We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ideal Place To Stay While Visiting Tromso and Chasing Northern Lights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thon Hotel Polar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Thon Hotel Polar to your Saves list
Thon Hotel Polar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gronnegata 45, Tromso 9008, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Ideal Place To Stay While Visiting Tromso and Chasing Northern Lights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Just as important when travelling is where you would put up for the night.

The Thon Hotel Polar is a budget hotel, but its room is very comfortable and has an attached bathroom that is comfortably sized too (even for a big guy like me). The staff were friendly and all speak English, helpful and even cracked jokes with you. A salute to your great services Mikail Kose, Lilly Mathisen and Maria Wang.

My stay in the hotel was part of the package by ChasingLights.co and I think they choose well for me - a relatively fussy, need clean linens,access to food, no hassle free Wi-Fi, peace and quiet when I sleep type person.

I was given the 9th floor so I can see out northerly, but have sufficient east and west glimpses. The hotel also has access to an attached restaurant (Egon) that serves 3 meals, but no room services or overnights.

At the lobby, the Thon serves free coffee/tea. And its vending machine is well stocked. If the budget hotel doesn't grab you, you can go opposite the road to the Thon Hotel Tromso.
But really ... I like it here.

Met a few Japanese researchers, weekend party-goers, and African visitors, and then some. Yup we all agreed, its the place we would like to be.

Kudos to the hotel and the adventure company that booked me in here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing Thon Hotel Tromsø during your recent visit to Tromsø.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff, service and location met your expectations.
I hope you got to see the amazing Northern Lights during your stay in Tromsø:)

We hope to see you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    124
    60
    17
    8
See reviews for
32
98
52
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Thon Hotel Polar is an excellent hotel. The excellence started when we checked in: Kjell on Reception was awesome. We were offered a choice of room (high up, facing North was the answer), he answered all our questions and offered good, thoughtful help and advice.

Room 942 (lift to floor eight and then a few steps up to floor nine) is large, warm, clean and has all that you need. The bathroom, while not huge, is plenty big enough and has a very pleasant shower. Free wi-fi is available in the room and free coffee is available from a machine in Reception. The only downside is the very soft bed. A problem for anyone with back problems.

Breakfast is at the adjoining Egon Restaurant and offers an ample choice of hot and cold dishes.

If we return to Tromso we'll return to Thon Hotel Polar!

Room Tip: Top floor facing North for the Northern Lights (if they appear!).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted to hear that your stay was such a success.
Kjell say thank you for the feedback you have given him.

Hope to see you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

this hotel offered good clean room with nice bathroom. Breakfast was fantastic with a big variety of dishes. hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. There was free coffee and tea in the reception area. Computer and a printer were provided free for the use of the guests near the reception so we could print our boarding passes etc. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing Thon Hotel Polar during your recent visit to Tromsø.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff, service and location met your expectations.

We hope to see you back again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Staff was amazingly courteous and helpful with everything. The room was surprisingly big, with 2 twin beds that were comfortable, a desk, a couch, a huge bathroom. They have a deal with the Eagon restaurant just next door for the breakfast, so we could start the day with good quality food.

It's located near pretty much everything : tourist information, bars, restaurants, exterior market, museums, major bus lines. From there, we were able to easily go to the cable car, the botanical garden, and visit Ersfjordbotn (which I really recommend).

Only downside : the view from the room wasn't a good view, the window gave to some walls, but we couldn't care less as we were there only for sleeping.

If I had to go back to Tromsø again, I'd book my room there without any hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing Thon Hotel Polar during your recent visit to Tromsø.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff, service and location met your expectations.

We hope to see you back again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel offers an excellent service in general: staff is helpful and breakfast is served at the Egon next door so you can enjoy good quality food (up to 11 am on weekends!). You can also enjoy a coffee machine at the reception (and espresso).

Our room was quite a surprise: the room was so big! You can also relax on a sofa. The window was not opening, but when you set the temperature at the minimum you get an okay overall temperature.

Location is really good since you can walk to major attractions or get a bus to go to the Botanic garden or the cable car.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing Thon Hotel Polar during your recent visit to Tromsø.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff, service and location met your expectations.

We hope to see you back again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
538 helpful votes 538 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel was clean. The bed was comfortable. The location was decent. The Egon restaurant next door provided a nice place for a quick meal/snack. My main complaint would be that we had to haul our luggage up and down a flight of stairs because the elevator does not run to the 9th floor. As with other hotels we stayed in during this trip, we were lucky to have windows that opened because the room was warm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We were happy to hear that the overall impression of your stay was good. However, we are not satisfied that you had to haul your luggage up and down. The elevator in the hotel goes to 8th floor.
We hope that you enjoyed the view from the 9th floor.

We hope to see you back again in the near future.
Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Located right in the city center, it was the perfect choice for us. We got a huge, bright room, with a nice bathroom. The only slightly negative was the breakfast buffet, which didn't offer many choices for us who are vegan or lactose intolerant. Being used to at least a soy milk option at all other Thon hotels I've stayed at, I was surprised. The staff was incredibly helpful and service minded.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing Thon Hotel Tromsø during your recent visit to Tromsø.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff, service and location met your expectations.
Your comment is taken on to the breakfast manager.

We hope to see you back again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thon Hotel Polar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Polar

Address: Gronnegata 45, Tromso 9008, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Polar 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thon Hotel Polar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Tromsø

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thon Hotel Polar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.