We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Saga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Hotel Saga to your Saves list
Quality Hotel Saga
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rich Withs Pl. 2, Tromso 9008, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Norfolk, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Informal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed here during my trip to try and see northern lights-1st-4th March ( can now say I've seen them). The hotel had mixed reviews on trip advisor so I was a little wary. But travel agent requested a room in the renovated part which was honoured and I was very pleased. It was small but everything I needed and layout meant I did not feel cramped. As I usually find in Scandinavian countries beds excellent and I love the pillows-so soft! Very grateful for underfloor heating in the bathroom! Clean lines, good decor and lovely view overlooking Tromso cathedral. Pleasant public areas and good breakfast.
It has a rather understated feel and I enjoyed its informality.
Staff helpful when I had a question or two.
My only annoyance is with having too spend so much money on a single room supplement as I was in a single room with a single bed. I was not taking up a double room so this always feels like a rip off.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    55
    24
    5
    4
See reviews for
16
35
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Tahoe
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here for one night when other hotels were sold out and my ship returned to harbor early. So as the last room in tromso, I was given a delux room for 1695 nok for the night. Room was large with a dining table for six and a nice view of the old church across the street. Room/bed was worn and the tele was an old. But considering the lack of a shower for a week I was stoked to be there. Breakfast was crowded and not as nice as the clarion offerings. This is a great location if you book early and want to save some nok from the others nearby hotels with better water views.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights in March 2013, in a twin room. The location is superb in the centre of town, and it's so easy to get around from here. The room wasn't overly huge but there was enough room for the two of us and all our winter luggage. Had a room overlooking the Domkirke, which was quite nice. I initially hoped for a view out the other side, but it's a 2 minute walk around the corner to the waterfront, so it didn't really matter. Room had a mini fridge which was handy for keeping milk. The coffee supplies were not topped up after they ran out (ie one night!) but with free coffee available all day in the lobby area, we quickly learned to grab one on the way into our rooms. Would have been nice for the coffee to be replenished but it didn't worry us enough to complain. Room had plenty of power sockets, which is important when you have cameras, phones and laptops to keep fully charged. Heated bathroom floor was lovely and the shower was quite strong. Bathroom is small, but functional.

Spending our nights out chasing lights meant we did not return to the hotel until 4-5am, and sleeping late. They respected the Do Not Disturb signs and we never heard any noise from cleaners in the hallway - it was very quiet. Really appreciated this.

Breakfast was good enough, and well stocked whenever we ate. Sundays are great with breakfast lasting until 1300. We took advantage of the make your own waffles in the afternoon - a nice treat after coming in from the cold.

WIFI is free - grab the code at reception. The code lasts for 24 hours and seemed to expire before 7am every day. This meant yesterdays code had expired when you woke up each day and you needed to go to reception to get the new code before using the WIFI.

We generally kept to ourselves, but the times we did speak to reception they were friendly and helpful. I absolutely loved Tromso and would have no hesitation staying at Quality Saga again. Great location and a good value hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Four of us stayed 5 nights - our rooms were on the small side, with very comfortable beds and they were warm. The rooms well equipped with a kettle, tea/coffee.

The public areas are very pleasant. The buffet breakfast was very extensive. From this area tea and coffee (free) are available all the time and you can make your own waffles (free) every afternoon.

Excellent location in the centre of town - buses (airport transfers, tour trips, local buses) are nearby. Bus company office next door - the 'RundTur' is a great 8 hour trip by local bus, ferries and then a Hurtigruten ship back to Tromso.

There is free high speed WiFi throughout the hotel, as well as a computer for guest use near reception - ideal for flight check in - you can print boarding cards without charge.

All the staff were very friendly, helpful and made us feel very welcome.

We'd definitely come again and highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbour and Arctic Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in March 2013 in a nice twin-bedded room. Rooms are small and so are the bathrooms but there's a desk with power supply for your laptop and it's quite adequate as a tourist hotel. Clean, modern, warm, lots of hot water, comfortable beds. Plenty of seating in the public areas (with power supply). And you're in the town centre so the tour operators collect you from the hotel or maybe a block away. The Airport bus stops 50 metres from the hotel entrance!
Free broadband wifi throughout the hotel, although the access code changes around 7-8am each morning.
Buffet breakfast very good. Tea and coffee available free of charge throughout the day. Free waffles/pancakes at tea time.
I'd definitely come again, and would recommend it to all my friends. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Årjäng, Sweden
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The location is very good in the center of Tromsø.

Thanks to silver status in their bonus-program, I got upgraded to a superior room, quite spacious with comfortable bed, a couple of chairs, a table, a workdesk and even a rocking-chair.

The room was nice, but they must not wait much longer before they renovate, as it showed clear signs of wear and tear. The room was on the top floor with nice views of Tromsø and the fjord southwards.

A small hall with closet and iron-/board and an adequate bathrooom.

Breakfast was "norwegian standard", meaning a well-stocked buffet. However the trays with food remained empty for too long before someone came to refill them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadso, Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed 2 nights. The room was nice and staff is nice. Nice beds. The hotel also has godd location in the middle of town.The biggest problem was cold water in shower most of the day. Also quite poor breakfast, with poor selection of food. We looked forward to try the smoked halibut at breakfast, but this dried out in the corners and had been out on the table too long or several times.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel Saga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Saga

Address: Rich Withs Pl. 2, Tromso 9008, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Saga 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Hotel Saga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Tromsø

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Saga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.