We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel With

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Hotel With to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Hotel With
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sjogata 35-37, Tromso 9291, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed for four nights and the hotel was very good value. Although we didn't think we would take the free evening buffet meal in fact we did so twice: once on arrival from the airport and another time when we had been out on a day long excursion. The breakfast was OK. The cereal and yogurt option was good. It was great to be able to cook waffles and have coffee/tea during the afternoon, having come back in from a cold day.

Our room faced the harbour and was a good size so I would recommend paying the extra supplement for a superior room, The only drawback was the absence of storage apart from hanging space so we lived out of our suitcases.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Carol G.

Thank you for your nice review and for the stay with us.

Really glad you enjoyed your stay, and your time in Tromsø. We hope you got to see the lights here, and we hope to welcome you back to us soon.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    217
    48
    14
    5
See reviews for
76
381
47
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leon, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is a great place to stay at - we also stayed in the Clarion in Oslo. The price was good value and the evening meal really made a saving on our overall spending - taking into account how expensive Norway is.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Ruth.

Thank you for your review of us and for choosing us.

We are glad you enjoyed your time with us, and that you come back to us soon.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbot¨n
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The stay at Clarion Collection Hotel With was a memorable experience. My wife and I spent four nights there in mid March, to visit this unique town and to see the Northern Lights. The location is along the beautiful harbour, and is central to many transport (local buses would take you to most attractions, and the airport express coach stop is just around the corner), restaurants, local landmarks, and cruise terminal. The room size is reasonable and if available, choose the harbour facing room, which one could appreciate the ever changing scenes of the harbour at different times of the day. This is not the ultra luxury type hotel, however it does give its guests a homey feel of the Northern hospitality and a sense of exploration with the tasteful deco - that is appropriate and it flows with the environment. Staff is helpful, polite, and attentive – they even help us book tickets in Oslo while we were out sightseeing during the day.

In-house dining is great – food is fresh, with a wide range of choices at the buffet breakfast, while the dinner buffet main is changed daily with quality comparable to other restaurants. The pluses are that both meals are already inclusive in the price that set Clarion Collection Hotel With apart from the rest. As other reviewers have commented, there is also waffle making in the late afternoon, for those who are hungry, which is a nice idea.

This is without doubt the first choice hotel to consider when visiting Tromsø.

Room Tip: If available request a harbour facing room. The scenes are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hi tobeslo.

Thank you for such a generous review and thank you for choosing us for your stay in Tromsø. Hope you got to see the lights after your long travel and that you enjoyed us and the town.

Hope you return back to us another time.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

very nice hotel set on the waters edge on a quayside with some other hotels and restaurants. A short walk to the city centre, less than 200metres to the bus station with links to the airport. the staff are very well trained, curtious and polite, the are informative regarding the city. the hotel restaurant throws up various dishes from the world over. the rooms are very clean as is the whole hotel. there is a canope on the quayside which makes sitting down looking over the water with coffee or beer very relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hi CraigsdSmith.

Thank you so much for the review from your stay last summer. We are glad you had a nice time with us and hope you return back.

Wish you a nice summer.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
Gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Stayed there from 27th till 31st March:

Pre-stay review:
email responses were very prompt usually within 24 hours. very efficient front desk at check-in. paid extra NOK150 for harbour (well worth). however, our request to avoid a slanted roof room was overlooked as our room was on the 5th floor (made this request for hubby; worried that the roof cause discomfort due to his height of 1.85m). no serious discomfort was experience though.

Room review: small basic room with all amenities and good view. 2 downsides; 1) despite booking a double room (as it was our honeymoon) the bed was made up of 2 single bed and separate mattresses placed together; this was really uncomfortable as there was a wooden beam in the center of the bed so not much of a honeymoon bed. 2) the window view was great but can only be open up to like around 30deg. Understand this from safety aspect cos the windows were huge and hung low, but it was difficult to take good photos through the small window opening.

