We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for early morning buses” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Saga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Hotel Saga to your Saves list
Quality Hotel Saga
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rich Withs Pl. 2, Tromso 9008, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
1,521 reviews 1,521 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 241 cities Reviews in 241 cities
749 helpful votes 749 helpful votes
“Ideal for early morning buses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This hotel is very central - overlooking Roald Amundsens Plass, with his statue in the middle. Behind this is where long distance buses leave. For this reason alone I stayed here because there is a bus to Narvik at around 6.15am. If you have a room at the back you can see the buses being loaded up. I overslept and managed to wake up & be at the bus within 10 minutes. Hotel staff will pack you a breakfast if you have an early start.
The rooms in the Hotel Saga are a decent size and modern. From the rear of the property you can also see across the water to the Arctic cathedral. Staff are friendly and didn't hesitate to change my room when I found my mini bar was leaking and soaking the floor. Overall a good choice for a short stay in Tromsø.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear have a great view across to the Arctic Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    55
    24
    5
    4
See reviews for
16
35
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlevåg, Finnmark, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Good service; Good location, but that's about it. The outside does look modern and new, don't be fooled.
The exterior, the dining area and a few floors were refurbished. The rest remains a bit out dated, but it's no problem staying here.
In my room I got cold water in the shower, and it took about 5 minuted for it just to get luke warm--talk about saving the enviroment by saving water, am I right?!

Over all it's good enough if you want to spend your money on food, shopping & attractions, instead of a great, modern hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadso, Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed one night at Saga. We had to change room because of allergy. That was no problem and we got another room, whitch was upograded free og charge. Last time we stayed on the hotel water was cold and breakfast poor. Both was now much better and we had a nice stay. The hotel has perfect location if you want to stay in centre of the town.

Room Tip: Rooms in refurnished part of hotel best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tore P, Daglig leder at Quality Hotel Saga, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Google Translation
Hei og takk for hyggelig tilbakemelding på ditt opphold på Quality Hotel Saga. Vi er glad for å høre at dere var fornøyde og at dere opplevde oss bedre enn siste gang dere var her. Vi arbeider hver dag med å forbedre oss og er derfor svært glad for å få tilbakemeldinger fra våre gjester. Velkommen tilbake en anne gang. Fortsatt god sommer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

The room is quite big; the TV still old fashioned. Very clean.
The location is perfect, pretty much in the very central area of the Town. We stayed for the marathon; it was literally one block from the starting line.
The hotel offers afternoon waffles, which is quite a treat, considering the food prices in Norway.
The staff is friendly and the cleaning is available for a long period during the day.
Breakfast is good. Definetely would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Very nice hotel ideally located in the city centre. We had an amazing view of snow mountains and sea. The airport shuttle drops you right in front of hotel, walkable to ferry, tourist information centre and almost all attractions in Tromsø. Very friendly staff. We stayed there 3 nights and each of them we came back no earlier then 2 AM. The staff was very friendly and welcoming at even at that time and even offered fresh coffee. The waffle making is a quick short fun. Nice long breakfast available until late. Good hotel, recommended !! Happy to return..!

Room Tip: Just ask what you need as preference, they front desk guys will offer if its available.. !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

My partner and I stayed at this hotel at the end of March 2014 for four nights after long consideration over the few popular hotels in the area. I am really glad that we did as it was a comfortable and pleasant stay for a reasonable price (for Norway).
It is important to point out that as far as I can see Luxury and opulence are not readily available in Tromso so if you are looking for high end facilities and opulent rooms and services you may well be disappointed. I would like to say that this hotel in my opinion does exactly what it needs to do in order to provide a good experience.
On arrival at the hotel we were quickly checked in (hour early) by smiling staff who spoke excellent English in an inviting, warm reception area. It was a nice place to step into from the very cold/ snowy exterior.
The hotel is made up two halves with a new modern side which houses the reception and eating area and some of the rooms and an older 60's style half which has the lounge and the most rooms. This half was the original hotel and in some areas still is reminiscent of that time period, I quite liked the transition of the new and old and due to the layout conveniently has two lifts to get up and down. I cannot complain about how we were treated, helped and looked after.
Another useful area is a tour booking booth in reception which is quick and useful, the taxi request was also very very prompt.
As far as Norway goes I found this hotel to be good value, the breakfast was plentiful with good choice and nice seating area. Tea, coffee and juices are available all day and waffles can be made in the afternoon for free which is a lovely touch and comes in handy when things can be so pricey.
We were on the 5th floor in the old building which faced out towards the water and mountains, we had really good sleep and the room was fairly quiet with little outside noise intrusion. There was no corridor noise but on occasion people in other rooms could be heard but never enough to disturb us. The curtains do a good job of blocking any unnecessary light and the bedding/bed was comfortable. If I had an area of complaint it would be the flimsy pillow but again it never effected my sleep.
The room was cleaned every day without issue.
One of the best points of this hotel is its location which is near the water and shopping high street, anything you need is in easy walking distance and there was useful nearby parking. The taxis had no issues with finding it.
Our room was modern in design and provided enough space for two of us, the heater was enough to keep the room warm and the tv provided good films and programmes to watch. The bathroom had a heated floor which was a welcome bonus and there is some hanging space with iron/board.
The hotel has no fitness facilities/pool but we never really missed this as there is so much to do outside and on the doorstep.
I really recommend this hotel and will stay here again if we are ever lucky enough to visit Tromso again.

Room Tip: The east facing room we had was quiet and had lovely views of the water and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Had a very enjoyable stay in this conveniently located hotel.
In the main,every thing to a high standard,let down by one or two faults like a broken telephone in one room and a cracked wash basin in the other.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel Saga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Saga

Address: Rich Withs Pl. 2, Tromso 9008, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Saga 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Hotel Saga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Tromsø

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Saga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.