We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget Hotel in the Center of Tromso” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thon Hotel Polar

Save Saved
You added Thon Hotel Polar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thon Hotel Polar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gronnegata 45, Tromso 9008, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Tromso
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good Budget Hotel in the Center of Tromso”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We booked this hotel without realizing that this was a budget hotel. The rooms were basic, but good enough and very clean. The location is in the old town of Tromso and lots of places are within walking distance. There is no air conditioning in the room.

Breakfast is served in the Egon restaurant and it was ample with very good selection. There was free wifi, which worked fine.

The staff was friendly, but their knowledge about nearby parking options could be better. They advised us to park to nearby underground parking, but it didn't work with any of our credit cards. We ended up parking right across the street in EuroPark and it was fine for us. Most of the parking spots there are reserved but there were some available to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear traveler,
We appreciate you took the time to evaluate your stay with us at the Thon Hotel Polar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    121
    59
    14
    8
See reviews for
32
96
49
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is centrally located and just a few minutes walk from the airport bus stop.

The rooms are a little tired but still comfortable. As we were there in the middle of summer, it was daylight all the time and the curtains weren't very thick so the room was quite light at night. It also got a little stuffy with the windows closed as there was no air conditioning.

There was free wifi throughout the hotel which was reliable although not particularly fast.

Breakfast was taken in the adjoining Egon restaurant. There was a good selection of breads, cereals, cheeses and some hot food too.

Check in was very slow as the receptionist disappeared for quite a while but overall the staff were very friendly.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear traveler, We appreciate you took the time to evaluate your stay with us.
We hope to see you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I somehow accidentally got to stay at this hotel. Didn't realize it was a budget hotel. Anyway, my stay was ok.
Location : Tromso is very small so don't worry too much about the location.
Room & Bathroom : looks like a very clean budget hotel, everything is working.
Wifi : free and working ok.
Breakfast : ok, not great but included.
Staff : efficient and helpful.
It is a budget hotel so if yours is not too tight, there are many more nicer hotels, especially the ones around the waterfront with the view.
But if you just need a decent bed and breakfast, this is it.

Room Tip: We had 5 rooms and they were different in details but they were not better or worse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear traveler, We appreciate you took the time to evaluate your stay with us.
We hope to see you back again in the near future.
Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
1,357 reviews 1,357 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 210 cities Reviews in 210 cities
543 helpful votes 543 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Friendly staff and very comfortable room. I arrived after a day long bus journey from Fauske and had no problem checking in at 9pm without any prior booking. Breakfast was good. Only complaint would be the noise from the street outside. Maybe Tromsø is a party town but this was midweek and there were a lot of motorbikes.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank You for Your positive feedback.
We are pleased to hear that You enjoyed so many aspects of Your stay, and hope
You will return to us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Aside from having all possible amenities and comforts, the one thing that amazed me the most was the ecological focus of the hotel: you need to insert your card key into a main switch inside the room in order for the room to have electricity, excluding the TV, which is absolutely awesome and appropriate. We stayed in late June and the blinds are exactly what you need to darken the room while the splendid midnight sun shines all over beautiful Tromsø. Nice wifi with user and password, which helps the bandwidth and security. And finally the breakfast buffet is abundant and delicious, even for a vegetarian as myself. Go to Tromsø, stay here and see the midnattsol from a fjord.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your positive review! We are looking forward welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Hotel has very good location, stuff is very friendly. Breakfast in Egon at 1st floor was awesome!!! Free tea and coffee at the reception. In 1 minute is flybussen buss stop. We really enjoyed your stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us. Your comments have been shared with everyone here and we hope you will find time to return to us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I stayed at Polar for two nights and had an enjoyable stay. The beds were really good and the breakfast was even better.

The room was quite small, but as I was travelling alone it was big enough.

I would not mind to stay here another time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted to hear that your stay was such a success, and hope to see you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thon Hotel Polar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Polar

Address: Gronnegata 45, Tromso 9008, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Tromso
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Polar 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Thon Hotel Polar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Tromsø

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thon Hotel Polar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.