We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location and good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thon Hotel Polar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Thon Hotel Polar to your Saves list
Thon Hotel Polar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gronnegata 45, Tromso 9008, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good location and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

this hotel offered good clean room with nice bathroom. Breakfast was fantastic with a big variety of dishes. hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. There was free coffee and tea in the reception area. Computer and a printer were provided free for the use of the guests near the reception so we could print our boarding passes etc. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing Thon Hotel Polar during your recent visit to Tromsø.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff, service and location met your expectations.

We hope to see you back again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    133
    71
    19
    8
See reviews for
35
105
53
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Staff was amazingly courteous and helpful with everything. The room was surprisingly big, with 2 twin beds that were comfortable, a desk, a couch, a huge bathroom. They have a deal with the Eagon restaurant just next door for the breakfast, so we could start the day with good quality food.

It's located near pretty much everything : tourist information, bars, restaurants, exterior market, museums, major bus lines. From there, we were able to easily go to the cable car, the botanical garden, and visit Ersfjordbotn (which I really recommend).

Only downside : the view from the room wasn't a good view, the window gave to some walls, but we couldn't care less as we were there only for sleeping.

If I had to go back to Tromsø again, I'd book my room there without any hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing Thon Hotel Polar during your recent visit to Tromsø.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff, service and location met your expectations.

We hope to see you back again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel offers an excellent service in general: staff is helpful and breakfast is served at the Egon next door so you can enjoy good quality food (up to 11 am on weekends!). You can also enjoy a coffee machine at the reception (and espresso).

Our room was quite a surprise: the room was so big! You can also relax on a sofa. The window was not opening, but when you set the temperature at the minimum you get an okay overall temperature.

Location is really good since you can walk to major attractions or get a bus to go to the Botanic garden or the cable car.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing Thon Hotel Polar during your recent visit to Tromsø.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff, service and location met your expectations.

We hope to see you back again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
538 helpful votes 538 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel was clean. The bed was comfortable. The location was decent. The Egon restaurant next door provided a nice place for a quick meal/snack. My main complaint would be that we had to haul our luggage up and down a flight of stairs because the elevator does not run to the 9th floor. As with other hotels we stayed in during this trip, we were lucky to have windows that opened because the room was warm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We were happy to hear that the overall impression of your stay was good. However, we are not satisfied that you had to haul your luggage up and down. The elevator in the hotel goes to 8th floor.
We hope that you enjoyed the view from the 9th floor.

We hope to see you back again in the near future.
Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Located right in the city center, it was the perfect choice for us. We got a huge, bright room, with a nice bathroom. The only slightly negative was the breakfast buffet, which didn't offer many choices for us who are vegan or lactose intolerant. Being used to at least a soy milk option at all other Thon hotels I've stayed at, I was surprised. The staff was incredibly helpful and service minded.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing Thon Hotel Tromsø during your recent visit to Tromsø.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff, service and location met your expectations.
Your comment is taken on to the breakfast manager.

We hope to see you back again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Locates in the city center, and as all Thon hotels, has good quality of rooms (clean, good equipment) and good service. Breakfast is served in Egon restraunt and is good as well.
The only one thing could be improved in my opionion - the windows are locked so if you want fresh air - you're not able to get it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing Thon Hotel Polar during your recent visit to Tromsø.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff, service and location met your expectations.

Some of our rooms face too close to neighboring buildings. The rooms are required to have fire window and can not be opened.
We hope to see you back again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is a budget hotel so we know what to expect, and in that regard they give more than adequate value. The breakfast is eaten in the restaurant (Egon) next door, and it is really nice and well above what we expect from a budget hotel.

We had a room facing a back alley (room 225), so the only view we had was another building. But that was perfectly fine as it was quiet at night and we where only in the room to sleep.

The room itself is really well kept (it should be, the hotel is only a few years old. The floor is hardwood and the bathroom is tiles only.

The problems we had was with the bed and the heating system. The bed was so soft that when either me or my wife turned over in our sleep, the other would wake up due to all the motion. It was almost like being back in the 80's when waterbeds was all the rage.

The other major problem we had was with the ventilation. We turned the A/C as cold as we could get it, but it was like it was not working at all. Normally this would not be a problem in Tromsø, as you would only open a window (even if it according to the locals was so hot outside that they where melting away, it was only 15 degrees Celsius at night). However the windows could not be opened! We ended up waking at night in a room that was extremely hot and where the air felt extremely thick.

I would stay at this hotel again, but I would make sure that I got a room where the ventilation system worked.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room where the ventilation system works and the bed is not too soft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing Thon Hotel Polar during your visit to Tromsø.
We are sorry to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations.

We have received great feedback on our beds, and regret that they have not been satisfactory for you.

Some of our rooms have fire window, they can not be opened. Ask for a room that opens next time you book hotel accommodation.
We hope to see you back again in the near future
Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thon Hotel Polar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Polar

Address: Gronnegata 45, Tromso 9008, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Polar 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Thon Hotel Polar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Tromsø

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thon Hotel Polar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.