We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Ishavshotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Ishavshotel to your Saves list
Scandic Ishavshotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Fredrik Langesgate 2, Tromso 9008, Norway (Formerly Rica Ishavshotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent location and breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, and the hotel is good, the room was a good size, although I would have prefered to have a an iron and ironing board, but they seem to be missing in the Rica hotels...
Positive:
- We had a great view, overlooking the water and a little harbour, and great view of the midnight sun
- The breakfast was exceptional, probably the best breakfast I ever had in a hotel, they even had a machine to make fresh orange juice, that was a big plus for me.
- The location is great, close to restaurants and the main street.
Negative:
- The hotel is rather difficult to access by car, every time we had to drive through a labirinth of streets, some one way, others under repair, and we didn't see not even one sign to indicate where the hotel was
- the only parking we found close to the hotel was very small and rather expensive, and from the hotel we were recommended to park somewhere else, some minutes walk from the hotel... And that was not much cheaper, either, especially during the night...
- They did not have room service while we stayed there, and as we arrived late (23.30) in the first night, we couldn't find anything to eat except a slice of pizza from 7 Eleven... Would have appreciated the hotel to offer us a better alternative...
- The air conditioning did not work, and as we stayed there under an unusually warm period, it was very difficult to sleep at night because of the heat.

Otherwise, the hotel is undergoing a renovation, but we weren't particularly bothered by it, they were working somewhere below our window but they were rather quiet, and they were never starting before 8 AM. We never saw any of the workers inside the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Camelia A.

Thank you for your kind review!

So good to hear you had a pleasant stay with us, we are very happy and proud of our central location close to the water.
We take great pride in giving our guests a great start in the morning with a healthy and various breakfast, so I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet while staying with us!

With the central location in Tromsø we also have some coherent challenges, as you mention, one must drive through different streets to reach the hotel by car and parking places are limited close to the hotel.
Regarding food serving after the restaurant's closing hour you are absolutely right. We are at this time working on a solution to offer for our guests some type of late night snack available from the reception. We hope to have a solution ready soon.

In the recent period, Tromsø has experienced days with very high temperatures that our guest room ventilation isn't very used to. We have taken note of the feedback and after some adjustments it now should be at a comfortable level.

We hope to see you again at our hotel some time!

Best regards
Kim Kjosnes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    64
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
20
61
9
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malden, NL
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
233 hotel reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
352 helpful votes 352 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Good things first: The hotel is centrally located on walking distance of everything. It has a prominent place at the harbour and the quay of the Huttigruten post boat is very close by. We enjoyed the restaurant in the evening and the breakfast was excellent, with a large variety of food. Wifi was free and worked well.

Major construction works are going on as was already pointed out in many reviews. Nevertheless the management does not seem to care about it. The whole hotel was in the pipeline and the taxi driver could not find the entrance. Unfortunately work was going on our floor. In our hallway there was no carpet, as this was to be renovated. So it sounded overnight like everyone stepped directly into our room. I don’t know if it is a good idea to keep the hotel open during these major renovation works.

Room Tip: Wait until renovation has finished
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Mianel.

Thank you for writing back to us about your experiences whilst staying with us.

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our new restaurant, we are glad to offer a new type of dining and welcoming our guests to a brand new interior.

Unfortunately the recent renovation of the restaurant and other parts of the hotel was quite delayed and I am sorry that this influenced your stay with us. It is also unfortunate that you were allocated a room on a floor at the same time as we where changing the carpets, we should definitely have allocated you a room on another floor while the carpets were replaced.

We thank you for staying with us and I hope that you on a later occasion might want to visit us again and see how the hotel has turned out.

Best regards
Kim Kjosnes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Disclaimer: This review is not from a stay during normal circumstances, but during a period when serveral floors of the hotel were undergoing serious renovation. I do however think that the total lack of professionality displayed regarding this renovation does speak for the service attitude, and should stand as a warning of what you could experience.

