We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice basic hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Tromso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Tromso to your Saves list
Scandic Tromso
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Heiloveien 23, Tromso 9269, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Kemi, Lapland, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice basic hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Hotel was very clean and peacfull. Room was cosy and breakfast was normal hotel breakfast without any local specialities. Restaurant was quite expensive if compared to other nordic hotels. Location was qood outside the city centre.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjell Olav P, General Manager at Scandic Tromso, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Reima R.

All feedback is very important for us and I thank you for your review.

Wish you all the best for the rest of this summer!


Best regards

Kjell Olav Pettersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    71
    77
    26
    11
See reviews for
27
48
17
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Travelled by car to Tromsø, so a hotel away from the city centre was an option. Scandic is a good hotel brand in Nordic, so this hotel was chosen on value. Although next to the airport, I only heard 2 planes landing through out the night! What make this stay so memorable was the great restaurant tips from the receptionist on duty. Japanese restaurant, Rå Sushi & Bar.

Room Tip: Handy to have an electric extension cord, there are no bedside electric outlet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjell Olav P, General Manager at Scandic Tromso, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Eraedcn.

Thank you for your review and wish you a great summer!


Best regards

Kjell Olav Pettersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I spent one night at the Scandic Tromsø. I believe the hotel was built in in the sixties, and it's certainly starting to show it's age. The design is rather dated and the building is showing signs of wear and tear.

There were several good things about hotel, however. The bed was lovely. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was pretty good. As I was exhausted, I ended up eating dinner at the hotel restaurant. I would certainly avoid the pizza. The toppings were nice, but the crust was very strange and not very tasty.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Although I have stayed only a night at this hotel, I found it good for the money I paid. The breakfast was very good. The room was quite and the bed was comfortable, I had a good sleep. The room and the bathroom were very clean and the staff was friendly. For the money I paid, I am satisfied with the level of quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjell Olav P, General Manager at Scandic Tromso, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Alperb.

Thank you for your positive review and wish you a great summer.


Best regards

Kjell Olav Pettersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Norway's hotels are expensive!
I knew this but I could not wait for my trip to Tromsø to see the Northern Lights! While the Scandic Hotel has its negatives the price was fantastic. An even better bonus? The continental breakfast. It was delicious and a great way to start a chilly day in Tromsø.

The hotel is close to the airport and a shopping mall but it is some distance (and a pricy bus ticket and an even pricier cab ride) to the center of town. However, its location away from some of the town lights increases your chance of seeing the Northern Lights from your window!

If you are looking for an upgraded hotel close to town look elsewhere. If you want a great breakfast and a great Norwegian price, the Scandic Hotel is worth a look.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjell Olav P, General Manager at Scandic Tromso, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Emmerness.

Thank you for your review and wish you a great summer.



Best regards

Kjell Olav Pettersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I stayed here 2 nights (May 19-21). The room was sort of ok, but the bathroom looks 25++ years old. No shower cabinet, the water should spill all over. Despite having few guests I was assigned a room with a view to the garbage container, the views facing the fjord are so much better! I requested a queen bed when booking, but this hotel appears to only have rooms with two narrow single beds separated by a table, in each room.The restaurant could not offer a single guest anything between a glass of wine and a full bottle, the reason being: "we are part of a chain and cannot do anything differently" (read: cannot think service). My third night in Tromsø, in the city center, is at a better hotel, but still priced about 300 NOK less.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the fjord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjell Olav P, General Manager at Scandic Tromso, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Petter B.

Being a part of a large hotel company gives us a lot of oportunities and we have every tool neccessary to give the best service experience.
I thank you for your review and we will keep on training every day to increase our service level.


Best regards

Kjell Olav Pettersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This hotel is all you need for a perfect trip to see the northern lights. Close to the airport with stunning views of the fjords and mountains and free parking.
Breakfast choice is more than enough for anyone's needs.
Very helpful staff.

Room Tip: Airport side rooms have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjell Olav P, General Manager at Scandic Tromso, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Alan.

Thank you for your positive review. I will make sure that all staff members will hear about your kind words.


Best regards

Kjell Olav Pettersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
1.8 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#6 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
1.7 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
1.8 mi away
Scandic Grand Tromso
Scandic Grand Tromso
#15 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Clarion Hotel The Edge
#4 of 18 in Tromso
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Tromso

Address: Heiloveien 23, Tromso 9269, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Tromso 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Scandic Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Tromso Hotel
Scandic Hotel Tromsø

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Tromso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.