We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdoor hot tub on roof is special” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sjogata 19 - 21, Tromso 9291, Norway (Formerly Clarion Hotel Bryggen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Outdoor hot tub on roof is special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Tromso visitors seem to keep strange hours so the more or less running buffet was a bonus as was the free tea and coffee at any time.
Very central and on the quay so convenient all round,
Our room not special but we weren't there much.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    126
    42
    24
    10
See reviews for
30
156
22
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Genoa, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Three meals included (wonderful breakfast, waffles from 3 pm to 6 pm and evening meal from 6 pm to 9 pm and coffee available 24h a day), warm room, great bathroom, nice bed, perfect position, spa on the roof from where you have a great view of the city

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Cozy, well run hotel with great focus on customer care. Roof top jacuzzi as well as complimentary breakfast and supper. Professional staff; with special thanks to Jøran for providing us with both a hassle free environment to conduct our meetings as well as excellent rooms for relaxing.
Will recommend and visit again.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRW
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Aurora during the polar night very much. The location is great, the staff very helpful. The rooms are relatively spacious. The breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner included is a pleasant bonus.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here from the 26th til 29th desember and we had a great time. We came straight from the airport at lunch time and we were very lucky to get our rooms before check in time. The hot tub and sauna on the 5th floor were great, specially after a cold walk. The food was great at all times. But the best of all was the staff working there. When ever we needed something, they made sure we got it! Will definitely come back for another visit!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear NellyStoynova

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are thrilled each time we manage to give our guests a stay to remember :-)

We do look forward to welcome you back.

Best regards Inger-Helen / General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is in a great location on waterfront and only a few minutes walk to all tours starting points. Free breakfast, waffles and dinner is well worth it, we didnt need to buy any additional food. Clean and comfortable. Staff go out fo their way to assist you with any queries. Jacuzzi on roof is lovely although very busy, sauna is a welcome addition also and is relatively large. Would definitely stay here again - while it is slightly more expensive than some other hotels, the free food makes up for it.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear liz537

Thank you so much for your fantastic review.

We are thrilled everytime we give our guests a stay to remember :-)

We do look forward to welcome you back sometime.

Best regards Inger-Helen / General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This need to bee more clean is not clean and bathroom dirty window is terible you need to see the sea true popo. The food cud bee bether quality on. The good thing is sentral in down town and at the sea, thats nice.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear 853larsd,

I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied during your stay. When it comes to cleaning the windows I regret that one of our employees has given an unsatisfactory reply. It is absolutely right that we twice a year do seasonal wash of all windows, but additionally they are cleaned when needed. The challenge is that this must be done by hired labor who are eligible to use lift and safety equipment, this is the reason it is not possible to guarantee clean windows every day, this is a challenge with our suites where there are many large window surfaces. Since the hotel is by the sea seagulls and their droppings can be a problem that we do our utmost to minimize. I must yet again say I appology that this reduced the quality of your stay.

Best regards Inger-Helen / General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora

Address: Sjogata 19 - 21, Tromso 9291, Norway (Formerly Clarion Hotel Bryggen)
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tromso
#2 Business Hotel in Tromso
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern design on the pier! Feel the snow in your hair while resting in our outdoor jacuzzi under the Northern lights or during the summer while sun is shining all day and all night. Our excellent staff will be more than happy to serve you at all times whether it is regarding adventure bookings, restaurant recommendations or other enquiries you might have. We offer coffee/tea and a selection of fruits all day, homemade pasteries or wafles in the afternoon and an evening buffet with salads, soup, hot dish and dessert - all of this FREE OF CHARGE!Fantastic sea view from the diningroom, the outdoor jacuzzi and some of our superior rooms. All common areas were renovated in 2012 an all rooms got new floors, new easy chairs and new fabrics. All bathrooms have heated floors. The hotel is very close to all main attractions in Tromso and only a short walk from the Hurtigruten pier, the airport bus and all other buses that will take you around where ever you would like to go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.