We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in the very centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Grand Tromso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Grand Tromso to your Saves list
Scandic Grand Tromso
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Storgaten 44 | Postboks 8, Tromso 9008, Norway (Formerly Rica Grand Hotel Tromso)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel in the very centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed a saturday night in the Rica Grand Tromsö. I was a little scared after the reviews I read on the site but my room was perfectly silent and I really lied my say here. Both the room and the bathroom where good size, new furniture and a very cool photo on the main wall.
Very good wireless internet connection, reliable and high speed.
The staff was very nice and the breakfast selection excellent. The location is also very good, not on the waterfront but only a few minutes walk from the water. The airport bus stops just outside the hotel, which is another big plus. I would absolutely consider coming back here if I ever vist Tromsö again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Hotellsjef at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Google Translation
Takk for din tilbakemelding, vi setter stor pris på det! Ønsker deg velkommen tilbake ved en senere anledning!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    85
    58
    13
    4
See reviews for
25
57
23
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for my 40th Birthday to primarily see the Northern lights.

Due to having a night out in a cabin with Lyngsfjord Adventure we split our stay in two, 1 night (Friday) then 3 nights (Sun - Tues). Our experience was also split.

Our stay for one night on the Friday wasn't good as firstly we were put in a room that needed a refurbishment. The bedroom was tiny and the furniture very dated. The view was terrible, overlooking the internal atrium of the hotel. On a plus side the bathroom was better than our other room we stayed in. The worst of it was yet to follow though as we had to endure booming drum and bass from the night club in the basement which went on until 3am. We were on the 5th floor and it was absolutely horrendous so god only knows what it was like on the 1st floor.
We got up the following morning and asked reception if the nightclub was open every night, upon which we were told that it was only Friday and Saturdays. As we were staying in the wilderness on Saturday we had a perfect nights sleep.
We then returned on the Sunday and we were given a different room. This room was much much better. Improvements in the decor, furnishings, tv and view but the bathroom wasn't quite as good with the shower leaking under the shower door around the toilet.
The best thing of all though was we weren't treated to another sleepless night of booming from the nightclub.
The breakfasts were very good again which was probably the highlight of the hotel. Staff were also friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and do not stay Friday and Saturdays unless you want to attend the nightc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Hotellsjef at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Google Translation
Vi takker for din tilbakemelding og beklager den negative opplevelsen. Vår sentrale beliggenhet gjør at det i helger er ekstra stor aktivitet ute i gatene. Ved ditt neste opphold vil vi gledelig tilby deg et rom som vender mot en roligere gate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Hi

We have just got back from the Rica Grand now the Rica Grand Nordic. Much better than we expected, hotel lovely and warm, bed the most comfortable I have ever slept in, underfloor heating in bathroom, suite was spacious and great view. Staff were effecient and friendly.
Breakfasts offered a very good choice of hot and cold, and free tea and cake were availbale in the afternoon. Tromso is a really beautiful place with lots to see and do. If you go to see the Northern Lights don't give up if you don't see them the first night! We saw them the second trip and it was worth booking again because we were lucky to have an amazing show that night, and the conditions change very quickly.

Room Tip: Booking a suite was definately worth paying extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaKristiansen77, Manager at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel! I am very glad that me & my collegues lived up to your expectations! I hope we can welcome you back some other time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
401 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in February, when we went to Tromso to view the Northern Lights. The staff were all efficient, very friendly and helpful and we were well looked after. We were assigned a "quiet" Superior room (we hadn't asked for "quiet") which was larger than the normal standard room and we were pleased with the size and comfort. The only criticism is that like many Scandinavian hotels in which I've stayed, there wasn't much storage. There was one open wardrobe - more a hanging space - and no drawers to store clothes so we had to keep most things in our suitcases. The bed was very comfortable, and the free WiFi was very useful.
The Hotel is positioned on the main street of Tromso so it is in a very good position for the shops etc, but it's worth noting that most of the tours (daytime and night time "Aurora chasing") leave from the Radisson Blu hotel, and Rica's modern sister Rica Ishavshotel, which are down on the waterfront near the Polar museum but they are less then 10 minutes walk away.
We did have a problem the first night (we arrived in the evening) in that the electronic lock on the room wasn't working (it stayed locked) so we had to get a member of staff to open the room every time we wanted to get in (there was no problem getting out!), and also, the room heating wasn't working. The reception staff were quick to accompany us to the room to let us in, and lent us a fan heater for the first night so we were warm enough. Both problems were fixed the following morning and we had no other complaints.
I note the comments made by others about the noise from the Bar, but we didn't find it intrusive (maybe the "quiet" room did what it promised), but we were only on the 3rd floor so weren't that far from the bar, albeit on the far side of the hotel.
We ate in the bar that night and the food was better than we expected for a bar, but it's worth noting that the bar stopped serving food at 10.00 pm, so if you are late arriving, you would have to go outside for food.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the opposite side of the hotel to the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaKristiansen77, Manager at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.Your comments will be shared with all our staff, and er hope to see you again som other time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My aunt, mom and I stayed at this hotel from 3 to 9 Feb 2013.

