We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Quality in the Heart of the City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Ishavshotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Ishavshotel to your Saves list
Scandic Ishavshotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Fr Langesgate 2, Tromso 9008, Norway (Formerly Rica Ishavshotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    23
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
2
15
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We checked in yesterday and the reception staff who attended to us was very helpful and friendly. She also spoke good English. We were pleasantly surprised to be allotted a room with a view of the harbour and the sea. The Tromsø bridge is seen in the background. The room was clean and nice.
The breakfast in the morning was superb. Truly the best breakfast in Tromsø. The wide variety of items on the buffet line is something to behold. All the items are pleasantly and nicely arranged and make you want to just sample everything! It is like too much food but too little stomach. (Haha).
This hotel is centrally located and is the meeting point for excursions like an Adventure in Camp Tamok and Aurora Chasing trips. Great place, good people, great food.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas L, F&B MANAGER at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear kaywhy03, We are thrilled to hear that we were abe to WOW you with our spectacular views and breakfast! Your kind comments about our receptionists, check-in experience and other positive points during your experience with us are truly appreciated! We hope to welcome you back to Scandic Ishavshotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Clean, comfortable rooms with great views overlooking the harbour. Excellent location for central Tromso, walking across the bridge to the Arctic cathedral and cable car as well as for boarding the Hurtigruten (approx 200 yards).

Breakfast was excellent - lovely fresh food with lots of choice. One of the best we experienced in our 8 day Norwegian holiday.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas L, F&B MANAGER at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Helly 149, We are truly happy to hear that Scandic Ishavshotel was on top of your list during your eight day Norwegian experience! We work very hard to deliver the best of quality and comfort to our guests so reviews like yours are important to confirm that our guests expectations are not only met but succeeded as well! We wish you safe travels in the future an hope to see you back in Tromsø soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromsø - Rovaniemi
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One of the best breakfast at hotels I have ever been to. Location is down at the harbor, close to Hurtigruta. Had room towards the sea - excellent! Parking close to hotel is limited, better park inside "fjellet" - inside the parking tunnel. A small walk, - drop off luggage first and then park your car. For tourist without car - taxi will drive you to the door and airportbus stop very close by. A safe choice when in Tromsø.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas L, F&B MANAGER at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Frode R, thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers here on TripAdvisor! We are aware of the limited access to city parking, and unfortunately that is a challenge in Tromsø that the city hopefully will resolve soon. Otherwise I would like to thank you for your friendly comments regarding our breakfast and location! We wish you safe travles in the future, and hope to welcome you back to Scandic Ishavshotel as soon as possible!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First off, the breakfast is FANTASTIC. There are so many options, it is shocking. ~5 kinds of fresh juice and smoothies, many smoked and cured fishes (salmon, halibut, mackerel, herring), meats, many Norwegian cheeses, granola bar, hot bar (fantastic mushrooms!), barista, etc. etc. - it is really awesome. I also had their lunch buffet, which was a treat, as well. The conference room and the lobby each have stunning views... I spent many hours working in the lobby, and wished my own office had a view of that quality!

The rooms are comfortable, if a bit petite. The beds are very, very soft. It was ok for me, but for someone with a back problem, they may be just a bit soft.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas L, F&B MANAGER at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear TheSajt! Thank you for your awesome review of our property! We really appreciate you taking time to share your experience with your fellow travellers here on TripAdvisor. Thank you so much for complementing on our F&B offerings and the spectacular views that our hotel has been blessed with! We hope to see you return with us upon your next venture to the North. Safe travels from the entire team at Scandic Ishavshotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have recently spent four nights at your lovely hotel. Our room was really comfortable and clean and had a beautiful view over the quieter part of the harbour. We were impressed by the energy saving credentials, and were quite happy to use our towels more than once (our choice) in order to help save the planet.
Our meals were all superb and the breakfast buffet really is as extensive as we had read about in other reviews. The views from this dining area are also spectacular.

We found all of your staff to be exceptional friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.
The location is also good. Convenient for shops and local landmarks and a pick up point for lots of excursions. The airport shuttle bus also drops passengers off and picks them up right outside the hotel which is great.
A lovely hotel, which has been tastefully refurbished.
Two tiny negatives:
We would have found a clock useful in our room, and we were surprised that tea and coffee facilities were only available in superior rooms, although it seemed to be freely available in the downstairs reception area.We had checked beforehand and took our own kettle but this is fairly standard even in budget hotels on the UK. Also, my husband says the bed was too big but I disagree. It was luxurious!
Superb. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Apparently most rooms have good views. Ours was on the right, looking from the harbour towards the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas L, F&B MANAGER at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Dawn H, Thank you so much for your kind words! We are very happy to learn that you have enjoyed your experience visiting our property, and that you habe taken the time to share with your fellow travellers here on TripAdvisor! We hope to see you back with us as soon as possible! Safe travels from the team at Scandic Ishavshotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Ishavshotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Ishavshotel

Address: Fr Langesgate 2, Tromso 9008, Norway (Formerly Rica Ishavshotel)
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tromso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Ishavshotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is centrally located in Tromso, also known as the Paris of the North. With its unique location on the quay, the hotel stretches out over the Tromso strait with magnificent views of the harbour, Ishavskatedralen and Tromsdalen.Rica Ishavshotel just won the prize as Norway's fifth best hotel, voted by TripAdvisors many travellers. The hotel is proud to boast the title "Traveller's Choice 2012". By June 2014 the hotel has expanded with 34 new rooms and suites. The entire 1st and 2nd floor which includes reception, lobby, restaurant and bar has been refurbished and we are proud to welcome our guests to a newly renovated hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Ishavshotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Ishavshotel Hotel
Rica Ishavshotel Tromso Tromsø
Rica Ishavshotel Tromso Hotel Tromsø

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Ishavshotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.