We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of the harbour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rica Ishavshotel

Save Saved
You added Rica Ishavshotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rica Ishavshotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Fr Langesgate 2, Tromso 9008, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 17 hotels in Tromso
Croydon, Surrey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great view of the harbour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We travelled as two couples and checked in for one night at the end of our Hurtigruten cruise to Kirkinees. It was very late when we docked but we had already pre-booked two rooms. Unfortunately, the receptionist (I think was new) put us in two single rooms!! Managed to find an extra duvet (with no cover) in the cupboard. Only one hand towel and one bath towel. We made do! Felt it was too late to call reception as it was now about 1.00 am.
Nonetheless,, the bed was comfortable but as with the outside temperatures, the room was very hot. Not the hotels fault as the temperature in Tromso was exceedingly high for that time of the year' The breakfast was extremely good. We were allowed to leave our luggage at the hotel, as we were not getting the flight from Tromso to Gatwick until quite late in the evening.

Room Tip: Make sure that the room you booked is not a single if you're travelling with a partner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnar S, Manager at Rica Ishavshotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hello
We are sorry that you got single instead of doubleroom. Next time you must let us know so we can fix this up. It must have been a misunderstanding. Hope you enjoyed Tromsø and want to come again.

We look forward to seeing you again on Ishavshotellet.

Best regards

Magnar Slåtto
HR Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    141
    54
    18
    22
See reviews for
40
147
31
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with a friend for one night. We took the ferry (Hurtigruta) from Bodø up to Tromsø. According to google maps it would take us 4 minutes to walk from the dock at Tromsø to the hotel - but it only took 2 minutes to walk! I could see the hotel right when I got off the ferry!

The check in went smooth - I asked for a room with a seaview, and i got it.
I was informed that the hotel had bicycles that we could use for free! My friend was tired and went back to the room, and since it was only 8 pm, i decided to take that offer! I cycled around the city for 20 minutes. It was a nice bicycle ride :)

The breakfast was great! They had freshly made pancakes and waffles! You could order caffe latte, cappuccino, espresso etc. for free. There was fresh fruits, regular "norwegian" breakfast with bread, "knekkebrød" and different choices of ham and cheese in addition to egg, bacon and sausage (the usual warm breakfast). One of the breakfast I’ve had in a long time.

The only drawback was that the room was really warm :-/ We borrowed a fan and that helped a little bit, but we still had some trouble to sleep because of the heat in the room - even when we had the window open. In addition we were so unlucky to have some inconsiderate neighbor that started to play loud music with a lot of bass at 5 am in the morning - which woke up me and my friend... I felt the bass and the music even with ear plugs on! It did not stop until 6:30 am.. We had to call the reception 3 times, before the music finally stopped. Well, the music stopped for 2 minutes the first two times we called the reception... It wasn’t until the third time we called that the music finally stopped... I guess we were just unlucky. The staff was really helpful and did what they could to help us.

About the heat in the room - It was 20 celsius degrees when we were in Tromsø - which is uncommonly warm, maybe that’s why the room was so warm. I guess that we were just unlucky!

I will definitely book this hotel next time I go to Tromsø - but I will remember to ask to borrow two fans if it’s warm outside!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a seaview :) And ask for a fan if it’s warm outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnar S, Manager at Rica Ishavshotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hello.
Thank you for the nice feedback. We apologize for the noise ruined quality of your sleep. This summer has been unusually warm, which hotel guests have felt sadly. The normal level is much lower temperatures, and therefore we do not have air conditioning.

We look forward to seeing you again at Rica Ishavshotel.

