We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the View From Our Window!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Ishavshotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Ishavshotel to your Saves list
Scandic Ishavshotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Fredrik Langesgate 2, Tromso 9008, Norway (Formerly Rica Ishavshotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Love the View From Our Window!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

When we first stepped in, we got a shock of our lives. There is no hotel lobby at all. Everything is under construction. But the service was really good and everyone was friendly. The view from our window is the best! It's overlooking the pier and into the mountains. Love it so very much.

Location is also very good. A lot of tours pick up is near our hotel. Breakfast is good as well. There's a variety of choices to choose from.

On the second night, we were chilling by our room window, when we notice a group of people by the pier looking up into the sky and taking their cameras out.

Out of curiosity, we head down and we see the aurora just above our heads. It's really a beautiful sight, one that we won't forget. Ended up camping by the pier (which is just outside our hotel) with the cameras till late at night. Luckily for us, we don't have to walk too far for shelter from the cold.

Overall, we would come back again because of the beautiful view. Hopefully the renovations will be over by then.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveller190475, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Hello.

Thank you for your kind review and thank you for staying at our hotel even if we were under a difficult period with comprehensive renovation going on!

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the view from your room and the service provided from our great staff.
Great fun that you had the opertunity to experience the Northern Lights from just outside the hotel! It is truly amazing and beautiful!
If you ever come back to Tromsø we would enjoy seeing some pictures!

Thank you again and welcome back to our hotel!

Best regards
Kim Kjosnes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    72
    20
    11
    3
See reviews for
20
68
10
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corroios, Setúbal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Hotel in the harbour with excellent location near the centrum and very good accessibility from the airport (last bus stop).
One of my best breakfasts in a hotel with lots of variety for every "tastes". Super friendly staff (especially the staff in the morning serving breakfast).
Food in the restaurant at dinner is also recommended.
Also my regards to the people at the reception for taking care of my "special" invoice!
The rooms are friendly, nice commodities.
Definitely, if I could return to Tromso, my first choice!!!

Room Tip: In the summer ask for a room turned to the mountain/harbour view, or you will have lots of light and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveller190475, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Bruno.

Thank you for your kind words!

We are very happy and proud to give our guests a good start in the morning with a various breakfast buffet and a warm smile from our friendly staff!
Hope that you found our new restaurant and dining experience Roast exciting, we are very happy with our new interior and concept!

Hope to see you back in Tromsø again, maybe in the Winter time(?).

Best regards
Kim Kjosnes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel just finished a large renovation, I was told the re-furbished all the public areas and added on additional floor to the hotel. The hotel now is perceived as brand new. My room was clean and modern with an amazing view of the sea. The room was equipped with amazing curtains that managed to block out the midnight sun entirely thus providing me with good solid sleep every night.

As a part of the renovation the hotel opened up a brand new restaurant called ROAST. This is an amazing place to enjoy your dinner in Tromsø. We tried several other places to dine while visiting the city, but returned to the ROAST several times as well, really unusually good quality for a "hotel restaurant" the place was full as well giving great atmosphere. Friendly team working in the hotel and I have to mention the breakfast - THE MOST AMAZING BREAKFAST I ever experienced in a hotel, especially the home made bread I was told came from the hotels own bakery - egg & omelettes live-staton cooked à la minute :-) I can highly recommend this hotel and will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hello.

Thank you so much for your kind review!

I'm very happy to hear that you liked our newly renovated hotel! We are really excited to welcome our guests to our "new" hotel.

One of the things we are most proud of is the new restaurant Roast. We think that we have found a well-working concept that is a bit out of the ordinary from what one can expect from a hotel restaurant.
You are correct, our bread is baked by our very own baker at the hotel. This is also one of our new additions to offer our guests the tiny bit extra while staying with us.

Hope to see you back in Tromsø and Rica Ishavshotel some time!

