We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rica Ishavshotel

Save Saved
You added Rica Ishavshotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rica Ishavshotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Fr Langesgate 2, Tromso 9008, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 17 hotels in Tromso
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good location and great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel is located near to the central bus station and walking distance to the central of the town where you can find restaurants and shops. It is a busy hotel, as during our stay, there were a few business functions/conferences being held at the hotel, so could get crowded sometimes. Room is small, but clean. The sea view was ok, but not something I would pay extra bucks for. Breakfast was amazing with extensive spread. The hotel does offer some activities bookings, but the machine in the hall just does not seem to work well. After a few tries I gave up and went online to book. Rica and the hotel opposite seem to be some of the major pick up points for the activities, so it is quite convenient to stay here.

The stay is comfortable, and I think the hotel is considered to be of good standard in local context.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnar S, Manager at Rica Ishavshotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hello
Thanks for the nice feedback. We are glad you had a good time at our hotel. Welcome back on another occasion.

Best regards
Magnar Slåtto
HR Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    141
    54
    18
    22
See reviews for
40
147
31
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Having visited Tromso in early 2012, I had wanted to return and be able to stay at this hotel. Our room on the fifth floor was clean, comfortable with a fantastic power shower and amazing view across the sound by the bridge over to the Arctic Cathedral. It was a really warm day and infact the room was very warm come the morning with the sun blazing in!
Staff were chatty and helpful.
We did not eat dinner in the hotel but it did look very inviting. Breakfast was definitely the best we experienced in Norway, fabulous choice from fruit and pastries, breakfast shots, fish and meats, bacon, eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes etc plus freshly cooked waffles, pancakes and omlettes - delicious.
The only negative was parking - we were advised about meter parking but there was no where near by that was free so the hotel offers at ticket for spaces in public parking close by for K270, about £30, it did cover us until 1700 the next day but we were leaving to get our flight by 1100! Having been able to park easily and for free everywhere else we had travelled in North Norway, this came as a bit of a shock!
However, I would not hesitate recommending this hotel and it is a good base for exploring Tromso city.

Room Tip: Get one with a harbour view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnar S, Manager at Rica Ishavshotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hello
Thanks for the nice words. Parking in the city center is a challenge when we do not have our own space for parking. Capacity is unfortunately blown up. It is free to park in the city from 1700 and the next day so the price is not very high if you put the car in a municipal parking lot.

Best regards
Magnar Slåtto
HR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittard, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
452 helpful votes 452 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

After a 4 hour flight arriving at 1p.m. my room was not ready an had to wait . The room itself was small, with a beautifull view, adequate but small bathroom and clean.

A major flaw was that the curtains were not able to significantly block the sunlight (n.b. in Tromso during summertime even in the middle of the night sunlight can be very bright) so falling a sleep and stay a sleep is difficult.

Hotel staff is friendly.

Breakfast was good, lunch buffet was mediocre, prices in the hotel bar skyhigh (not a hotel problem but a Norwegian pricelevel problem).

When in Tromso I would book another hotel in the future

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnar S, Manager at Rica Ishavshotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hello
Sorry we did not live up to your expectations this time. We welcome you back on another occasion, and we shall do our best for your satisfaction.

Best regards
Magnar Slåtto
HR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is an upmarket hotel in a wonderful seaside location, yet very much in the centre of Tromso city. The rooms are clean and furnished and decorated to a high standard, as is the rest of the hotel. The location is quiet, as there is very little traffic past the hotel.

The highlight for our stay was the breakfast. It is really something. The buffet was absolutely enormous and filled with all sorts of wonderfully prepared goodies. What's more, the hotel says it's designed by experts to be a healthy version, too. Though my choice of mostly sausage, bacon and eggs may not have been the healthiest option... But thoroughly enjoyable, and worth going back to, given we find the right price.

Room Tip: Go for sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnar S, Manager at Rica Ishavshotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hello
Thanks for the nice feedback. Hope to see you back in Tromsø soon.

Best regards

Magnar Slåtto

HR Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, Surrey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We travelled as two couples and checked in for one night at the end of our Hurtigruten cruise to Kirkinees. It was very late when we docked but we had already pre-booked two rooms. Unfortunately, the receptionist (I think was new) put us in two single rooms!! Managed to find an extra duvet (with no cover) in the cupboard. Only one hand towel and one bath towel. We made do! Felt it was too late to call reception as it was now about 1.00 am.
Nonetheless,, the bed was comfortable but as with the outside temperatures, the room was very hot. Not the hotels fault as the temperature in Tromso was exceedingly high for that time of the year' The breakfast was extremely good. We were allowed to leave our luggage at the hotel, as we were not getting the flight from Tromso to Gatwick until quite late in the evening.

