We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot, great view, absolutely does the trick” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel With

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Hotel With to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Hotel With
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sjogata 35-37, Tromso 9291, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great spot, great view, absolutely does the trick”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Fishing / sea theme and decor makes it feel like where you want to be staying in this part of the world. Absolutely 110% get a room with a sea view....priceless. Don't worry re the noise from street as some have complained. Close the window and you'll be fine. Breakfast, aftn snack and dinner all included...I only had the former....it did the trick, but food was average at best. Friendly hotel staff....tourist info office better for tips though. Would def stay again when I come back to tromso in the winter

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hi Magellan12

Thank you for the kind words and your stay with us. We are glad you had a good time (...and was not bothered with the seagulls)

We look forward to welcome you back in the winter. Remember to bring warm clothes. :-)

Have a great summer!

Best regards.
Øyvind Vassbotn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    291
    60
    14
    7
See reviews for
106
489
60
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valdagno, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Good staff, at the reception and in the dining room; beautiful and quiet room; very good breakfast and evening meal; a good place to start visiting the town and Lofoten Islands. A place where to come again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Maria.

Thank you for the kind review and stay with us in the summer.

We hope you had a memorable time in wonderful Tromsø and Lofoten amd wish you a nice time the rest of the summer!

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden, NL
Level Contributor
296 reviews
238 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed here for only one night by the end of May 2014, returning from a trip to the Lofoten Islands. Clarion Collection Hotel With has the look of a historic wooden building, but it is actually only 20 years old. On the harbor side you have wonderful views. So I would recommend to book a superior room at that side. These rooms seem to be a bit bigger than the other rooms. The hotel is centrally located, you can just walk everywhere. The down side is that it is difficult to park your car.

Our room was rather large for Norwegian standards, and had an awesome view over the harbor. Free wifi in the room that worked well.

Breakfast, make-your-own waffles in the afternoon, and a light evening buffet dinner are included in the room rate. It is not top class cuisine, but it is value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Mianel

Thank you for the nice review and spending time with us while being in Tromsø. Hope you enjoyed your trip here and in Lofoten! :)

Wish you a wonderful summer!

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, co
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We spent four nights here in July 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed it. The rooms were very comfortable. The hotel is located on the water front with several restaurants right there. Tromso is not a big place so really you can walk to many things. We found the staff to be helpful. Also -- they provide breakfast, a light dinner and waffles from 3-6. Would highly recommend

Room Tip: We did not have a sea view -- but I think that would have been nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Pamo1.

Thank you for the kind review and your recent stay. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay in Tromsø and wish you a wonderful summer!

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromsø, Norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

A good standard hotel in Tromsø's city center. The view is good, but only if you pay 150 nok extra per night, otherwise you're looking at the backyard. Wifi good, breakfast alright. In the afternoon you get free whaffles, which is great. The staff was helpful, but not very friendly. The rooms are small but normal for Norwegian standards. Overall recommended, just don't expect too much.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hi Thomas.

Thank you for your review of us and you stay.

Wish you and yours a wonderful summer!

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This hotel has a location in Tromsø that is central to walking in the center of town, but as it's on the harbor, the only noise at night is from people outside trying to catch pictures of the Northern Lights. The rooms are okay and comfortable, and I recommend the superior room to give you just a little more space, but also a very pretty view across the water. As far as hotels go, it's not bad. It was very clean and comfortable. Largely average for what we paid / expected.

My biggest critique is the food part of the stay. Not the food, per se, but the experience. Breakfast is included as is afternoon waffles and a light dinner. Firstly, the breakfast area is not really sized well to the capacity of the hotel. Food often ran out and there were lines of people waiting to pick over whatever was left, and this was at 7am. Also, no condiments. They didn't have simple things like salt and pepper or hot sauce visible or available. Please buy some. Hotel staff rarely made an appearance to check on food levels. Breakfast was okay, just that the hotel doesn't seem to plan for the number of people actually staying.

As for waffle time, a traditional Norwegian afternoon treat, the line for the TWO waffle makers was at least 10 deep. They need to either have someone on staff pre-make them for the crowd or get more waffle makers.

These are all relatively minor as the food was okay, and there are many options within walking distance should you want to go out for a meal (although there's not much open for breakfast locally)

Overall, the hotel is pleasant enough, clean and comfortable. I would stay here again, but would just as easily go elsewhere if I could get a better deal.

Room Tip: Go for the superior room if going int he winter. You'll end up with a nice room overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hei Ag97Traveler

Thank you for the extensive review and for your stay with us in February. Hope you had a nice time here and also got to enjoy the lights. You are even able to do it from inside the hotel room! :)

February is very high season with and we have made many valuable experience this year which we will grow on to next year. We are unfortunately not able to expand our hotel, but need to work with the facilities we have. We can be clearer in informing our guests when the restaurant area is less crowded. If everyone dine at the same time, it will naturally create some challenges which we will get out better to our guests.

We will do some adjustments for next year, while continue to provide the wonderful concept for Clarion Collection.

Wish you a lovely summer!

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The location of this hotel is on the water, very close to the center square in Tromso. We very much enjoyed the room, it was clean and comfortable. Having booked a sea view room, we were extremely happy with the view. The staff were helpful, however, if you want information on tours/cruises etc, its best to ask at the tourist information office around the corner. See more about that below. The breakfast was very good, a good selection of types (american, german, fruit etc), and there is gluten free/lactose free options. Afternoon waffles and dinner are included at this hotel, the waffles in the afternoon might be interesting for some, and the evening meal might be convenient after a busy day, but I recommend eating elsewhere. For example, we had a absolutely fantastic meal at the nearby 69 degrees bistro!

Extra info- Book all tours/cruises etc in advance, or you may be disappointed- we discovered Tromso does NOT do last minute tour bookings well... We has a cruise booked, it was cancelled, and the company did not leave a message at the hotel for us, and since we were only there for one weekend, we completely missed out!

Room Tip: Highly recommend the sea view rooms- the view of the harbour and surrounding hills is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Nix_nine.

Thank you for the kind review and for coming up the long way to us from Australia.

We are glad you enjoyed your time with us in Tromsø and wish you a wonderful summer!

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Clarion Hotel The Edge
#4 of 18 in Tromso
4.5 of 5 stars 389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#6 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.2 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel With? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel With

Address: Sjogata 35-37, Tromso 9291, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tromso
#1 Green Hotel in Tromso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
#2 Business Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel With 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel With is perfectly located in the harbor of the city center. Here you are only 50 meters away from the main street of Tromso, close to restaurants and shopping. At all Clarion Collection Hotels the guests have included breakfast, coffee/tea all day, waffles from 15:00(3pm)to 18:00(6pm) and light evening buffet from 18:00(6pm) to 21:00(9pm). The light evening buffet consists of one hot soup, one hot dish and bread. Not a big dinner buffet, but for most of our guests a really satisfying dinner. This makes Clarion Collection Hotel With a really cheap alternative for tourists visiting Tromso. We also offer a relax room with sauna and a steam room at the top of the hotel. Welcome to a warm and friendly hotel where you can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel With reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection With Hotel
Clarion Collection Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Hotel With, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.