Best regards
Kim Kjosnes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Excellent location in the city on the water - lots of interests within walking distance. Breakfast was amazing. A bar meal was good, conference facilities were very good and the catering again excellent. Room was cheerful, clean and comfortable - would have been nice to have coffee/tea facilities. Staff were always pleasant and helpful. Can't talk much about the price - you know you are in Norway! Can't talk much about the weather - you know you are in the Arctic Circle! Don't be late for breakfast - they clear it on the dot.

The renovation is finishing soon - a major part was cleared when we were there, having read reviews before we booked, maybe they should have closed, but we came in near the end and it was not a huge problem. We did have to change our room after check in as we had a large cellophane covered crack in the window and a view down the scaffolding. The reception were happy to oblige and we had a very nice room thereafter.

Room Tip: Ask for the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Chris.

Thank you very much for writing back to us.

Such a pleasure to hear about your positive experience when visiting us!
I'm sorry we weren't completely finished with the renovation work, we have had some great delays, but I'm happy to hear that the last period of work didn't affect you to much.
Very glad to hear that the reception were able to assist you and offer you a better room, I'm sorry you were allocated a room with a cellophane crack in the window first.

We hope to see you back in Tromsø on a later occasion!

Best regards
Kim Kjosnes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asker Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Located at the final stop for the airport express bus and at the port of hurtigruta makes the location of the hotel ideal for tourists.

There are nice view from most rooms. I had a view to the harbour.

The hotel is currently undergoing some refurbishments in some of the hallways and stairs. They have just finnished the reception and the restaurant area. Looks very nice. The elevators seems a bit worn and outdated
There was missing several light bulbs at the elevator entrance in my floor which make an dark and unpleasant impression.

The breakfast is one of the best I have had in a norwegian hotel. Huge selection of cereals, fruit, omelette, scrambled eggs, fried eggs and fresh "do it yourself" orange juice. The breakfast restaurant has a nice view of the mountains and the harbour.

Unfortunately one of the breakfast waitresses destroyed the experience by taking my plate as I was still eating! I cant understand why she did that? She did not even apologise as I had to ask her to give me the plate back.

Nice view and breakfast weigh up for the negative. Would recomend this place both for business travelleres and tourists.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Trond.

Thank you for your valuable feedback after you last stay with us.

I'm sorry about the matters regarding light bulbs and the state of the elevators. As a part of the renovation, the elevators has also been serviced and is working well now. However we should absolutely have discovered the light bulbs missing on an earlier state. I will look into our routines and better them so that we discover and can replace such items earlier.

Very nice to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. The "do it yourself" orange juice machine is quite popular and we are happy to have it as an addition to our breakfast.
Regarding the episode when on of our staff took your plate even before you had finished eating I can only apologize! I will forward your feedback to my colleagues and make sure we improve ourselves on this area.

Hope that you would chose us for your next stay and give us a chance to show our improvements.

Best regards
Kim Kjosnes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
196 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Very good restaurant in the hotel and excellent breakfast. No five stars because it is without pool, spa and wellness area. The rest is perfect. Very nice sea view. Recommended for single as well as family.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas L, F&B Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Dear A-Ego, Thank you for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor! We ar very happy to learn that you have enjoyed our breakfast & restaurants. We hope to welcome you again upon your next passig to Tromsø city! Safe travles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Scandic Ishavshotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Ishavshotel

Address: Fredrik Langesgate 2, Tromso 9008, Norway (Formerly Rica Ishavshotel)
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tromso
#3 Business Hotel in Tromso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Ishavshotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Ishavshotel has a unique location on the quay in the centre of Tromso. It is easy to get to as the bus station is close by and the airport is just 5 km away. Our rooms are of a high international standard and for conferences and events we have rooms in all sizes for 2 - 450 participants. Our restaurant offers a contemporary a la carte menu consisting only of the freshest seafood, fish and local meats all prepared in an original Josper grill featured in our open kitchen. Free WiFi is available in the rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Scandic Ishavshotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Ishavshotel Hotel
Rica Ishavshotel Tromso Tromsø
Rica Ishavshotel Tromso Hotel Tromsø

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Ishavshotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.