The positives first: This hotel has a great location right on the waterfront of Tromsø, as centrally located as possible. View from the rooms facing the water is great, with the famous Coastal Express passenger liner docking right outside the entrance twice daily. I can't speak for the food in general, but the breakfast was also great, in keeping with the Scandic brand signature. My room was also quite good, although the TV and WiFi were unstable, possibly due to the renovation.

Now, the bad stuff: As I mentioned, the hotel was undergoing major renovation, and most of the facade was covered in scaffolding. Oddly enough, the floors that were being renovated had not been shut down, and we constantly had to scurry past workmen, step across whatever they were doing, or look on our own for detours around closed staircases etc. There was also very little in the ways of signs or warnings explaning things and apologizing for the mess.

My colleagues had a particularly unpleasant experience with some workmen in a shut down staircase. The elevator in that wing didn't go all the way to the top floor, and when they came home at night, the stairs to the top were closed off with a ribbon. Knowing no other way to get to their room, my colleagues nevertheless started climbing the stairs. Before long they were assailed by a frantic worker yelling at them for violating his workspace, and literally telling them they were stupid for not using the metal staircase at the other end of the hallway (the existence of which they were unaware). There were no signs about this that they could find.

Inconveniencing, and even directly harassing, your customers like this is unforgivable from a high-end hotel, even during extraordinary circumstances.

Room Tip: Make sure there aren't any renovations going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveller190475, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Sverre.

Thank you for taking your time to write back to us and our Tripadvisor readers after your stay.

I want to thank you for baring with us during the period when the renovations at the hotel was going on it's most comprehensive state.
We are truly sorry for not handeling this situation good enough as well as for any inconvenience and disturbance during your stay. During the renovation period we found that our planning and scheduling prior to the renovation began, should have been done differently on some cases and for some periods.
The episode you decribe regarding the elevator is not acceptable at any standards and I will make sure that we bring this further up in our evaluation now after the work is done.
I'm also sorry that we weren't able to assist you better during your stay at our hotel.

However I am happy to hear you enjoyed our location and view as well as the breakfast.
I truly hope on a later occasion you would give us an option to better your impression of the hotel. You are more than welcome to send me an email or call me prior to your next stay in Tromsø and I will hope to offer you a better stay with us as the renovation work is done and we have a new and better product your you and other guests!

Best regards
Kim Kjosnes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

When we first stepped in, we got a shock of our lives. There is no hotel lobby at all. Everything is under construction. But the service was really good and everyone was friendly. The view from our window is the best! It's overlooking the pier and into the mountains. Love it so very much.

Location is also very good. A lot of tours pick up is near our hotel. Breakfast is good as well. There's a variety of choices to choose from.

On the second night, we were chilling by our room window, when we notice a group of people by the pier looking up into the sky and taking their cameras out.

Out of curiosity, we head down and we see the aurora just above our heads. It's really a beautiful sight, one that we won't forget. Ended up camping by the pier (which is just outside our hotel) with the cameras till late at night. Luckily for us, we don't have to walk too far for shelter from the cold.

Overall, we would come back again because of the beautiful view. Hopefully the renovations will be over by then.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveller190475, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Hello.

Thank you for your kind review and thank you for staying at our hotel even if we were under a difficult period with comprehensive renovation going on!

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the view from your room and the service provided from our great staff.
Great fun that you had the opertunity to experience the Northern Lights from just outside the hotel! It is truly amazing and beautiful!
If you ever come back to Tromsø we would enjoy seeing some pictures!

Thank you again and welcome back to our hotel!

Best regards
Kim Kjosnes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corroios, Setúbal
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Hotel in the harbour with excellent location near the centrum and very good accessibility from the airport (last bus stop).
One of my best breakfasts in a hotel with lots of variety for every "tastes". Super friendly staff (especially the staff in the morning serving breakfast).
Food in the restaurant at dinner is also recommended.
Also my regards to the people at the reception for taking care of my "special" invoice!
The rooms are friendly, nice commodities.
Definitely, if I could return to Tromso, my first choice!!!

