We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to do things your own way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tromso Bed & Books

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tromso Bed & Books to your Saves list
Tromso Bed & Books
Strandveien 45 & 84, Tromso 9007 , Norway   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Tromso B&B and Inns
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice place to do things your own way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were looking for a nice, affordable place in Tromso and Bed&Books did meet up to our expectations. We stayed both in Fisherman's Home (Strandvegen 84) and Writer's home (Strandvegen 45) and these are actually quite different in quality. Fisherman's home has a beautiful view over the fjord but is also a bit run-down. Writer's home at the other hand was nicely decorated and much cleaner. Both places are really thin-walled so if you're a light sleeper (like me), bring earplugs! The best feature for us was the fact that there is a well equipped kitchen so you can do your own cooking and save a lot of money that way. I also loved the big breakfast table at Writer's home and the reading room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    10
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
15
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bailey, Colorado
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was the second hostel we stayed at (our first being Ami Hotel). It was clean and cute and the girl checking us in was very helpful. You're pretty much left alone after that. We stayed in room number 1 which is next to the bathroom (not a good idea as you can hear people coming in and out, and when chasing northern lights, they come in at around 0300) It's about a 10 min walk max to the city center. Value for money, you can't beat it. Breakfast is not included. I would recommend the Ami as they provide breakfast, it's off the main road so no traffic noise, and a closer walk to the city center. If you're looking to save some money while staying in Tromso, both these places are lovely, clean, and a good way to meet other travelers.

Room Tip: Anything but room number 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed in Bed and Books, Writers House in January 2013 for 4 nights. This was a short break for me and my wife. Firstly it's a warm and cosy place. A little difficult to find as it's not signed, you just need to look for the number 45.
We arrived a little earlier than planned but there was a member of staff there to meet us. She promptly showed us around the house and to our room.
The house is just that, a house and so there is no permanent staff there, they come to clean and refresh the rooms and then go again or to meet new arrivals at a pre arranged time.
There are two comfortable lounges, one on the ground floor and one on the first floor. There are two bathrooms, again ground and first floors. The ground floor one has a shower and the first floor one a bath.
Our room was basically furnished but comfortable. The heating was good. The kitchen is well equipped and you have your own designated storage areas in the fridge and in a food cupboard. We took quite a lot of our own food as the Norweigian supermarket prices were about 3 to 4 times what they would be in the UK and we were on a restricted budget. Someone did decide to help themselves to my beer which I had left in the fridge on our designated shelf and at £4 a can that did upset me a bit.
There is also an adjacent dining room which is comfortable and has a lovely view out the front and over the sea and mountains beyond, albeit there is an industrial building in the way :)
There is a heated boot rack inside the front door which is good.
All in all, a great place to stay if you want a bit of freedom to cook yourself, to lounge around a bit inbetween trips out and only a short walk into town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at the Writer's House for two nights (twin room). I really liked the style of the house and we most enjoyed having so much living space to relax in when we needed to recharge our batteries between outings. It's so much nicer than being confined to a small hotel room.

It's only a 15 min walk to the centre of Tromso. If you head in the other direction you can get to the south part of the island in 30-30 minutes for some spectacular scenery and a gorgeous sunrise.

If I visit Tromso again I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we had a great stay there. An extraordinary way to discover Norway on a budget friendly base.
A great way to conect with people from al over the world. The vieuw on the balkon was marvoulus. And Tromso is a verry nice place to stay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Clean & tidy, reasonable price in Norway. Location is quite good, walk to port for 20 mins. Well equipped kitchen.

But I don't like the bathrooms and the toilet. The toilets are way too small, no space for people to turn around. Also the door is broken, cannot lock it properly. And for the showers, some problem with the sprinkler.

And sound-proofing is bad

Also one suggestion to this B&B is that, a clear signal of the hostel name is needed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlend R, Guest Relations Manager at Tromso Bed & Books, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Hello!

Thank you for giving us your review. We are very happy that you were pleased with your stay from an overall perspective.

Based on your review we understand that you have been staying at our Fisherman's home, as the toilets at our Writer's home are quite spacious. We have taken note of your feedback and will do our best to improve our service to the better. Unfortunately it is hard to do anything about the size of the toilets at this point. We have, however noted this as well in case of a future refurbishing. We have gone through the other problems you describe relating to the toilets and bathroom and will improve the issues you refer to as soon as possible. Thank you for letting us know!

We also have plans for producing signs or similar to better signalize that the two houses are Bed & Books property.

Once again, we thank you for giving us your review. We hope to see you as our guest at a later occasion! And if you have any additions to your feedback, please don't hesitate to let us know.

Have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Writers House for a 4 night trip in February. We absolutely loved the accommodation, clean with some fantastic views. It had everything we needed and the owner was very welcoming and helpful. The rooms were fully occupied and we enjoyed chatting about our excursions with fellow guests. There are 2 bathrooms which we found sufficient for the 5 rooms particularly given that people left at different times to do different trips. It is cheap in comparison to the other mainstream hotels yet only a 5-10 minute walk from the busyness of town where there are a wide variety of bars and restaurants.

There are some lovely added touches such as a map where you can pin in your home town, blackboard walls where people had left their favourite sayings/greetings and pictures taken by the owner of the local views which gave it a homely and unique feel.

This would be our absolute number 1 choice when travelling back to Tromso. Thanks very much to the owners for such a great stay.

Stayed February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tromso Bed & Books? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tromso Bed & Books

Address: Strandveien 45 & 84, Tromso 9007 , Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Tromsø Bed & Books you are staying at home, while being away from home. We are NOT a regular hotel, B&B or hostel. We are a Bed and Breakfast WITHOUT the breakfast, we are an ever changing community of tourists, or simply: a house with bedrooms. But more than that, we are a home. Your home - in Tromsø. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tromso Bed & Books reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tromso Bed & Books, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.