Best regards

Magnar Slåtto

HR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

we stayed at the hotel for 2 nights during our visit to Tromso. The hotel is located near the harbour and we could see 'Hurtigruten' arrive and depart from our room. Rooms were very clean and modern with free internet access. There's no parking space at the hotel so we had to pay to park and this was very expensive. Breakfast-buffet was very good with a lot of choice. I certainly remember the delicious smoothies, the fresh fish and fruit. Would definitely go back if I'd visit the city again.
I don't know the price quality of the hotel because we booked a road trip trough Norway including flight and rental car, so I don't know the room price we've paid.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnar S, Manager at Rica Ishavshotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for the nice feedback. Parking is unfortunately a challenge in Tromsø, and there is unfortunately no separate place to the free disposal of the guests. One must make use of the capacity of the municipality of Tromsø.

Hope we see you back at our hotel another time. Have a nice summer.

Best regards

Magnar Slåtto
HR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very helpful staff at check in. Standard quiet hotel room without any fancy stuff. Nice view over the harbour. Internet in the room that worked very well. Gigantic breakfeast buffet with warm and cold dishes, a cook that prepeared eggs and bacon fresh for you and a large varity of juices to choose from.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnar S, Manager at Rica Ishavshotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We are very happy that you had a pleasant stay with us at Rica Ishavshotel. Please check back at a later date. Have a nice summer.

Best regards

Magnar Slåtto
HR Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi,India
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The junior suite was spacious with a balcony and large windows so that we could fully enjoy the midnight sun . The breakfast was sumptuous with much variety and good quality . A smorgasbord plus . The bar on the first floor was nothing much but the 6th floor bar - open till 3 am to make the most of the midnight sun had lovely views and a very convivial atmosphere . Hotel location central

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnar S, Manager at Rica Ishavshotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks for the kind words and that you had a good stay at Rica Ishavshotel. We e very proud of our view, and appreciate that you also enjoyed the breakfast. Have a nice summer.

Best regards


Magnar Slåtto
HR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had a booking for 8 nights at this hotel but left after only one night.
We had booked a superior room.
When we entered the room, it was hot and stuffy.
Opening the windows meant having the curtains open and therefore no privacy.
The room was small.
There was limited storage/shelving etc.
It would be OK for one night but we knew it would not work for us for 8 nights so we changed hotels.
Breakfast was good though!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnar S, Manager at Rica Ishavshotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
First I regret that we did not meet the expectations you had at our hotel. We tried to upgrade you to a larger room, but unfortunately every room occupied.

You were visiting Tromso at a time when temperatures were abnormally high to be so far north. Typically, the temperatures are much lower so air conditioning is not needed in Tromso. With our sunny location so we know that the rooms were warm, and the air which was perceived poor.

We welcome you back an other time, and we will do our best to be the good host.

Best regards

Magnar Slåtto
HR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Perfect location. Everything in the city is within a short walk. For longer trips check out the free bikes available at reception. Friendly staff. Clean, comfortable rooms with dark curtains. A must in the summer!
The breakfast was incredible! Fresh squeezed OJ, fresh smoothies, lots of fruit, and did I mention chocolate fondue? All of this on top of fresh waffles and pancakes, omelettes, different types of fish, and much much more!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnar S, Manager at Rica Ishavshotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are particularly pleased that you enjoyed our food. Hope to see you soon again at Rica Ishavshotel in the future. Have a nice summer.

Best Regards Magnar Slåtto
HR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rica Ishavshotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rica Ishavshotel

Address: Fr Langesgate 2, Tromso 9008, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rica Ishavshotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is centrally located in Tromso, also known as the Paris of the North. With its unique location on the quay, the hotel stretches out over the Tromso strait with magnificent views of the harbour, Ishavskatedralen and Tromsdalen.Rica Ishavshotel just won the prize as Norway's fifth best hotel, voted by TripAdvisors many travellers. The hotel is proud to boast the title "Traveller's Choice 2012". By June 2014 the hotel has expanded with 34 new rooms and suites. The entire 1st and 2nd floor which includes reception, lobby, restaurant and bar has been refurbished and we are proud to welcome our guests to a newly renovated hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rica Ishavshotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Ishavshotel Hotel
Rica Ishavshotel Tromso Tromsø
Rica Ishavshotel Tromso Hotel Tromsø

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rica Ishavshotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.