We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not luxurious but certainly no complaints.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sjogata 7 | PO Box 928, Tromso 9259, Norway   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in Tromso
Portsmouth
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not luxurious but certainly no complaints.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed here as part of a Northern Lights cruise package and were happy throughout. The rooms are a bit small but it is located right in the heart of Tromso and the staff were, like all Norwegian seem to be, lovely.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    246
    116
    21
    12
See reviews for
63
231
42
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed here for three nights and the experience was ok. The only problem was thateft the room late and we didn't get any housekeeping service the whole stay. But I do recommend the hotel very much as the staff was very friendly and the prices are very good.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We recently spent three nights at the Radisson on a mini break to see the northern lights. Unfortunately it rained the whole time we were there and despite a 2 hour trip out of the city to a drier area we did not see the spectacle of the lights. The hotel is conveniently located. Like most of the hotels in Tromso the architecture is very basic and inside they look as if they were assembled from an IKEA package.

On check-in the desk clerk was exceptionally helpful and knowledgeable. We were upgraded to a business class room but had no view. We rented a car, but the parking underneath the hotel only really holds 4-5 cars and is extremely tight to get in and out of and costs £20 a night.

The buffet breakfast was good though the choice was not up to the standards of many other Radisson Blu hotels.

In the mornings both my husband and I woke up with bloodshot eyes and wondered what sort of detergent the hotel used on their sheets and pillowcases.

Our main complaint was the lobby bar service. This bar is nicely appointed with a view overlooking the street. However the choice of drinks, though expensive as is everything in Tromso, was poor. On one evening the hotel receptionist was working the bar and admitted that she could not make any of the cocktails on the menu. This is not acceptable in a hotel that claims to have 4 stars. We can however recommend the Skibsbroen bar on the 4th floor of the Rica Ishavshotel opposite the Radisson. The cocktails there were excellent and the service superb.

As with some other reviewers we were not happy with the soap dispenser over the bathtub and washbasin. This is not 4 star hotel style of toiletries. An extremely miniscule tablet of soap, 4mm thick was also provided. The maid did not fully replenish either the toiletries or the coffee supplies on any of the days we were there.

To conclude, if you want to visit Tromso this is probably the best hotel, but be prepared for basic service and extremely high prices for food and drink.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I'm going to make comparisons to the Radisson Blu I stayed at in Stavanger just a few days previous to the one in Tromso.
The Tromso guys upgraded us to a superior room, which was smaller than the std room we stayed at at the one in Stavanger. Unlike the Stavanger Radisson, this hotel only had a shower, no bathtub. It also is the only hotel I stayed at in Norway that didn't have heated floors in the bathroom. You'd think they'd have that option, considering how much colder it is up north. This hotel is definitely newer than the Stavanger one, so I'm guessing they cut out on space and heated flooring, which older hotels still considered important. But we had our own Nespresso machine (part of the superior room offereing), which was cool.

The TV channels (Tromso was the only place we actually turned on the TV, so can't really compare with the others) had only ONE English speaking channel. We turned that off and just watched videos on the ipad instead, cos, free wifi, thank goodness!

I guess I wouldn't have been so irked if I wasn't comparing with another hotel of the SAME chain, which offered better services and better rooms, though older.

The hotel in itself is new, clean, and efficient. The airport buses will drop you and pick you up from the front of the hotel, it is conveniently located near a lot of restaurants and pubs, and the stuffed polar bear at the reception reminds you how far north in the world you really are.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The hotel is situated in the center of Tromsø (as several other hotels). The room was small and offered only a very limited view to the beautiful surroundings. The reception, breakfast and aircon was OK. The window could open, but there was noise from outside. The price is Norwegian (very high).

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great location near everything and especially very practical if you are embarking for a cruise.
Look for a room sea view.I found the hotel cozy.The city is a small city do not expect anything glamorous

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg, Norway
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The bathroom was ok, otherwise everything was far from good. The reseption straff gave me a new room after I told I was leaving the " 7 sqm" room they first gave me. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is better to eat outside. The stretchsheet hadn't been washed during the last Year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso

Address: Sjogata 7 | PO Box 928, Tromso 9259, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Tromso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Rezidor, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso Hotel
Radisson Tromso
Tromsø Radisson
Radisson Tromsø

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.