Room Tip: In the summer ask for a room turned to the mountain/harbour view, or you will have lots of light and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveller190475, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Bruno.

Thank you for your kind words!

We are very happy and proud to give our guests a good start in the morning with a various breakfast buffet and a warm smile from our friendly staff!
Hope that you found our new restaurant and dining experience Roast exciting, we are very happy with our new interior and concept!

Hope to see you back in Tromsø again, maybe in the Winter time(?).

Best regards
Kim Kjosnes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel just finished a large renovation, I was told the re-furbished all the public areas and added on additional floor to the hotel. The hotel now is perceived as brand new. My room was clean and modern with an amazing view of the sea. The room was equipped with amazing curtains that managed to block out the midnight sun entirely thus providing me with good solid sleep every night.

As a part of the renovation the hotel opened up a brand new restaurant called ROAST. This is an amazing place to enjoy your dinner in Tromsø. We tried several other places to dine while visiting the city, but returned to the ROAST several times as well, really unusually good quality for a "hotel restaurant" the place was full as well giving great atmosphere. Friendly team working in the hotel and I have to mention the breakfast - THE MOST AMAZING BREAKFAST I ever experienced in a hotel, especially the home made bread I was told came from the hotels own bakery - egg & omelettes live-staton cooked à la minute :-) I can highly recommend this hotel and will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hello.

Thank you so much for your kind review!

I'm very happy to hear that you liked our newly renovated hotel! We are really excited to welcome our guests to our "new" hotel.

One of the things we are most proud of is the new restaurant Roast. We think that we have found a well-working concept that is a bit out of the ordinary from what one can expect from a hotel restaurant.
You are correct, our bread is baked by our very own baker at the hotel. This is also one of our new additions to offer our guests the tiny bit extra while staying with us.

Hope to see you back in Tromsø and Rica Ishavshotel some time!

Best regards
Kim Kjosnes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Excellent location in the city on the water - lots of interests within walking distance. Breakfast was amazing. A bar meal was good, conference facilities were very good and the catering again excellent. Room was cheerful, clean and comfortable - would have been nice to have coffee/tea facilities. Staff were always pleasant and helpful. Can't talk much about the price - you know you are in Norway! Can't talk much about the weather - you know you are in the Arctic Circle! Don't be late for breakfast - they clear it on the dot.

The renovation is finishing soon - a major part was cleared when we were there, having read reviews before we booked, maybe they should have closed, but we came in near the end and it was not a huge problem. We did have to change our room after check in as we had a large cellophane covered crack in the window and a view down the scaffolding. The reception were happy to oblige and we had a very nice room thereafter.

Room Tip: Ask for the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Chris.

Thank you very much for writing back to us.

Such a pleasure to hear about your positive experience when visiting us!
I'm sorry we weren't completely finished with the renovation work, we have had some great delays, but I'm happy to hear that the last period of work didn't affect you to much.
Very glad to hear that the reception were able to assist you and offer you a better room, I'm sorry you were allocated a room with a cellophane crack in the window first.

We hope to see you back in Tromsø on a later occasion!

Best regards
Kim Kjosnes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Scandic Ishavshotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Ishavshotel

Address: Fredrik Langesgate 2, Tromso 9008, Norway (Formerly Rica Ishavshotel)
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tromso
#3 Business Hotel in Tromso
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Ishavshotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Ishavshotel has a unique location on the quay in the centre of Tromso. It is easy to get to as the bus station is close by and the airport is just 5 km away. Our rooms are of a high international standard and for conferences and events we have rooms in all sizes for 2 - 450 participants. Our restaurant offers a contemporary a la carte menu consisting only of the freshest seafood, fish and local meats all prepared in an original Josper grill featured in our open kitchen. Free WiFi is available in the rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Scandic Ishavshotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Ishavshotel Hotel
Rica Ishavshotel Tromso Tromsø
Rica Ishavshotel Tromso Hotel Tromsø

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Ishavshotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.