We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thon Hotel Polar

Save Saved
You added Thon Hotel Polar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thon Hotel Polar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gronnegata 45, Tromso 9008, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Tromso
Roeselare, Belgium
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Friendly young lady checked us in, everything went smooth. The room was small but acceptable. Everything was clean. The breakfast was served in the adjacent restaurant and was really incredible. And I would suggest you eat a large breakfast, because eating out in Norway is very expensive. We only stayed 1 night. Location is close by to the domkirke, the small sopping mall, the tourist center and the Tromso tunnel parking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    121
    59
    14
    8
See reviews for
32
96
49
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Over a period of 3 days, after 10 days in China at hotels in world class at cheap price, is was a new reality to come to this hotel. In the middle of Tromsø, the location is perfect; walking distance to everything. The rooms are low budget level and the breakfast was quite OK. Price pr night is n correlation with location and not quality. I hope I can take another hotel in the area next time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel is pretty much a central location. The bus from and to the airport stops outside and takes around 15 minutes at the most and was cheaper than a taxi. We paid for bed and breakfast and the breakfast was ok not the best but sufficient enough for the few days we were there. Food and drink is expensive, I know everyone says this but in Tromso it is around £12 for a pint of larger and around £10 for a smirnoff ice. If you are looking for a drinking holiday then this is not the place. Average meal costing for two people was between £45 and and £60. The Thon Polar hotel is adjoined to Egon Restaurant where breakfast is served. We ate here every night as the food was lovely. The restaurant also does a pizza buffet most days which is cheap and good value for money but does get busy. The hotel has free wi fi and this was also accessible in the rooms. We had a room on the 9th floor and had a view of the harbour, fjords and mountains. The view was spectacular. We went in December and arranged dog sledding which was cancelled due to no snow and we also missed out on seeing the Northern Lights as they did not show. As we went in December this was in the winter Solis so was no natural day light which was a bit strange but also lovely to see. Its not a place I would rush back to as although we did excursions it was still too quiet for me but it was lovely to experience the views as I doubt there are many views which would beat it.

Room Tip: Lift only goes to floor 8 but floor 9 was spectacular views of the fjords
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your comment.
We hope that you will visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Fantastic staff - always very helpful, and always very warm and welcoming.

The free buffet breakfast is very adequate, with plenty of breads, pastries, fruits, cold meats, and some hot food. There is also plenty of seating in the restaurant, and the set-up of the restaurant means you can have plenty of privacy if you wish. Perfect to sit and read a book or a magazine whilst you have your breakfast.

Free tea and coffee machine in the reception, and one computer (which I think was connected to a printer) for free use also.

Rooms are basic, but has more than what's needed. My single room had a large TV, a small sitting chair with a round side-table, as well as a study table with a chair. There was also plenty of space near the doorway to put my skis and boots!

The airport Flybussen stops a street behind the hotel also.

Really wasn't much I could fault with the place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungarvan, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at the Thon Hotel Polar in Tromso again this year. When we arrived there was a problem with the Computer and we were given the wrong room. However, Martin at the reception could not have been more apologetic, and arranged to give us the room we requested the next night and for the rest of our stay. We had a great time and even saw the northern lights from our window on the ninth floor. We are also given complimentary cups of hot chocolate personally delivered to our room from Martin. I just want to say a great thank you to all the staff at the Hotel especially Martin.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Pleasantly surprised with this budget hotel,staff are very helpful,polite and friendly.The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable and the buffet breakfast is very good with lots of choice.There is free tea and coffee in the lobby and the Egon Restaurant (where breakfast is served) is warm and welcoming with a good menu.Lunch time pizza buffet menu is very popular.
The hotel is near the Flybuss stop, so easy to get to from the airport and a few minutes walk to museums,tourist info office,shops and the harbour.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted to hear that your stay was a success, and hope to see you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thon Hotel Polar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Polar

Address: Gronnegata 45, Tromso 9008, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
#6 Family Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Polar 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Thon Hotel Polar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Tromsø

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thon Hotel Polar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.