Meals review (the ready supply of hot water at the restaurant is greatly appreciated):
breakfast was adequate though it was exactly the same offering every day. By the 3rd day, we started only taking the cereal on the breakfast table (the cereal was totally divine; never tasted such good cereal before... seriously!!!) will be good if the waffle machine is available at breakfast.

Afternoon waffles is especially welcoming if there's a snow storm outside. On our first day, there's barely 5-6 guests queuing for waffles and we had a great time. we could make the waffle, leave it at the machine to cook & have tea while waiting. seems to me the waffles taste better if we can wait an extra minute after the light turn green. 2nd day on, there was always a long queue, and thus no such luxury.

The evening meals were the real bonus!!! The food items changes everyday and we can always find something good. On one occasion, we had hot cream shrimp bisque. Another occasion, we had salmon. Yet another, we had fried rice (rare for European cities).

We also like to compliment the front desk for their help in booking airport buses for us in Oslo. We had trouble as the site was in Norwegian. They also willingly helped us print the tickets (something even the int'l names may not do in European cities).

Overall: best value & good service

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hi aurora0008.

Thank you for the extensive and nice review of us. You are touching onto a few good points which I will take with our staff to provide better service on next time. By upgrading, they changed room category, and then all the previous considerations were most likely overlooked.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and in Tromsø, after such a long trip.

We hope you return back to us one day :)

Have a lovely summer.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
Gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karesuvanto, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Everything was great, for low price breakfast, dinner, waffles and fruits included, i'm totally satisfied :) the staff very nice as well, the location is great. I wish to visit back soon! Really recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Zsuzsanna K

Thank you so much for the kind words.

I hope to welcome you back to us soon!

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We had a superior room overlooking the harbour which was so nice! After a week of terrible weather, we finally had clear sky on our last night and guess what, we saw the aurora right in front of the hotel!

You shouldn’t expect a formal big hotel like those you find in big cities. It’s more like a boutique/ homely hotel. The hotel rooms were designed based on a cabin theme and it’s like you were on an old cruise. If you ever wonder why the hotel is called With which was the question we had when we found this hotel, With was the name of a captain who first opened the Norwegian Fjords for public use or something. It was a great stay, with breakfast and light supper included, and you could make waffles for tea, although I would prefer more varieties for breakfast as light chasers like us usually stayed for at least several nights and it would be nice to have something different every morning. Supper was kind of ready-made and re-heat but as it’s included in the rate, I can live with that. You can always go to the restaurants nearby. The hotel manager actually had some suggestions in the booklet in the room.

I would really like to mention the gentleman serving coffee in the morning. He’s definitely the most proactive staff of the hotel that I’ve met. Whenever he’s there, he’d go round the tables asking whether anyone want any more coffee, with big smile on his face. He really made my days. I would give him a prize if I was the hotel manager!

Room Tip: Book a superior room, you’ll get a bigger room and guaranteed habour view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hi DizzyMoss.

Thank you so much for the nice review of us and your stay.

I am really glad you got to experience the northern light in your stay with us. Weather have been very unstable lately, so good that it opened up and you got to enjoy the lights :)

I will pass on the very kind words to our kitchen manager Per Ivar which you are referring to. I am sure he will appreciate it, I do very much at least.

best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel With? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel With

Address: Sjogata 35-37, Tromso 9291, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
#1 Green Hotel in Tromso
#1 Business Hotel in Tromso
#1 Family Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel With 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel With is perfectly located in the harbor of the city center. Here you are only 50 meters away from the main street of Tromso, close to restaurants and shopping. At all Clarion Collection Hotels the guests have included breakfast, coffee/tea all day, waffles from 15:00(3pm)to 18:00(6pm) and light evening buffet from 18:00(6pm) to 21:00(9pm). The light evening buffet consists of one hot soup, one hot dish and bread. Not a big dinner buffet, but for most of our guests a really satisfying dinner. This makes Clarion Collection Hotel With a really cheap alternative for tourists visiting Tromso. We also offer a relax room with sauna and a steam room at the top of the hotel. Welcome to a warm and friendly hotel where you can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel With reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection With Hotel
Clarion Collection Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Hotel With, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.