We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful and friendly staff..great food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Tromso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Tromso to your Saves list
Scandic Tromso
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Heiloveien 23, Tromso 9269, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Aalsmeer, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Helpful and friendly staff..great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

The hotel is about 20-25 minutes walk from the airport and the view while you walk it, is breathtaking.The staff was friendly and the provided us with a room having a great view of the fjord as requested.The rooms were spacious with big beds,but a bit outdated.
The bus stop is a 5 minute walk from the hotel,and a mall is located adjacent to it,with supermarkets eateries as well as fashion stores.
Burger King is a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel.
The breakfast was inclusive and had a decent spread.The timings however are till 9:30,which could have been till 10,as after a night of Aurora chasing it is usually difficult to wake up early for breakfast.We had dinner at the restaurant too ...and their special dish of Skrei was exceptional, the taste of which shall be cherished for a long time.
We faced an issue,when we found our door unlocked on returning after a city tour in the evening as the cleaning staff had left it open by mistake...even though nothing was misplaced,the staff took full responsibility and were apologetic about the circumstances.
Perhaps as a good will gesture,they offered to rent us a cab to the airport (about 135 Kr ) the next day when we were to leave.Fly buses to and from the airport also come up to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the 3rd floor facing the fjord
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjell Olav P, General Manager at Scandic Tromso, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Nandini M.

Thank you for your warm and positive review.
Wish you all the best and hope to see you soon back in Tromsø.


Best regards

Kjell Olav Pettersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    53
    63
    18
    10
See reviews for
21
40
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west sussex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a warm, cozy and comfortable place to stay. We did not receive the room we had requested yet on our second night the helpful staff put this right and upgraded us to a suite and also offered a complimentary dinner. The whole stay was fantastic and we felt very at home here, coming and going as we pleased and always warm and welcoming. The breakfast was very good. Lots on offer including cooked, fruit, breads, ham cheeses cereals pancakes etc etc. you could not fault this hotel. In many descriptions of the hotel it states you could walk into the centre of town. We were unaware of how you could do this, so we stuck to the buses, if a bit expensive, and after a few rides we knew the roads and route like the back of our hand. Would not hesitate to recommend dining at the hotel, the restaurant/breakfast room has beautiful views over the fjord and mountains. It is a must to request the airport side of the hotel. Good views of the planes taking off and the fjord and mountain view is exceptional. We stayed for 3 nights and would love to have stayed longer! Well done scandic you excelled yourself! Thank you very much.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjell Olav P, General Manager at Scandic Tromso, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Nuttytart21.

Thank you for your very positive review after staying at Scandic Tromsø.
We are not the most modern hotel, so our main focus is to give our guests the warm, cozy and comfortable feeling that you describe.

Thank you again and my team and I wish you all the best!


Best regards

Kjell Olav Pettersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Like all Scandics, this is a very family-friendly hotel. Children under 13 stay free-of-charge, but rooms get a bit tight with two extra beds.
The rooms were nice, certainly not the latest fashion but well-kept. The hotel is located on the airport side of Tromsø island. If you do not have too much luggage you can literally walk there in 20 minutes from the terminal building. Breakfast selection was good, but it does not change from day to day. The restaurant is functional, but has a nice view. So do all the rooms with odd numbers towards the fjord (overlooking a shopping center and the airport). Jekta shopping center is a good five minutes walk from the hotel. Here is also where local buses to town depart. It does not have the "downtown" feeling, but Tromsø is small and it is still conveniently located and there are a lot of possibilities for nice walks in the surroundings.

Room Tip: Rooms on the western side (odd numbers) have nice views over the fjord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjell Olav P, General Manager at Scandic Tromso, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Ckalthoff.

Thank you for your review after your stay at Scandic Tromsø and we really appreciate your positive comments.


Best regards

Kjell Olav Pettersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burfjord, Troms, Norway
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This old hotel stays alive mainly due to the fact that it is the only hotel at the location, which is 2,3 km from Langnes Airport. Other hotels are in the city. At Scandic Hotel tromsø the buildings and the room interiors are old. Many guestrooms have bad air in them when you enter, and the air-conditioning is poor, it gives lots of noice but not much fresh air. NB: It is possible to open a window to get fresh air. I score rooms "average" despite problems with air and wear and tear - because they are so wonderful old-fashioned spacious! I have seen 3 guestrooms, all of them had good furniture like comfortable chair and proper writing desk. No minibar in guestrooms. No coffee or tea for free (cost 15 kr).
Staff is not very well trained, on a good day exception made for front desk staff. Breakfast offers necessities, Norwegian style only.
Good things about the hotel:
Located outside the city itself, the hotel surroundings are quiet in evenings and at night.
The hotel has a superfine fjord- and mountain-view
Wild forest can be seen outside the hotel. You can walk to the seaside from the hotel (30 min).
Very good shopping-area next to the hotel.
Some nice ("retro arctic") design-features inside the hotel.
Most guestrooms have a nice view.
Rooms are very spacious.
Bathroom is nice, with lots of hot water in the shower.
Staff are friendly and helpful.
The hotel has Japanese-speaking guide working at the front desk (at certain times)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the airport. This will give you a wonderful view to fjords and mountains. (The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjell Olav P, General Manager at Scandic Tromso, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear WildChef.

Thank you for your review! It is of great value to us in our work to improve.


Best regards

Kjell Olav Pettersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I have been a regular guest for nearly 7 years. These are my main reason for returning to Scandic Hotel Tromsø:

- friendly and service minded staff
- rich and fresh breakfast
- a well equipped gym with an absolutely stunning view to Kvaløya and the mountains
- I always sleep well and feel well rested

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjell Olav P, General Manager at Scandic Tromso, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Helmer100.

Thank you so much for your kind words, they really mean alot to us.
We will always keep trying to be better and I really hope we see you again soon.


Best regards

Kjell Olav Pettersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

An OK hotel that at least when we where there was cheap by Norwegian standards. The room we stayed in was a bit old, and Their description on the booking website promised a flat screen TV but there was not one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjell Olav P, General Manager at Scandic Tromso, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Greg S.

Thank you for your review.
I am sorry that we had a delay, but I am happy to say that flat screen TVs are now in place in every room.

Best regards

Kjell Olav Pettersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Last night I was a guest at a university dinner at this hotel. By law all restaurants in Norway who have a license to serve wine and spirits, are required to also offer non-alcoholic wine. When I requested this last night the waiter said they did not have the non-alcoholic wine. I told them they were breaking the law, and requested them to get hold of it ASAP (from a nearby restaurant). My daughter owns a bar in town, and this is what these places do all the time.

When I left the dinner three hours later they had not served me the drink I requested, and which they by Norwegian law are required to serve on request. And they never told me what happened. I drank water throughout the whole dinner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjell Olav P, General Manager at Scandic Tromso, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Vinjar.

Thank you for your review.
I can assure you that we follow Norwegian law in all aspects, also regarding non-alcoholic wine and I have just checked that we have non-alcoholic wine in our storage.
What we need to do is to review our routines and make sure that all staff has updated information, training and knowledge. Your feed back is a perfect example on that we always can do better. I am very sorry that we did not deliver as we should and at the same time I thank you for your constructiv feed back.

Best regards

Kjell Olav Pettersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Tromso

Address: Heiloveien 23, Tromso 9269, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Tromso 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Tromso Hotel
Scandic Hotel Tromsø

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Tromso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.