaten 44 | Postboks 8, Tromso 9008, Norway (Formerly Grand Nordic Hotel)
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rica Grand Hotel Tromso 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rica Grand Hotel enjoys a central location right on Tromso’s main street, closest to the best shopping, the most tasty restaurants, the most overpopulated cafes and the wettest waterholes. The Rica Grand Hotel is your best starting point for visiting Tromso and its colourful inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rica Grand Hotel Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rica Grand Hotel Tromso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.