We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room and breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rica Grand Hotel Tromso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rica Grand Hotel Tromso to your Saves list
Rica Grand Hotel Tromso
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Storgaten 44 | Postboks 8, Tromso 9008, Norway (Formerly Grand Nordic Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
North of Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good room and breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I got a room at 6th floor. From the window I looked to the buildings in the street in back of the hotel. My room was nice and renovated.
The hotel is situated in a good position of town. The breakfast is always good and plenty. The standard of the romms seem to be lifted sinc I styed in this hotel in august 2012.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Hotellsjef at Rica Grand Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Google Translation
Takk for din tilbakemelding, vi setter stor pris på det! Ønsker deg velkommen tilbake ved en senere anledning!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    63
    36
    7
    0
See reviews for
15
41
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

An ideal hotel. Friendly staff on reception. Brilliant choice for breakfast and served 'til noon. Free wifi. I stayed on business but would come back for pleasure. Good location but no parking on site. Public parking 3 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Hotellsjef at Rica Grand Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Google Translation
Takk for din tilbakemelding, vi setter stor pris på det! Ønsker deg velkommen tilbake ved en senere anledning!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The location of the hotel was great. Walking distance to restaurants, shops and grocery stores. The furnishings of the hotel room were very outdated. We had a superior room on the 7th floor, the room itself and the bathroom were large for European standard. The bed was comfortable but a double bed were just two small beds put together. The water would leak out while taking the shower, so the floor would be "flooded" with the water. There was yellow stains around the toilet bowl. Otherwise everything seemed "clean". The breakfast had a good selection of hot and cold.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Hotellsjef at Rica Grand Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Google Translation
Takk for din tilbakemelding, vi setter stor pris på det! Ønsker deg velkommen tilbake ved en senere anledning!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed in a superior family room on the 7th floor. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay & the Hotel was even better than we thought it would be. Lovely view from room-up the hill-of the wooden houses & a very large pretty building we think was the town hall. Three of us stayed-myself & partner & Mother in law. It worked out well she had her own good sized room with a TV & Lge bunk bed style sleeping, the top bunk was set back to avoid banging of head. Large lower bed, could have slept 2 adults & separate door to shared bathroom. Main room had 2 lge single beds pushed together-separate duvets-suitabe for a couple or 2 separate Adults & a TV & sitting area. Access to same lge B/room-separate door. Very quiet Mon-Fri stay. Lovely warm room & lovely bathrom with large shower. Everything you could possibly wish for choice of Breakfast, free tea,coffee & cake during day. The staff were really nice & friendly & were so helpful. A perfect stay-we didn't seeThe Northern Lights-but a good excuse to go back & stay at the Hotel again. The town is beautiful with all the wooden buildings & lots of snow, Lots of things to do & see & lovely friendly people. We would highly recommend a stay at the Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Hotellsjef at Rica Grand Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Google Translation
Takk for din tilbakemelding, vi setter stor pris på det! Ønsker deg velkommen tilbake ved en senere anledning!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed a saturday night in the Rica Grand Tromsö. I was a little scared after the reviews I read on the site but my room was perfectly silent and I really lied my say here. Both the room and the bathroom where good size, new furniture and a very cool photo on the main wall.
Very good wireless internet connection, reliable and high speed.
The staff was very nice and the breakfast selection excellent. The location is also very good, not on the waterfront but only a few minutes walk from the water. The airport bus stops just outside the hotel, which is another big plus. I would absolutely consider coming back here if I ever vist Tromsö again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Hotellsjef at Rica Grand Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Google Translation
Takk for din tilbakemelding, vi setter stor pris på det! Ønsker deg velkommen tilbake ved en senere anledning!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for my 40th Birthday to primarily see the Northern lights.

Due to having a night out in a cabin with Lyngsfjord Adventure we split our stay in two, 1 night (Friday) then 3 nights (Sun - Tues). Our experience was also split.

Our stay for one night on the Friday wasn't good as firstly we were put in a room that needed a refurbishment. The bedroom was tiny and the furniture very dated. The view was terrible, overlooking the internal atrium of the hotel. On a plus side the bathroom was better than our other room we stayed in. The worst of it was yet to follow though as we had to endure booming drum and bass from the night club in the basement which went on until 3am. We were on the 5th floor and it was absolutely horrendous so god only knows what it was like on the 1st floor.
We got up the following morning and asked reception if the nightclub was open every night, upon which we were told that it was only Friday and Saturdays. As we were staying in the wilderness on Saturday we had a perfect nights sleep.
We then returned on the Sunday and we were given a different room. This room was much much better. Improvements in the decor, furnishings, tv and view but the bathroom wasn't quite as good with the shower leaking under the shower door around the toilet.
The best thing of all though was we weren't treated to another sleepless night of booming from the nightclub.
The breakfasts were very good again which was probably the highlight of the hotel. Staff were also friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and do not stay Friday and Saturdays unless you want to attend the nightc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Hotellsjef at Rica Grand Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Google Translation
Vi takker for din tilbakemelding og beklager den negative opplevelsen. Vår sentrale beliggenhet gjør at det i helger er ekstra stor aktivitet ute i gatene. Ved ditt neste opphold vil vi gledelig tilby deg et rom som vender mot en roligere gate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Hi

We have just got back from the Rica Grand now the Rica Grand Nordic. Much better than we expected, hotel lovely and warm, bed the most comfortable I have ever slept in, underfloor heating in bathroom, suite was spacious and great view. Staff were effecient and friendly.
Breakfasts offered a very good choice of hot and cold, and free tea and cake were availbale in the afternoon. Tromso is a really beautiful place with lots to see and do. If you go to see the Northern Lights don't give up if you don't see them the first night! We saw them the second trip and it was worth booking again because we were lucky to have an amazing show that night, and the conditions change very quickly.

Room Tip: Booking a suite was definately worth paying extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaKristiansen77, Manager at Rica Grand Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel! I am very glad that me & my collegues lived up to your expectations! I hope we can welcome you back some other time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rica Grand Hotel Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rica Grand Hotel Tromso

Address: Storgaten 44 | Postboks 8, Tromso 9008, Norway (Formerly Grand Nordic Hotel)
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rica Grand Hotel Tromso 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rica Grand Hotel enjoys a central location right on Tromso’s main street, closest to the best shopping, the most tasty restaurants, the most overpopulated cafes and the wettest waterholes. The Rica Grand Hotel is your best starting point for visiting Tromso and its colourful inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rica Grand Hotel Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rica Grand Hotel Tromso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.