We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Ishavshotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Ishavshotel to your Saves list
Scandic Ishavshotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Fredrik Langesgate 2, Tromso 9008, Norway (Formerly Rica Ishavshotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
North Yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect location, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Location you can't improve on in a Tromso. Right by the water close to the centre and restaurants and attractions.
The staff were so welcoming and helpful
The rooms were well sized, clean and comfy. Free wifi is perfect.
Breakfast was a feast - anything you can think of and so much more. From a juice bar to full English, full Norweigian, full European!
Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Onego.

On behalf of everyone at Scandic Ishavshotel, I would like to thank you for your fantastic review and recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you back soon!

Best regards
Kim Kjosnes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    60
    17
    9
    4
See reviews for
20
59
9
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a beautiful location, overlooking the harbor. When we were there it snowed several times, and the view through the white powder over the water was gorgeous. Our room was neat, clean, and quite comfortable and attractive. The hotel staff couldn't have been more gracious. Our day-trip tour buses loaded right outside of the hotel, as did the ship on which we eventually departed.

The Roast restaurant in the hotel was superb, also.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors overlooking the harbor are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Margaret D.

Your wonderful review is highly appreciated by everyone at Scandic Ishavshotel.

We hope to welcome you back on many more occasions!

Best regards
Kim Kjosnes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is very convenient for the airport bus as it stops at the door and many tours collect you from the Raddison which is across the road. Ask for a superior room as they have fantastic views across the harbour to the Arctic Cathedral but be aware that you may have a fishing boat nearby. I would have given an excellent rating but the breakfast let it down. This was our second visit and the breakfast was not as good with items such as maple syrup and bread running out and even worse not being replenished by the following day.

Room Tip: High up harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Sue H.

On behalf of everyone at Scandic Ishavshotel, I would like to thank you for your very kind review!

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed most of the experience, but I regret to hear that some issues at the breakfast let you down. I am sorry about that.

I truly hope to see you back some time soon.

Best regards
Kim Kjosnes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a perfect base for our visit to Tromso. The hotel is comfortable and very well equipped. The staff are friendly and helpful too. As most of the restaurants were closed in Easter week, the hotel was able to supply us with smaller meals in the upstairs bar which were great value. The view from the 'superior' room overlooking the harbour was spectacular and worth the price alone. We found the room rates to be good value for a country that can be very expensive to visitors from the UK. Airport bus picks up right outside the door. Very good.

Room Tip: Book direct with the hotel and ask for the superior room - if you do it well in advance you should b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Grezley1.

Thank you very much, your wonderful review is highly appreciated by everyone at Scandic Ishavshotel!

We look forward to welcoming you back on many more occasions!

Best regards
Kim Kjosnes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Agree with everyone else that this hotel is in a great location - most of the tours pick up from here, the airport us drops off, and it's about a 3 min walk to the Tourist info office - perfect.

The breakfast is excellent - huge choice. Definitely worth factoring a big, free breakfast into your accommodation choice in Tromso if you're not Norwegian; it'll save you loads of money if you fill up first!

We booked a superior room with a view of the harbour and it was excellent. More than enough space for everything. We weren't sure if tea and coffee facilities would be available - they were. You can easily borrow glasses, a teapot from the restaurant (everyone is so helpful!) and also a jug of fresh milk that you can keep in the fridge.

The rooms were clean, warm and quiet, complimentary shower gel was lovely and there was plenty of space for all of our stuff. Wifi worked well.

Would definitely recommend.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear adventurerette.

Thank you for great review and recommendation.

We hope to welcome you back on many more occasions!

Best regards
Kim Kjosnes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What can I say? This hotel is definitely one of the best hotels I ever stayed in europe! The airport shuttle bus stop directly in front of the hotel, it's centrally located (near to museums, supermarkets, tourist info centre and food outlets)! Most of the tours in tromso has a pickup/meeting point from this hotel..

When I arrived at this hotel, I requested the receptionist (a new trainee) guy for a room with a good view. And he gave me a super nice room with panaromic view at level 4! A beautiful view of the sea and the fjord. The room is really big and the ammenties were good. I feel like I'm in a 5 star hotel.

Wide range of breakfast selection with plenty of seats, food was delicious. I went to the roast bar for lunch since the restaurant is closed. The bartender recommend me a good meal.. and she even create a nice cocktail for me.

Really love everything about the hotel. Beautiful view, great location, great service, friendly and nice staff and overall I love the hotel so much that I would recommend it to you guys out there!

Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear shilllashillla.

Thank you for your really kind review!

We are thrilled that you enjoyed every aspect and every minute of your stay, I truly hope to see you back here some time soon!

Best regards
Kim Kjosnes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for 5 nights. Everything is perfect. Amazing sea view with arctic cathedral. Though we paid for the king bed room and requested to change to twin bed at the hotel, we were given the room without carpet. We noticed a few rooms with carpet next to our room. Very simple housekeeping. Thumbs up for the heated tower rack.

Best location as many tours' pick up point is outside this hotel. We didn't register for reindeer sledding earlier. However, there was 1 night that our NL chase had been cancelled. Thus we decided to go for sledding last minute while having our breakfast. Thankfully, we met Trine at 8.50am outside the hotel. After some simple inquiry and Trine told us that there was still availability for 2, we decided to join right away and left for the sledding at 9am. It was an experience for a lifetime. Thinking retrospectively, we wouldnt have this experience had we not chosen this hotel.

Best buffet breakfast ever, in terms of quality and quantity. I personally like sweet cheese and various fresh juice the most. Definitely will revisit if given the chance again for the room view and superb breakfast.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear La W.

Thank you for visiting and for writing a review!

I highly appreciate to read that you enjoyed your stay here and that you got a chance to go on one of the many activities starting from the hotel.
Hope to see you back soon!

Best regards
Kim Kjosnes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Ishavshotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Ishavshotel

Address: Fredrik Langesgate 2, Tromso 9008, Norway (Formerly Rica Ishavshotel)
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tromso
#3 Business Hotel in Tromso
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Ishavshotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Ishavshotel has a unique location on the quay in the centre of Tromso. It is easy to get to as the bus station is close by and the airport is just 5 km away. Our rooms are of a high international standard and for conferences and events we have rooms in all sizes for 2 - 450 participants. Our restaurant offers a contemporary a la carte menu consisting only of the freshest seafood, fish and local meats all prepared in an original Josper grill featured in our open kitchen. Free WiFi is available in the rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Scandic Ishavshotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Ishavshotel Hotel
Rica Ishavshotel Tromso Tromsø
Rica Ishavshotel Tromso Hotel Tromsø

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Ishavshotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.