We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel With

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Hotel With to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Hotel With
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sjogata 35-37, Tromso 9291, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
“Superb location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Hotel has an excellent location! The view from our room was stunning. Staff very friendly and could not help enough. Not only breakfast and evening meal but also all day coffee facilities made a huge impact on us. As the location is central we found ourselves popping back for a quick cuppa! They want you to feel like home and that's exactly how we felt!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Colin J.

Thank you for the very kind review and for the recent stay here. Really glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us.

We hope to welcome you back "home" to us soon, and wish you a wonderful summer.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    214
    48
    14
    5
See reviews for
76
377
47
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Was here in June for the midnight sun and truly enjoyed my stay in this lovely gem in Tromso. It's right at the harbour and my room had a lovely view of the harbour and the Arctic Cathedral in the background. I had a huge room with a lovely window to watch the boats and cruise ships which dock nearby. We could walk to most places from here. There were coffee making facilities in the room and we use to enjoy our coffee by the window. The wifi was excellent whether in room or the lobby. Enjoyed the breakfast provided every morning but would have been happier if there were more hot dishes. The evening meal was wonderful. Enjoyed the soups the most. The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. The front office staff were ready to answer all our queries. A guy and young lady from the kitchen were also very friendly and efficient with their services in the restaurant. In fact this guy (sorry I didn't get his name) came from table to table in the mornings to serve us coffee. He was really sweet. If I ever come back to Tromso in winter it will surely be the Clarion Collection Hotel With.

Room Tip: Choose a room with harbour view. You will never regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear jasbir61

Thank you so much for your generous review of us and for your stay with us. It is really great to hear that you had a nice time here. We will take your good tip with us as we always try and evolve and get better at what we do. I will also bring your kind words about Anne-Lise and Per-Ivar in the restaurant. I am sure they will be very glad to hear it.

Wish you a lovely summer!

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Lovely hotel - simple, stylish and cannot recommend it highly enough - they have got it just right. The view from my room was magnificent - sadly I was just passing through and therefore only able to stay one night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Susan.

Thank you so much for the stay and you review of us. Maybe on the next occasion you will stay a few days more with us?

Hope you have a wonderful summer and hope to welcome you back to us soon.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

An amazing hotel in the city centre of Tromso, just by the water. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly (I asked several doubts about travelling in winter in Norway, the sent a postcard for me,...). Rooms are big, modern and tastely decorated. WIFI reaches every place on the hotel.
You must notice the big cons of this hotel: sauna and gym on the 6th floor with great views to the bridge, and dinner included. The price for our double room was 1080 NOK (aprox 130€), which is a price lightly over average for Norway. However, keep in mind that dinner is included (you will save the 400-600NOK of a restaurant), so you get a hotel with a great value for money.
If I come back to Tromso in winter, there's no doubt... Clarion Collection Hotel With is my choice!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hi asp1234.

Thank you for the generous review and for the recent stay with us.

We really hope to welcome you back to us in the winter. Tromsø is a great place to view the Aurora in the winter time.

Wish you a great summer!

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Excellent hotel located on Tromso port. Superior rooms are very large, tastefully decorated and have wonderful seaside views. Great value for money thanks to complimentary afternoon waffles and dinner.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Hi edpro.

Thank you for the visit and for reviewing us here. We really appreciate the nice words.

Wish you a lovely summer!

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We have returned to see the City in Midnight sun , having been here 18 months ago for the aurora. We have not been disappointed by the hotel in any way. It is conveniently located to the centre of town, with a good waterside situation. The accommodation is warm and comfortable with excellent food. a buffet breakfast, waffles between 3 and 6, a buffet evening meal. Hot drinks and fruit available all the time. The staff are always helpful and friendly. We have recommended the hotel to several friends and would look to stay in one of the Clarion Collection hotels in other Scandinavian cities.

Room Tip: It is worth paying the extra for a harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hello Chris.

It is so good to hear that you chose to come back to us and recommend our hotels to others. We are proud of our concept and hotels and we are glad you enjoy it.

Hope you enjoyed your time in Tromsø this time also and got to see the midnight sun. Maybe a bit unusal to have daylight 24/7?

W hope to welcome you back to Tromsø soon.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

An excellent hotel in a great location, my room looked out over the harbour and across the water to the Arctic Cathedral.

Only stayed here one night on route to Svalbard, but it was a great place to stop off and adjust the body clock to the 24 hour daylight!

The staff were all very friendly and couldn’t do enough to help.

The unlimited free coffee and the inclusive buffet dinner were both great added extras and the food at both dinner and breakfast was of a very high standard.

The room was very comfortable, if a slightly odd shape (very long and thin), though as I said above the views meant you didn’t really look at the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Hi TravellingTom78

Thank you for your nice review and for your stay with us in May. We really are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and uploading a picture :) It seems it was a grey day in Tromsø when you took it.

Hope you have a lovely summer in London!

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel With? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel With

Address: Sjogata 35-37, Tromso 9291, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tromso
#1 Green Hotel in Tromso
#1 Family Hotel in Tromso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel With 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel With is perfectly located in the harbor of the city center. Here you are only 50 meters away from the main street of Tromso, close to restaurants and shopping. At all Clarion Collection Hotels the guests have included breakfast, coffee/tea all day, waffles from 15:00(3pm)to 18:00(6pm) and light evening buffet from 18:00(6pm) to 21:00(9pm). The light evening buffet consists of one hot soup, one hot dish and bread. Not a big dinner buffet, but for most of our guests a really satisfying dinner. This makes Clarion Collection Hotel With a really cheap alternative for tourists visiting Tromso. We also offer a relax room with sauna and a steam room at the top of the hotel. Welcome to a warm and friendly hotel where you can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel With reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection With Hotel
Clarion Collection Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Hotel With, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.