We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Comfy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel With

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Hotel With to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Hotel With
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sjogata 35-37, Tromso 9291, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“So Comfy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The views across the bay to the Arctic Cathedral are fabulous, and the rooms very comfortable indeed. There are free waffles in the afternoon, and frankly you don't really need lunch as well. Dinner is good if rather standard but it's central and worth staying at least a couple of days to take in the attractions of the town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas E, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear traveler,

Thank you for Your feedback! It is much appreciated!

Welcome back!

Best regards from the staff of Clarion Collection Hotel With.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    214
    48
    14
    5
See reviews for
76
377
47
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Old worn and dark rooms with a nice fjord view. Need major refurb.
Allmost no overhead lamps in room
No power sockets for PC at working desk, no power sockets for mobile charger close to bed.
Restaurant closed for refurb, so maybe also rest of the hotel also will be better next time .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas E, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback!

We are renovating as we speak, and the first floor will be done in about a week. We will also update our rooms.

Hope to see you again.

Best regards from clarion collection hotel with!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed one night in this hotel. The room we stayed in was tiny, but expensive. Unfortunately, the hotel does not have its own parking so we had to park our vehicle in a public parking stop. It cost 80 NOK for 12hours. Food was ok.
There has no wardrobe. The bathroom was clean but when showering, the water ran out of the shower area. This should be renovated. There was no door lock in the bathroom. The bed was quite comfortable, street noise didn't bother us. The rooms were clean. Considering it is rated so highly on Tripadvisor and other booking sites I was expecting so much more, truly disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas E, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear guest,

We are sorry that you where not satisfied with your stay!

We are in the middle on renovating and hope to see you again to see the changes.

Best regards from the staff of clarion collection hotel with!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have to be honest and straight. This hotel is nice and I saw very good reviews about it but my experience has been not so positive and I had to change hotel to go to the other Clarion in front of this. I think that we hit a combination of unlucky events but also we faced a cold welcoming at arrival. We have tried and appreciated other Clarion formula, with light dinner included, but here the quality and the level of dinner has been disappointing. Also because there are no lights on the buffet for an electrical inconvenience and the food was only vegetarian and so "poor".
Secondly the only lift was out of order. The standard room was also small and not so nice, considering the high price and the service too appeared us not in the normal standard of quality we found everywhere in Norway.
At the end the management was very kind and understood our impressions, giving us the option to change hotel. The point is that the hotel is a bit old and need to be reviewed in order to maintain the standard and the value it claims, considering also the external appearance and the very nice location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas E, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear traveler,

Thank you for your feedback!
We are sorry to hear that you are not quite satisfied with our hotel.

We are working on changing the issues, as we have ordered new lights(broke down 2 days ago) , renovation of reception and dining hall, elevator and upgrade of rooms .

Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our room was a family room and we stayed there for one night. Room was very big and there was nice 46 inch television also with viasat channels. Overall the hotel is very basic but I chose this hotel because of the free food. In the afternoon you can make your own woffels and in the evening there is a buffet.
Customer service could have been more welcoming and the elevator does not work properly and they did nothing about it when I mentioned.

Room Tip: Family room is a best choise even for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas E, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear traveler,

Thank you for your feedback!

Hope to see you again,

Best regards from the staff of Clarion Collection Hotel With!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Church Stretton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our 4th floor room -We specifically requested a room at the front- and 411 proved to be perfect, while this hotel does not have the kudos of some more heavily branded chains, it was less expensive and much better value with undoubtedly the finest views.
The realistic hotel price includes a fairly modest evening buffet (we were re-aquainted with blancmange), so for any couple not seeking to discharge 100+ pounds per night for dinner into Tromso/Norway's rampantly expensive economy the hotel's offering is extremely realistic.

The lift proved temperamental but reception's careful attention kept any resulting disenchantment at bay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas E, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear traveler,

Thank you for your feedback!

Elevator is soon to be upgraded with a better mood!

We hope to see you With us again, perhaps in the Northern light season?

Best regards from the staff of Clarion Collection Hotel With!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed here in mid July, and were delighted by the location and the great value for money that this hotel and the included meals represents. Norway is an expensive country to travel in, so a hotel which offers breakfast, free waffles in the afternoon, fresh fruit, coffee and tea at all times and a more than adequate evening meal as part of the cost of the room is really a good deal. The simple buffet evening meal consisted of the options of soup, a hot dish, salad, cold meat, cheese and plenty of bread or crisp bread. The hotel is well located, with most of the things you are likely to visit in Tromso being within walking distance or reached by bus stops which were very close to the hotel. The rooms were clean, well appointed and had a small fridge, and very good bathrooms and showers. Windows which opened were also a bonus. In addition, one of our party became unwell while we were staying and we greatly appreciated the prompt services of housekeeping when we needed them, along with management's advice and help. The hotel was quiet and although we also needed to walk the stairs, the lift was still working for luggage. As a family of four, we had two rooms next to each other which worked very well. All in all, this hotel is great value for money for the independent traveller.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas E, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear traveler,

Thank you for your feedback! It's greatly appreciated!

Welcome back.

Best regards from the staff of Clarion Collection Hotel With.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel With? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel With

Address: Sjogata 35-37, Tromso 9291, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tromso
#1 Family Hotel in Tromso
#1 Green Hotel in Tromso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel With 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel With is perfectly located in the harbor of the city center. Here you are only 50 meters away from the main street of Tromso, close to restaurants and shopping. At all Clarion Collection Hotels the guests have included breakfast, coffee/tea all day, waffles from 15:00(3pm)to 18:00(6pm) and light evening buffet from 18:00(6pm) to 21:00(9pm). The light evening buffet consists of one hot soup, one hot dish and bread. Not a big dinner buffet, but for most of our guests a really satisfying dinner. This makes Clarion Collection Hotel With a really cheap alternative for tourists visiting Tromso. We also offer a relax room with sauna and a steam room at the top of the hotel. Welcome to a warm and friendly hotel where you can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel With reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection With Hotel
Clarion Collection Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Hotel With, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.