Room Tip: Make sure that the room you booked is not a single if you're travelling with a partner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnar S, Manager at Rica Ishavshotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hello
We are sorry that you got single instead of doubleroom. Next time you must let us know so we can fix this up. It must have been a misunderstanding. Hope you enjoyed Tromsø and want to come again.

We look forward to seeing you again on Ishavshotellet.

Best regards

Magnar Slåtto
HR Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with a friend for one night. We took the ferry (Hurtigruta) from Bodø up to Tromsø. According to google maps it would take us 4 minutes to walk from the dock at Tromsø to the hotel - but it only took 2 minutes to walk! I could see the hotel right when I got off the ferry!

The check in went smooth - I asked for a room with a seaview, and i got it.
I was informed that the hotel had bicycles that we could use for free! My friend was tired and went back to the room, and since it was only 8 pm, i decided to take that offer! I cycled around the city for 20 minutes. It was a nice bicycle ride :)

The breakfast was great! They had freshly made pancakes and waffles! You could order caffe latte, cappuccino, espresso etc. for free. There was fresh fruits, regular "norwegian" breakfast with bread, "knekkebrød" and different choices of ham and cheese in addition to egg, bacon and sausage (the usual warm breakfast). One of the breakfast I’ve had in a long time.

The only drawback was that the room was really warm :-/ We borrowed a fan and that helped a little bit, but we still had some trouble to sleep because of the heat in the room - even when we had the window open. In addition we were so unlucky to have some inconsiderate neighbor that started to play loud music with a lot of bass at 5 am in the morning - which woke up me and my friend... I felt the bass and the music even with ear plugs on! It did not stop until 6:30 am.. We had to call the reception 3 times, before the music finally stopped. Well, the music stopped for 2 minutes the first two times we called the reception... It wasn’t until the third time we called that the music finally stopped... I guess we were just unlucky. The staff was really helpful and did what they could to help us.

About the heat in the room - It was 20 celsius degrees when we were in Tromsø - which is uncommonly warm, maybe that’s why the room was so warm. I guess that we were just unlucky!

I will definitely book this hotel next time I go to Tromsø - but I will remember to ask to borrow two fans if it’s warm outside!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a seaview :) And ask for a fan if it’s warm outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnar S, Manager at Rica Ishavshotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hello.
Thank you for the nice feedback. We apologize for the noise ruined quality of your sleep. This summer has been unusually warm, which hotel guests have felt sadly. The normal level is much lower temperatures, and therefore we do not have air conditioning.

We look forward to seeing you again at Rica Ishavshotel.

Best regards

Magnar Slåtto

HR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

we stayed at the hotel for 2 nights during our visit to Tromso. The hotel is located near the harbour and we could see 'Hurtigruten' arrive and depart from our room. Rooms were very clean and modern with free internet access. There's no parking space at the hotel so we had to pay to park and this was very expensive. Breakfast-buffet was very good with a lot of choice. I certainly remember the delicious smoothies, the fresh fish and fruit. Would definitely go back if I'd visit the city again.
I don't know the price quality of the hotel because we booked a road trip trough Norway including flight and rental car, so I don't know the room price we've paid.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnar S, Manager at Rica Ishavshotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for the nice feedback. Parking is unfortunately a challenge in Tromsø, and there is unfortunately no separate place to the free disposal of the guests. One must make use of the capacity of the municipality of Tromsø.

Hope we see you back at our hotel another time. Have a nice summer.

Best regards

Magnar Slåtto
HR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rica Ishavshotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rica Ishavshotel

Address: Fr Langesgate 2, Tromso 9008, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rica Ishavshotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is centrally located in Tromso, also known as the Paris of the North. With its unique location on the quay, the hotel stretches out over the Tromso strait with magnificent views of the harbour, Ishavskatedralen and Tromsdalen.Rica Ishavshotel just won the prize as Norway's fifth best hotel, voted by TripAdvisors many travellers. The hotel is proud to boast the title "Traveller's Choice 2012". By June 2014 the hotel has expanded with 34 new rooms and suites. The entire 1st and 2nd floor which includes reception, lobby, restaurant and bar has been refurbished and we are proud to welcome our guests to a newly renovated hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rica Ishavshotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Ishavshotel Hotel
Rica Ishavshotel Tromso Tromsø
Rica Ishavshotel Tromso Hotel Tromsø

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rica Ishavshotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.