We were particularly impressed by the standard of service provided by the staff. We had missed our connecting flight to Norway due to an airline delay and had to change our booking as a result - we were originally booked for 2-9 Feb 2013. When we called the hotel to inform them of this they were very understanding and offered to cancel our stay on 2 Feb 2013 free of charge. They were also very helpful in recommending restaurants to eat at. They also offered us a packed breakfast upon hearing that we had a flight to catch at 6am on 9 Feb 2013. I think we were most impressed by the fact that they offered to do all this of their own initiative rather than wait for us to request for the same.

Our room was huge and had a lovely view of the mountains and Storgata, the city's main shopping street. Even though we had an extra bed added in, there was still plenty of room after we opened our luggages, and there was even room for couches, a coffee table and a vanity table. On Sunday there was some pounding music that could be heard from our room, but this stopped around 1.30pm. As we had returned late after chasing the northern lights, this didn't really bother us. On the other nights all was peaceful, including Friday night. Do note that we returned between 12 midnight to 2am every night because we were out chasing the lights faithfully every night!

The beds are incredibly comfortable and it was most difficult to wake up the next day. The toilets have heated floors, which are so essential when it's below zero outside. The bathroom is also very roomy.

There is also free coffee, tea and cakes provided every day at the reception. As most of the other guests have noted, breakfast is excellent.

Location wise it is right on Storgata and within easy walking distance of good restaurants, a supermarket (Eurospar), the Tourist Information Centre and Burger King if you require a cheap meal. It is within easy walking distance of the Rica Ishavshotel and the Radisson Blu, which are the pickup points for many of the tours (e.g. aurora chasing, dog sledding etc).

All in all we were very impressed by this hotel and its staff, and would choose to stay in it again if we ever have the opportunity to visit Tromso in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaKristiansen77, Manager at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Your comments will be shared with our staff, and we hope to see you again some other time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights friday to sunday, to experience northern Norway and the northern lights. The hotel is clean, breakfast is good, perfect location, beds are comfortable and the staff is friendly enough. But if you are the type of person that, like me, essentialy judge a hotel based on sleep quality, you should not choose this one. I would say its a Nightclub first and hotel second. Staying over the weekend the thumping base and DJ kicks wont settle until 3 am. We stayed on the 5th floor and the nightclub is on the 1st so I suspect that there isnt a room in the hotel where you can enjoy some peace and quiet. So if you do decide to book a weekend here, dont expect an early night, stay up and watch the northern lights instead on the remote islands outside Tromsø, thats what we did anyway.

Room Tip: Try to get a room high up and away from the nightclub
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaKristiansen77, Manager at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations. To explain a little; the weekend you stayed were the closure-weekend for our bar in the 1st floor. After almost 35 years we closed down the bar. That is why we had djs and nightclub music to late hours. We are very sorry for the inconvenience this caused you and some other guests. This bar is now closed/discontinued. Despite your impression we still hope you will consider coming back to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Whilst I enjoyed my stay in this hotel for the most part, it does seem to be suffering from quite a big conflict of identity as to whether it is a hotel or a night club. I stayed from Friday to Monday and got to experience the thumping tunes & vibrations from the hotel nightclub each night. The club is on the 1st floor & my room was on the 5th (out of 6) and even though I had put in a special request to be as away from the noise as possible, I was fully aware that there was a club beneath me each night of my stay by the vibrating walls & floors of my room from the music. The room itself was fairly good with most provisions meeting excellent standards, especially the free wifi which was very reliable & the extremely comfortable bed. It was a shame then that these were let down by the late night party downstairs, which went on to past 3am on Friday & Saturday.
The staff were nice always greeting with a hello when coming in and they made me feel welcome.
I did feel cheated by finding out that I had been given a room which had been subdivided into 3 tiny rooms (presumably because I was travelling alone) despite paying for a standard room. The room was miniscule and I had to shuffle round the bed and had to try to not knock the tv off the wall as I did so. Having said that, the room was clean and had nice provisions. The check-in & out was straighforward & the hotel is very conveniently located in town. It was generally a good stay if only let down by a few fairly big points.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 512 (1, 2 and 3) - One room subdivided into three tiny rooms. Ask for a room away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaKristiansen77, Manager at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations. To explain a little; the weekend you stayed here we had "closing-weekend" for the bar in 1st floor. After nearly 35 years we closed the bar for good, and we "celebrated" this with DJs. We understand that this was too much, and we are very sorry for the inconvenience this caused our other guests. Despite your impression we still hope you will consider coming back to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#6 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Clarion Hotel The Edge
#4 of 18 in Tromso
4.5 of 5 stars 391 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.0 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Grand Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Grand Tromso

Address: Storgaten 44 | Postboks 8, Tromso 9008, Norway (Formerly Rica Grand Hotel Tromso)
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Grand Tromso 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rica Grand Hotel enjoys a central location right on Tromso’s main street, closest to the best shopping, the most tasty restaurants, the most overpopulated cafes and the wettest waterholes. The Rica Grand Hotel is your best starting point for visiting Tromso and its colourful inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Scandic Grand Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Grand Tromso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.