We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be more helpful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sjogata 7 | PO Box 928, Tromso 9259, Norway   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Tromso
London, UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Couldn't be more helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Does this hotel have the most helpful staff? Possibly the answer is "Yes".

From front desk to chambermaid and restaurant staff, everyone was truly engaged and eager to assist with making the stay in Tromso memorable. We didn't have to ask for a city map or recommendations. It was simply given in the most friendly and hospitable way.

The hotel can be reached by bus from the airport and if you arrive with a small-ish ship by foot. Town centre is only a few steps.

My recommendation is to try the fish selection for breakfast. It doen't come better or fresher. I think we overindulged on smoked salmon. Very good. Have the standard Radisson breakfast elsewhere, the local selection is far superior.

Room was clean and had a decent view. Only draw back: the rooms could do with updating. Bathroom smelled a bit and décor passed its best.

Apart from the room, there is nothing that could be done better.

Thanks for making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan S, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    251
    118
    21
    12
See reviews for
63
237
44
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The Radisson is right in the centre and quite a number of the Northern Lights tours pick up and drop off from outside the hotel which is REALLY convenient, especially at drop-off.
The rooms themselves were fairly standard Scandi design - rather on the small side, but we didn't pay for any type of upgrade.
We spent a lot of time in the "Top Relax" room that has lovely views across the harbour. It was a great place to laze and recover from late nights chasing the lights.
The breakfast buffet was ok. There was an excellent fruit and cold meat selection. You had to be quick to get the pastries which were amazing.

Room Tip: Top floor at the back of the hotel was a long walk but had a great view over the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan S, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Radisson Blu in Tromso is an excellent choice! My reservation was made by American Express, and all was in order at check in. Presented my Club Carlson Gold Card as requested by the receptionist who upgraded my room to a beautiful Harbour facing suite (Room 1055). Requested a 3pm check out and informed that would be fine. Really spectacular view of the bridge and the Harbour.

Good space for working and good connectivity for wifi. Bed was comfortable and the room had a nice bath tub in which to unwind. The suite came with a very nice private verandah as this was the top floor of the hotel - furnished so you could relax outside and enjoy the view. Sitting room had a nice comfortable sofa and large television. Air conditioning worked well.

Reception staff friendly and helpful and gave good practical advice for things to see and economically get around. Breakfast was standard Scandinavian which I very much enjoyed. Excellent stay!!!

I previously stayed at this hotel some years ago and stayed in the Mack Suit - named after the locally brewery the room was stacked full of artifacts from the brewery and looked more like a museum than a room, I loved it - I asked for it at check in again but unfortunately it was occupied. If your staying a few days n want some nostalgia - that certainly is a great room - as indeed is Mack beer come to that!! Skoll!!

Great hotel, great location and great staff.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan S, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was booked for us by Hurtigrouten and it is very conveniently located adjacent to the embarkation point for the ships. Let us say that the rooms are smaller than a typical college dorm or enlisted barracks on military bases. There is not enough room for our luggage or for anything we unpacked.
This hotel has many harbor side view rooms, even some with balconies, ours had neither view nor balcony. We had a drab view of other rooftops.
There was no help with luggage when arriving so we had to schlep our bags from bus to front desk, then up to our rooms. We asked if we could get help with our luggage when boarding our midnight ferry. The answer was "no".
Beds are European skinny singles, smaller than dorm beds. They are low to the ground and soft as mush. The firm back support we needed was not there and getting out of this was difficult.
Clean bathrooms are OK but again no place to put your stuff.
The positive report is that their complimentary breakfast buffet is excellent and has lots of variety of warm and cold dishes. Excellent selection of traditional Scandinavian Smorgasbord dishes like herring, lox, variety of cheeses and fresh breads. They also offer a chance to carry out a box lunch from the buffet for a minimal service fee. A real good idea for travelers.
It is short walk to shopping street and museums and most restaurants. Also adjacent to bus stop for airport and city buses.

Room Tip: Ask for harbor side view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan S, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Nice hotel close by the city center that you can visit walking. the sightseeing trips are having pick up just from the parking just next to the hotel. top floor has a great view over the city especially during new year.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan S, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I have stayed in two other Tromso hotels since my last visit over two years ago. Save for the unending construction project going on at the nearby hotel, this was a great stay. The hotel is well-maintained, the staff very friendly, and the service excellent. Most of the rooms have great views and the location (one the waterfront and easy walking distance to everything in the downtown core) is perfect. It is expensive, but very nice. The breakfast lay out is large and expansive -- eat hearty! The exercise room is way too small but the location is unbelievable -- with a stunning view of the harbour.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan S, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

this hotel was in a nice location near city center. It had easy access from the airport on the airport hotel bus so you didn't have to take a taxi. The room had view of the harbor. Accommodations were clean and acceptable but nothing fancy

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso

Address: Sjogata 7 | PO Box 928, Tromso 9259, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tromso
#4 Family Hotel in Tromso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Rezidor, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso Hotel
Radisson Tromso
Tromsø Radisson
Radisson Tromsø

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;